We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Ski Area”
Review of Mt Baker Ski Area

Mt Baker Ski Area
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glaciers, crevasses and snowy pinnacles make this area a challenge for skiers.
Iowa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ski Area”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Mt. Baker is a beautiful ski area east of Bellingham WA. , about 3 hours from Seattle. The resort has very nice facilities. The rental shop was efficient and staffed by friendly and knowledgeable people. The restaurants / chalets are very nice and serve a good selection of food, although as expected, overpriced. The lift lines are not too long. If you prefer skiing on mostly groomed surfaces, this place is not for you. I think it is a snowboarders paradise, but for me, a better than average skier, I found it to be an extreme amount of work. They had over a foot of snow the night before and snow the whole day I skied so it was very deep and difficult to ski in. I had a great day but would choose a resort with groomed runs next time.

Tip: be sure you have a vehicle with 4 wheel drive. The road to the resort can be treacherous if the weather is not good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff38094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    29
    3
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Epic resort with no lines!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This resort has it all, fun groomers, tree runs, and good backcountry hikes (transceiver, shovel, and probe required), and almost never a wait on lines.
No lodging on the mountain but there are options in nearby Glacier.
The legendary banked slalom course was up when I went recently after MLK, was able to poach a run in the morning. Super challenging to just stay in the course!
oh, and hit up deathstar, fun little run with half pipe like walls.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shredder888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Snowboarding the way it should be -- more like family than overbearing resorts”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

For my wife and me, Mount Baker is our preferred snowboarding location. It has not succumbed to the trend of other locations--turning into an over-priced, crowded resort. Instead, it maintains the relaxed, close-knit atmosphere synonymous with snowboarding. Mount Baker offers a wide variety of runs for every level of skier/snowboarder--different terrain that keeps the day interesting. Mount Baker offers lift tickets that are cheaper than surrounding ski areas, plus they do military discount. Mount Baker has significant snowfall--it holds the record for most snowfall (98-99 season) and gets the highest average annual snowfall of any resort, so the snow base is deeper than surrounding ski areas. And where else can you grab a beer and bread bowl of salmon chowder and lounge outside the lodge on the patio while relaxing and taking in the sight of the mountains? Mount Baker also hosts different events that shouldn't be missed--I highly recommend attending the Legendary Banked Slalom and the Easter Egg Hunt. If you're looking for resort-style luxuries (hanging out in the lodge all day) or on-the-mountain accommodations, then Mount Baker might not be your place. But if you're looking for killer snowboarding with low-cost, no-frills amenities, friendly people, and relaxed atmosphere, then Mount Baker cannot be beat.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Tons of snow... wish it were somewhat groomed”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were there while it was snowing and there really is a TON of snow here.
Unfortunately, perhaps due to the visibility, though, we couldn't really move too quickly since it was hard to judge the terrain. It also didn't seem like there had been any grooming done to the pistes, which would have at least allowed for some fast cruisers.
Definitely need to try it again here...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank seattle oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“ski to your hearts content”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

this ski area is a huge nice flowing slopes.. its pretty remote but the day we went there. it was sunny warm and crystal clear ..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cher98115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt Baker Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Mt Baker Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing