We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful location”

Maryhill Museum of Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$188.88*
and up
Private Tour: Columbia River Gorge Day Trip from Portland
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Goldendale
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Housed in a majestic Beaux Art mansion overlooking the Columbia River Gorge, Maryhill Museum of Art is one of the NW's most fascinating cultural destinations. Explore world-class European & American art, an extensive American Indian art collection, sculptures and watercolors by Auguste Rodin - one of the largest collections in the US - and much, much more. Cafe, museum shop, sculpture garden, & picnic grounds on-site. In 2012 the museum opened its 25,000 square foot Mary & Bruce Stevenson Wing, featuring a dedicated arts education suite, a cafe with terrace seating and sweeping views of the Gorge and Mount Hood.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
oregon
Level Contributor
331 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

it's a bit out of the way but it's an amazing beautiful place. we didn't even go into the museum (just into the shop) but from what I can see, it looked chock full of stuff. I would go in next time. no fee for just walking the grounds and the sculptures. We just walked the grounds and it was spectacular. we went another couple of miles to the Stonehenge replica and that was a bit disappointing but I would go the the museum grounds again. It would be a fabulous place to have a picnic.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    68
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
286 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“One of my Favorite Little Museums”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I've been to this museum roughly 10 times over a plan of 40 years. We live in Seattle. So, it's a drive to get there. While it's no Metropolitan Museum of Art, it's simply lovely. I love the collections, especially the Queen Marie collection, the chess sets, and Theatre de la Mode. I wasn't wild about the Hound of Hell special showing, but I really enjoyed the Kenneth Standhardt stoneware. The structure of the building is great and it has a very interesting back story. The setting for this museum is just simply amazing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikelAnneA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The Maryhill Must-see-um...or what in Sam Hill?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This museum, pretty much in the middle of nowhere, is a fascinating compendium of unusual things. There is much devoted to Queen Marie of Roumania who was a patron and an amazing woman in her own right. There is a room devoted to Sam Hill,(an honest to goodness person!), the founder of the museum and a bit of a roue. Make sure to see the exhibit about Loie Fuller..who was a true pioneer in the world of modern dance. It is in a beautiful setting sitting on the bluffs above the Columbia River with views of Mt. Hood....with patios and a delightful little restaurant. Enjoy the afternoon...wile away some time with a look back into the past!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank acandkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
190 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A Treasure in the Columbia Gorge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I am amazed how few people know about this absolute treasure. Off the beaten path, Sam Hill created the most eclectic and stunning art collection in much of the Northwest. A visionary of his time, I love his connections to dignitaries, royalty, and celebrities, bringing together a series of rooms crammed with quality and inspiring pieces that are completely the worth the extra hours of travel.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
547 reviews
319 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Out in the middle of nowhere, but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you've ever heard someone say, where in the Sam Hill are we, I think this is where they're talking about. Sam Hill was an influential Oregonian of the past, but he tried to put down roots in Maryhill, WA. He moved out west and fell in love with the Columbia Gorge area, but apparently his wife, Mary, didn't think much of it. He had a grand idea of building a utopia there in Maryhill, WA and he wanted to be the cock of the walk, but he never could get the area properly developed and Mary just didn't like Oregon. She skedaddled on home. But other women, including a real live princess and a dancer in the Folies Bergere thought he was the cat's meow. He'd started this great big mansion out in the middle of nowhere and without Mary to oversee things, the project had run amok. Well, his other lady friends got together and decided his mansion should become a museum - and what a museum! This is the best museum you never heard of and it is well worth going out of your way to find it. The exhibits are varied and interesting. We kept ourselves busy for several hours and even had lunch there. There were very few people visiting the day we were there and its location suggests that that's the way it usually is, but it's a wonderful treat and you should go.

When people say hidden gem, this is the kind of place they are talking about. Associated with the museum is the Stonehenge War Memorial - another project of Sam Hill. It's worth a visit, too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maryhill Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Maryhill Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing