We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous location..impeccable service..beautiful rooms!! We will definitely stay again!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gig Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear's Lair Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Gig Harbor B&B and Inns
Gig Harbor, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous location..impeccable service..beautiful rooms!! We will definitely stay again!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

The Bear's Lair B&B has the best accomodations, best staff, the best food and frankly the best everything!! My husband and I rented the Carriage House for our wedding night, which is a quaint little cottage they have, that sits apart from the main house. We eloped in the beautiful gazebo they have that sits over a pond. We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful place to get married! The owners were very accomodating and made every effort to ensure our wedding day was as special as possible. They did more than we could have asked for, and at no additional cost!
The breakfast that was served the next morning was very hearty and tasted like a professional chef had made it! It was also brought to our room (exactly at the time we requested). The cottage has all the comforts of home, including all the linens, a fully equipped kitchen, a separate living room, a laundry room, a private deck off the dining room, completely separate parking, a garden path leading up to the front door, and much more. There are also plenty of places both public and private to sit and enjoy the beautiful and peaceful surroundings. We could go on and on about how wonderful this place is, in every way!!!

We will recommend the Bear's Lair Bed and Breakfast to everyone we can.....and we will definitely be back for a visit ourselves!! Definitely the best place we have stayed in all of our travels! We also would like to thank the owners, Jen and Giulio. You both are the best and we wish you all the happiness and success life can bring....you deserve it!!

~Brian & Janelle

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2have-n-2hold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
51
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

The Bear's Lair is like foraging through the woods and finding where Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs live! The grounds are immaculate and groomed in an English-Cottage style. The custom made residence has an old world appeal, with custom woodwork throughout. We stayed at the carriage house, which is great if you are bringing children. The owners were kind and very informative, but gave us our space when we needed it. Breakfast was incredible and abundant. Jen's special bran muffin is to die for!

You would not expect to find this hidden treasure nestled in the penninsula, but once you do, you never want to leave!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveMammoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

Jen and Guido built and operate this beautifully detailed B&B. The design and construction are tasteful. As hosts, they were present, but not intrusive. And, the extensive gardens enticed us to delay our departure. We enjoyed a number of fine B&Bs during our two week tour of western Washington state, but none matched Bear's Lair.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

My husband and I loved Bear's Lair. The garden is fantastic, the breakfast delicious and the hosts most amendable. The Rose Room is fully appointed and very comfortable. I totally recommend for a relaxing stay in Gig's Harbor. Also handy to Tacoma and ferry to Seattle. A wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana point california
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

We stayed at this beautiful B&B (almost like a small inn) for two nights to attend a wedding in Gig Harbor. The grounds are beathtaking, the breakfast wonderful and the owners couldn't be more friendly and helpful. No wonderful this was rated #1 in Gig Harbor. We will definitely be back anytime we are in the Gig Harbor area.

One thing to note, our GPS system, for some reason was not able to give us the correct directions (it is an older model, though). You might want to check a map or ask for directions, as well.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rewirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna, ca
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2008

What a beautiful place. The gardens are unbelievable. We stayed in the carriage house. Wow the woodwork was amazing. It is 1000 square feet that had everything. There is a wonderful living room with comfortable couches. The kitchen has everything including a dining room table and fireplace. The bedroom has plenty of room with huge closets. There is also a laundry room. Breakfast was brought to us. The breakfast was fantastic. The owners are friendly. Every little detail was thought of. My husband and I were ready to move into this magical place. This is one of the most beautiful places we stayed in.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — There was nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillybeanpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2005

Have stayed at a couple dozen B&Bs and this one is right at the top.
If you want peaceful surroundings with A-1 amenites, head for the Bear's Lair. Well manicured pastoral setting provides a showplace for owner's gardening/landcsaping skills.
Warm and charming rooms, congenial Inkeeppers, a great breakfast, a stocked mini-fridge and a 24/7 homemade cookie/candy tray add to this remarkable B&B experience.
A little closer to downtown Gig Harbor would be nice, but the solitude is well worth the 5 minute drive into town.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank nddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gig Harbor
The INN at Gig Harbor
#2 of 5 in Gig Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Waterfront Inn
#4 of 5 in Gig Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear's Lair Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear's Lair Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bear's Lair Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13706 92nd Avenue Ct NW, Gig Harbor, WA 98329-7066
Location: United States > Washington > Gig Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gig Harbor
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing