We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Happy Hour”
Review of Tanglewood

Tanglewood
Ranked #24 of 114 Restaurants in Gig Harbor
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Tanglewood looks like a rustic log cabin on the inside and kind of cozy. It could use a good deep cleaning, but it was not filthy or disgusting at all. It is a casual dining experience. Happy hour food had big portions and a great price. The drink prices were even better. $3.75 for select cocktails and wines. We had the chips and guacamole. The chips are fried to order and came out hot and crispt. We also had the prawn and shrimp dip with garlic toast. I wanted to lick the bowl!. The french onion soup is also pretty good. Their prices for there entrees are fairly cheap as well for the steakls and seafood. Our server was very friendly and fast. She was the only one serving the bar tables and had a full bar. We never waited for anything.
I would like tyo go back and try some entrees next time I visit Gig Harbor.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sisaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    43
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
316 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
“Meaty meals in a (faux) log cabin!”
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

When we have a hankerin' for a meaty meal -- steak, ribs, roasted chicken -- we head to Tanglewood Grill. My favorites are their ribs, beer-battered onion rings, and salads that come with garbanzo and kidney beans. Meals are filling!

We tend to sit in the bar area most times to take advantage of their happy hour specials, though the atmosphere/decor is better in the main dining room.

Situated in an out-of-the-way location near the Inn at Gig Harbor, Tanglewood Grill is decorated like a log cabin for that warm, homey feel. (I could do without the taxidermy though.) Service has always been friendly, in my experience, and we've never had to wait for a table.

Parking is plentiful compared to restaurants downtown.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris_K_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great staff, just dont dig the menu”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

sat in the bar. Great drinks for the price. some pull tab games which was nice. big flat screen to watch, also nice. atmosphere was friendly. LOVED the staff. Just dont dig the menu personally, but I know many that do. would recommend for others although unless just going for drinks i go elsewhere

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJPerkins1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food, polite employees, needs a deep cleaning”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Tanglewood is one of my favorite Gig Harbor establishments. Their signature salad is outstanding, and jsut about everything you order is great. The employees are very nice and efficient, the type that keep your pop filled at all times, but don't "hover" around your table. I think my favorite aspect of the restaurant is the outdoorsy, cabin type atmosphere with the big fireplace and stuffed animals and fish on the wall.

The place does need a good deep cleaning. The items closer to the ceiling level need to be dusted, and there are frequently cobwebs hanging from the antler chandeliers. It would have gotten a fifth dot with better cleaning.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank lyoninfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“You Will Not Go Away Hungry!”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

As there are a dearth of great steakhouses in Gig Harbor, you will find many locals dining at Tanglewood. If you're looking for steak/chicken/prime rib and yes, even decent fish dishes you won't be disappointed. More good news: you get two sides; baked potato, barbequed beans, cole slaw, green salad, or soup. The ambiance is rustic steakhouse with lots of booths and deer heads on the walls... very comfortable - just like the food. In addition, it is very reasonable and a great place to meet the locals on a Friday night in the lounge area!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Star333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanglewood also viewed

 

Been to Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing