We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring Water & Snacks, great hike for the fit!”

Wallace Falls State Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Gold Bar
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 4,700 acre park has excellent mountain views.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Bring Water & Snacks, great hike for the fit!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you're physically fit and willing to carry small children and leave the oldest ones behind; this is a great hike!! Some of the switch backs are steep.

Buy the pass, support the parks, and pay for parking! There is parking up top, but lots of people don't want to pay, so they park along the rode leading up the trail head.

Seriously, you can make it to the top of the falls, but it requires effort and a can-do attitude! It's really worth it. Bring snacks to treat yourself at the top and plenty of water. We are two adults with 2 pre-teens and we all did well but rested at each level, snacked a bit, and moved on. It's a great hike during the heat of the day too!

I remember hiking this trail in the late 80's and I was in bad shape, I never made it to the top. Don't feel bad if you can't make it; try again when you are ready!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lila2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    31
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camas, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Get an early start!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Beautiful hike. Just be sure to get an early start (as we did) as it got very crowded on the way back down. Will hike this again if in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank amytmbk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great day hike!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great day hike from anywhere in the Seattle area. Lots of dogs & babies on the trail on a summer Saturday, so you know it's a fairly easy hike. My 6 month pregnant wife made it with no problem. Middle Falls overlook (the 265 foot drop) is the highlight of the trip. Upper Falls overlook is nice, but not as spectacular. About 4 hours at an easy pace for the entire hike. Hint: Even when the sign says parking lot full & you see lots of cars on the road, try the parking lot anyway if you have the state pass. We found several open.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Ssssshhhhh . . . don't tell too many people about this gem”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The "Woody Trail" provides a first-rate hiking experience within short distance of Seattle. It's a walk through a fragrant and moist forest with mossy trees, lots of ferns, and soft ground underneath. All the while, you're along the fast-moving Wallace River.

I have hiked the trail twice; once on a drizzly misty cool cloudy day, and once on a bright sunny warm day. I think the hike is actually nicer on a drizzly day . . . doing so provides a certain mood that seems to better fit the setting.

I hiked it with my 66-year old father and we got to the upper falls in about 90 minutes including stops along the way to enjoy the overlooks. The Middle Falls are the most spectacular. But if you make it to the Middle Falls, you may as well go on to the Upper Falls.

I suppose my only complaint is that from the trailhead, you have to walk about a third of a mile along some ugly buzzing power lines before the trail heads into the woods. Also would recommend going on a weekday if possible so you can enjoy a little more solitude at the vantage points.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kwa829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great moderate day hike close to Seattle...”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were looking for a hike somewhat close to Seattle (as that is where we were staying). This location is perfect. Just about an hour's drive from downtown. The hike was very cool - well maintained trails, moderate in terms of difficulty. If you go to the upper falls point I think you acsend a total of 1,000 feet from start to finish. Great views, especially in the Spring with the snow melt in high gear. Many of the other popular summer hikes are still snowed in at the end of April/early May. You also pass the Wallace River Salmon hatchery on the way, stop by for 5-10 minutes... it's free and kinda' cool

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cingitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wallace Falls State Park also viewed

 

Been to Wallace Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing