We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop in for Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Green-bank Farm

Green-bank Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Greenbank
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
168 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Stop in for Lunch”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We followed the recommendation of Tripadvisor reviewers and stopped at Green Bank Farm for lunch upon arriving on Whidbey Island. We were not disappointed in the sandwiches and berry pie we ordered. The food was reasonably priced and delicious. We also purchased cheese and crackers from the cheese factory located on the farm for a quick lunch the next day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    26
    11
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
164 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A mixed review you should read”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you are going here to go through the art shops and walk around the farm then I would review this very highly. However once a month they serve dinner and based on our group's experience, it would be judged very low. So let's start with the farm. There is a nice trail that winds around the farm and is comfortably walkable. Dogs are welcomed and plastic bags are provided. The artist shops are filled with interesting and local pieces that include photography, paintings, sculptures, and things. There is also an interesting gift shop that hosts many unusual items. All that is to the good.
The "Once-a-month" dinner is a set menu with minor choices. Considering that it is done so infrequently and considering that it is on a farm, we were expecting something remarkable. It was not. The soup was okay, the main course entree went mostly uneaten by our group while the grilled vegetables and butter noodles were okay but unmemorable. Even the one dessert which we ordered (not included with the dinners) was just okay. For all of this okay food and some inedible food, the price was considerable.
So visit the farm and the shops but if your trip coincides with the once-a-month meal, skip it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

At least 3 art galleries, a cute little bakery café, a wine tasting place and lovely gardens!
Met a lovely man at one of the galleries who weaves tapestries and was very nice to chat with. He was so willing to tell you about what he does (he was weaving in the gallery) and obviously has a passion for what he does. He spins the wool for his tapestries and then weaves them into wall hangings or purses - beautiful!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Accountess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Stop”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stopped by on a Monday, on our way down Whidbey Island - it's family friendly, but not exactly anything for kids to do that I saw, although there was space for them to run around and burn off some energy. Maybe because it was a Monday we didn't run across any of the guides I read about in other reviews, so I really didn't get a sense of what the farm is all about except for the shops, galleries and cafe. Wish we had been hungry because the cafe looked really cute and is obviously popular. The lady in the tasting room was friendly and knowledgeable so we enjoyed a few samples (no charge like in other reviews) and took home a few bottles of wine. Somewhere I'd go back with girlfriends.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VivaLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not happy with the wine room”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife and I are wine enthusiasts, not experts, we just enjoy the grape, mostly reds as well as some whites, sparklings, and rose. We passed this attraction on the way down island, and turn around to go back because of the wine room and tasting. Walked in, eager to speak to the host about local wine and try a few tastes and most likely purchase. Most of the time when we stop, we usually buy six or more bottles of wine. Hey we like our wine!

The gent behind the bar was quick to offer us a taste, and promptly put up two glasses. I looked at what they had to offer, we made our choices and let him know what we decided to taste. They charge for a tasting ($1), which does not bother or offend me, that can be pretty standard at some of the roadside places. Usually they will not charge if you purchase a couple of bottles, so fair is fair. The pour was about an oz. which is fair for a tasting.

However, even when i tried to engage the host into describing the wine, or talking about the vineyard, there was no chance he was going to go out of his way to talk. He either did not know the product, or was a snob.......i was disappointed in his manner to say the least. He was more eager to collect his buck for the wine rather than try a sell a bottle or two for the vineyard. The weather was warm, so i can understand them keeping the bottle of red, slightly chilled, but this was down right cold....not the way i would choose to taste red wine.

I will say that the other shops at this attraction were nice and the people were friendly..........the wine guy.....NOT!......ruined my experience at this wine shop......but not to worry, lots of great wine bars down the road!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bcdurangoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green-bank Farm also viewed

Langley, Whidbey Island
Langley, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Green-bank Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing