We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very nice....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Coulee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Coulee Center Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grand Coulee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

From the outside, this old style "motor court" appears well-maintained--good paint job, including a mural on one wall, plus a well-manicured green lawn. On the INSIDE, it's not only well-maintained, it's very recently updated. We had a small pet-friendly room with a single queen-sized bed. The small size of the room certainly didn't matter to us, as we were only there for one night. But everything else about it was first-rate. New carpet, new windows, new drapes AND blinds, new paint, slate floor in the bathroom and kitchenette. The TV has not (yet?) been updated to flat-screen, but offered lots of cable channels. And the triple-sheeted bed was just right. The only interruption of our sleep was the thunderstorm at midnight!

In the very efficient little kitchenette there were not just the usual fridge and microwave, but a small 4-burner stove with oven. Supplies seemed very complete, though we didn't use them at all. I can easily picture preparing a meal there, and eating outside at one of the many tables on the lawn, when the weather is appropriate. Eating inside, though, would be a challenge--only one chair at the desk, and really no room for any more.

The bathroom was larger than normal with nice new fixtures. My only suggestion would be to replace the vanity with a larger one, or to install a shelf of some kind. There was minimal space for toiletries.

Entry to the room was via 3 rather steep steps, but we were told about these when we made the reservation, and they gave us no trouble. Parking was tight, but no problem.

Continental breakfast was exactly that. No waffles or eggs, but plenty of pastry choices, coffee, and tea. (Surprisingly, though, no juice...)

I made the reservation by phone, and Charlene could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Check-in was also a pleasure. Our rate, with AAA/AARP discount was very reasonable, and we also appreciated the realistic pet fee of only $10.00. We very much enjoyed our stay here and were happy to support a non-chain establishment where the owners and management clearly take pride in their product.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathybaty, Owner at Grand Coulee Center Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your response. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Customers like you and our employees help make this a better place to stay and allows us to do continual updates. I will check on the shelf situation. I purchased stainless steel shelves for all the bathrooms and was unaware that all did not get installed. What room were you in? I am guessing #32 because of the stairs and the kitchen. We will take care of that. Also, we should always have apple juice, orange juice, milk, yogurt and cream cheese in the small black fridge in the breakfast area. I will check with the staff. We will soon have flat screen TVs in all the rooms. Please bring this response with you next time for a discount.
Sincerely,
Kathy Baty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 89 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have stayed here numerous times! We love it!! It is a little bit dated but who cares, it adds to the charm!! When we come we are coming over to spend time on the various lakes, not our room. I love allll of the little details they provide, from the strap around the toilet lid after they clean it daily, to the bbq's they have available to cook with. We have stayed in a few of the different rooms, from the kitchenettes to the standard room, all of them were wonderful! We appreciate the reserved parking when we bring our boat, and it even includes an outlet to plug it in! The staff is always cheerful and friendly. The breakfast is minimal but more than sufficient! I love the Kurieg! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Boyzmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathybaty, Owner at Grand Coulee Center Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your response. We welcome comments so that we can make this a better place to stay. It is customers like you and our employees that allow us to keep updating. Soon, we will have all flat screen TVs. We are very glad that you like the Keurig. We get lots of comments on that update. We are glad the breakfast worked out for you. We are the only one in the area that has breakfast and we are limited to our items by the Health Dept. We would have to put in a commercial setup in the kitchen. We do not have room. We took out the living quarters to do the setup we have now. Please bring this response with you on your next stay for a discount.
Sincerely,
Kathy Baty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My friend and I decided to drive east over Labor Day weekend; I'd never seen the Grand Coulee Dam, and she hadn't visited in about 30 years. I chose this motel because they offered a handicap-accessible room, which included breakfast for a very good price. Not only were we able to park right in front of the door, they actually had a traffic cone blocking a parking spot for me, with my name on a card. That was very considerate and very much appreciated. The room was immaculately clean, with two televisions, more than adequate air conditioning, a refrigerator with small freezer compartment (fully working), microwave oven, small table with chairs, and very comfortable beds. The bathroom was clean with plenty of towels. There are gas grills outside so that guests can cook their own dinner if they choose, which we did. There are also outdoor tables and chairs for guests to enjoy the sun and each other's company. The free continental breakfast gives you several choices, including freshly made hard-boiled eggs. There are motels closer to the dam, but this one is closer to the grocery store, and only a few minutes drive to the dam. We did the visitors center, the dam tour, and the laser light show in the evening. We also went to Spring Canyon in the Lake Roosevelt National Recreation Area. Great trip!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathybaty, Owner at Grand Coulee Center Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your response on Trip Advisor. I am glad the breakfast worked out for you. We are the only one in the area that has it. We are at our limit on breakfast hot items because of commercial requirements in the kitchen by the Health Dept. These comments help us to make it a better place to stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Because of customers like you and our employees we are able to be updating all the time. Soon all rooms will have flat screen TVs. Bring a copy of this response and you will receive a discount on your next stay.
Sincerely,
Kathy Baty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My Wife and I just spent 4 nights and it was perfect for us. Minutes to out Boat moorage at Coulee Playland, very clean, pet friendly, great kitchen with full size refrigerator, stove etc, comfortable bed, continental breakfast. We will be back. Close to some decent restaurants too. Don't miss Flo's for breakfast right next door. Oh, and a very friendly staff...... See you next year !!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank irietlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathybaty, Owner at Grand Coulee Center Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and your response! All of our staff do a great job and I am glad you mentioned that. They will be pleased. We look forward to your stay next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

After a long drive, we were expecting a room were we could relax. No such luck. Our room was up three steep steps from the sidewalk and VERY small, with barely room to pass each other around the bed - a queen that kept rolling us together in the rather-saggy middle. Three vehicles were parked directly outside our window, with a clear view into the room. No privacy curtain. After dark, we opened the window for air, but bright streetlights shone in our eyes, so we closed the window and turned on the tiny AC mounted high on the wall next to the bed. The AC's fan was broken and rattled loudly, so we turned it off,gave up, and roasted through the rest of the night. Warnings were posted about extra charges for lost keys, pilfered linens, etc. - not very hospitable. We wouldn't stay here again if they paid us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NUmpquaDoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathybaty, Owner at Grand Coulee Center Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for your response! I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay. I am not sure what room you stayed in because you did not mention that. We don't have any rooms that have 3 stairs where cars park and can see into the rooms. We have blackout curtains, blinds and curtains in every room. We did check all the a/c's of the rooms that have stairs (3) and could not find anything wrong. We don't have warnings posted about lost keys or pilfering in our rooms. We did check all the beds in the 3 rooms we thought it might be and found one that was questionable. It was 2 years old and we exchanged it out. That room is rented a lot. Please wherever you stay always report any problems and give the facility the chance to fix it for you to make your stay more comfortable. If they don't know they can't fix it. Thank you, Kathy Baty, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We usually stay at another economy motel for hunting/fishing trips and were glad we did some research into rates as this was a very pleasant surprise. We booked a room with two double beds & a small kitchen as to keep the costs down cooking in the room. This is a single story, park infront of your room motel without stairs.

Kitchen - It was equipped with a small stove/oven, mid size refridgerator/freezer, microwave oven, sink, pots/pans, cutlery, silverware, dishes, cups, drink glasses and we wanted for nothing. No dishwasher but they provide plenty of towels, soap, paper towels, etc.

Sleeping area - small, updated, full size dresser, full size small walk in closet with hanging bars, suitcase holders, another mid size dresser, iron, ironing board, hangers, TV, DVD Player, cable & TV shows, individual lights over each bed, AC for hot summer months, electric wall heater thermostat controled, operable blinds & window shades, nice decorative faux plants, paintings, wainscoating & above average interior yet small. Firmer newer mattresses and clean sheets, pillows, etc..

Continental breakfast ok at best & included dry breakfast cereals, packaged small pastries, hard boiled eggs, fruit, bagels, cream cheese, jellies, toast, coffee, OJ, milk & hot chocolate packages. No hot meals, meats, eggs, etc.

Staff was outstanding, housecleaning great, bathroom & room clean, sheets & towels sanitary, no bad/old odors and walking distance to many restaraunts, bars & grocery store within 3 blocks.

No pool or spa.

Park infront of your unit and we will stay here again. Great price, location and service so long as you realize this is a dated, older, remodled motel and not The Ritz.

Room Tip: There are rooms with kitchenettes, full kitchens, dual Queens, dual Doubles, etc.. singles and just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBlueMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathybaty, Owner at Grand Coulee Center Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your response. We do take pride in our motel and appreciate when people are happy with their stay. These 2 motels were built in 1935, so the structure is old. Part of it was closed down. We cleaned up and re did the outside, but put most of our efforts went into the comfort of the inside. Breakfast is not done in this area and we decided to do as much as we could do with the space we have. We would love to have you come back again! Hope to see you next hunting and fishing season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Found myself too far away from home so I got a room at the Grand Coulee Center Lodge. Very clean room, bed was ok, quiet all night, parking right out front. The young lady at the front desk was very professional and nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathybaty, Owner at Grand Coulee Center Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for your response. Just getting used to all the media sites and realized I had
responses I needed to respond to. We do have a great staff, front desk, housekeeping and maintenance! They all take pride in their work. We have had most of them for a very long time. If you don't mind, could you let us know which room you stayed in, that just had an okay bed. Chances are that we already updated the bed, but we need to check it out. If you are back in the area again, please come stay with us again. Mention your Trip Advisor response for a 10% discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Coulee Center Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Coulee Center Lodge

Address: 404 Spokane Way, Grand Coulee, WA 99133 (Formerly Grand Coulee Motel)
Location: United States > Washington > Grand Coulee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grand Coulee
Price Range: $59 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Coulee Center Lodge is a quaint but service oriented motel with both basic rooms and suites. We pride ourselves on providing totally updated rooms with special attention to cleanliness and comfort. GCCL offers free WiFi, complimentary Continental Breakfast, and all Non-smoking Rooms. Reserved parking is offered as well as convenient power for boaters in need of charging motors after a fun day of fishing. We have pet friendly rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing