We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of Trip Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hunan Garden - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hunan Garden
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Merritt Island, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of Trip Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

When my husband and I were first dating, we discovered Hunan Garden and fell in love with the house special combination soup and the little old lady who served the man first! The shrimp with green onion dish is to die for! We always talk about this restaurant whenever we are out for Chinese food since nothing ever quite compares. On a recent trip home (we live in Florida now), we were not disappointed... we sat in the same booth and were served by the same lady who is now 18 years older than she was when we first met her. The food was good but not quite as tasty as we remembered... but all-in-all, we loved eating there again and will go again the next time we are in Gig Harbor. I just wish I could get the recipe for the shrimp! I would love to have shrimp like that all the time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SKerness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“They Met our Expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Okay, they're not PF Changs. However, for a neighborhood Chinese restaurant they suffice. Their Orange Flavored Beef is actually very good. Fried Rice is good. Mongolian Beef is tasteless. Service is good and they offer a full bar menu. We will go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Star333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
177 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Average Chinese -- not bad, just not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hunan Garden is an average-sized Chinese restaurant in a small strip mall as part of a larger collection of shops. When we last visited for a late lunch, the place was almost empty -- just one table occupied. But another couple arrived the same time my wife and I did, and we waited and waited for someone to seat us, finally joking that we would probably have to seat ourselves, plus serve and maybe cook the meal as well. After we were finally seated, the service was fast, with the usual hot and sour soup and water brought immediately by a non-smiling, non-Asian.

We ordered off the lunch menu, one order each of their Mongolian Beef and one of their Hunan special chicken dish with a sweet and hot sauce. The serving of Mongolian Beef was way smaller than the serving of chicken -- of course chicken is less expensive than beef, so that's just a quibble. Both were about $8, which isn't too bad these days. The Mongolian Beef and the chicken were tasty and the beef was tender, which is a good thing, because oo many times we've ordered it and the beef turns out to be chewy and/or tough. Both dishes were OK tasting, but nothing out of the ordinary.

A walk sthrough the restaurant to the bathroom revealed that the place could use a little sprucing up. Nothing really bad -- just nicks and scrapes and not thorough cleaning. The whole place looks, at first, casual glance, decorated with some restraint in cool colors, but at closer look, it's a little shopworn and could use a little cleaning, some paint, and some new decorations to replace the same old tired ones that have been there for God knows how long. And perhaps a smile or a little warmth in greeting and serving customers would be nice, as well.

It is what it is -- a typical, average Chinese-food restaurant, that all of us have eaten in many times. The food wasn't bad at all -- but like the restaurant, it was not memorable -- just typical -- and just average.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThorneBirdGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
198 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Basic Chinese”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hot and sour soup was adequate. We had Beef-Broccoli as our entree. It was adequate as well. We did takeout so can't comment on service. Premises seemed clean. Liked that they offered brown steamed rice as an option. I guess my impression is that this would be a pretty good Chinese place in Kansas City or Omaha. For the Seattle Tacoma area, it is just average based on one visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchmanscove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I've made better”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our take out was overpriced and just plain bad tasting. The general tso's was crusty dry chicken with some mild, watery sauce. Chicken and broccoli tasted like it was sitting in beef gravy. Even the rice was dry, and hadn't been cooked through.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Breck06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Garden also viewed

 
Gig Harbor, WA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing