We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location”
Review of Maritime Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maritime Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gig Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2008

As some of you know planning a large wedding can become somewhat of a full time job. My husband and I were planning our Gig Harbor wedding and a majority of our wedding party was traveling in from out of town. When I contacted the Maritime INN in downtown Gig Harbor I was relieved that one part of my planning was going to be a cinch. Our wedding party was large and the staff accommodated us perfectly. The rooms are gorgeously decorated, very clean and the location is unbeatable. The downtown Harbor location made the stay special for each of our wedding party guests, making it easy for them to walk to coffee, restaurants, take walks around the harbor and enjoy all that happens in our great waterfront town. Staying at the Maritime Inn added to our special day and made accommodations one thing we didn’t have to worry about.

Zach Hansen & Jennifer Hawkins Hansen, Gig Harbor

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JZHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 142 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2007

We are South Africans and spent 2 nights at The Maritime Inn just prior to going on a cruise to Alaska. Gig Harbor is a stunning village with one main road. Whilst really small it's vert charming being on the water, and has some nice art shops.

The Maritime Inn is on the "main" rd in the middle of town, but that said there is just about only one road! The rooms are really nicely appointed, well furnished, though not very big. We too faced the road and there was a degree of noise, but being such a small place it quietens down early in the evening. The reception staff were helpful and really pleasant. The breakfast was no worse than expected, with danish, juice, coffee and cereal.

I would stay again, as you can just about park your car and get anywhere on foot from the Maritime.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pafuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2007

We were so disappointed! The room was dirty...spilled coffee(?) on the tile, moldy grout around tub, warn bedspread, uncomfortable chairs, hairs in and around sink...serious! We told them about it (this was the canterwood room) and they put us in another room, one on the board walk. They said it wouldn't be noisy because the town is dead after 10pm. Oh my word! The car noise from the street kept us up until past 3:30am, the bed was only a double--way too small for 2 people and the pillows were really fat and hard and too tall for our necks, my husband finally used his robe as a pillow to try to sleep. In this room there was dead bugs by the coffee mugs and everything was very dusty. I don't think they hire professional cleaners.
The evening we checked in, the lady at the desk said she would book us a dinner reservation at a place in town and leave the time of reservation on our rooms voice mail since we were going to walk around town first. When we got back to the inn there was no voice mail so we called the front desk to ask. A different gal was at the front desk and she said no reservation to her knowledge had been made, so we didn't get our nice dinner! When we told the original gal about it the next morning she tried to put the blame on me! Oh, and breakfast is packaged danishes and those tiny little boxes of cereal. I'm sorry, but this place is way over rated and outdated.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justme6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfcMTI, General Manager at Maritime Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2008

We appreciate any and all feedback so we can better serve our guests in the future. We are excited to announce that we remodeled the Maritime Inn this summer. We have upgraded our rooms, lobby and common areas. This includes paint, carpet, wood floors, trim, lighting, beds and bedding, tile, tubs, toilets, sinks, flat screen televisions and in-room regrigerators. Our goal was to create a botique feel and from the reviews and comments we have received at the hotel, we are ecstatic with the results.

Our professional cleaning staff are trained and accessed on how to clean our rooms and take pride in their work. The room the guest stayed in that made the comments above has also been upgraded with soudproof windows and we have not had any noise issues since - we do take comments and reviews seriously. All of the beds are either king or queen size and have new top of the line, hight-thread count bedding (we do offer hypoallergenic pillows). Our front desk staff is excited and more than able to suggest a dining option and to make the reservation for you before you arrive or upon arrival. We advertise our breakfast as Continental and offer baked goods, yogurt, cereals (hot and cold), juice and fresh coffee. This is a customary continental breakfast you will find at any fine lodging location. We would not be happy unless our guests stay at The Maritime Inn was not to their full satisfaction. If a guest checks into their room and is not satisfied, we would take it upon ourselves to make sure that guest was given what they expected and with a positive attitude. Word of mouth is the best advertising and that does not happen without a guest that was impressed with their stay at the Maritime Inn. That is why we strive to make each and every visit the best it can be

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

The Maritime Inn is perfectly located for those arriving by boat - easily within walking distance of the marinas - but is also amidst the historic streets of Gig Harbor. Our room (the Polo Room) had a wonderful "princess and the pea" 4-poster bed that required steps to ascend. And the room was quiet, clean, and charming with a large bathroom. Plus, breakfast is served in the main building each morning. Overall, would definitely recommend....

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CCCJPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

Our room was not huge, but fine for 2 people. Bed was great! The fireplace was nice but being a warm summer night not needed and the pilot light was on so some heat was coming from it. In-room 4 cup coffee maker with all the sweetners you would want plus creamers, not just the powdered stuff.
The bathroom was small but adequate and the inn not only provided shampoo, but 3 kinds of soap, a sewing kit, shower cap, and eye make-up remover clothes! It was like a gift basket!
My husband was not impressed with the packaged pastries at the continental breakfast, but lots of coffee and juice.
Parking lot seems to have just enough parking for the number of rooms, but we always got a spot, even with a truck. Close walking to most everything in downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ordinarytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2006

We stayed in a smaller room in the main building with a smaller view of the harbor - didn't matter! We loved it anyway! The room was very comfortable, gas fireplace was lovely, and our bed was so comfy that we slept 10 hours a night!! No joke! Front desk staff was always very nice, as well. Breakfast was better than your average continental breakfast with muffins, fruit, tea, coffee, juices, and various other pastries. Being able to walk around town was really nice, as well. Our favorite place to eat was Tides Tavern. The Mexican restaurant nearby is pretty good, too. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrsSauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Missouri
226
Reviewed October 10, 2005

We were pleasantly surprised and really enjoyed staying at the Maritime Inn. Our room overlooked the harbor and marinas and gave us a very nice view from our large window. It is also very short walk to art galleries and shops. The room appeared nearly new and clean. Complimentary breakfast was perfect too. The only thing we didn't like was the parking lot was inadequate. Other than that, I look forward to going back and would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gig Harbor
0.8 mi away
Waterfront Inn
Waterfront Inn
#4 of 5 in Gig Harbor
106 reviews
1.4 mi away
The INN at Gig Harbor
The INN at Gig Harbor
#2 of 5 in Gig Harbor
386 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Wesley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
8.7 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#2 of 27 in Tacoma
3,405 reviews
22.4 mi away
Inn at the Market
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Inn

Address: 3212 Harborview Dr, Gig Harbor, WA 98335-2125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Gig Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gig Harbor
Price Range: $196 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritime Inn is the area's most distinctive hotel, where personal service and unequaled comfort are combined to create an atmosphere of casual elegance and charm. This 15 room boutique hotel is situated in an area of pristine beauty and is Gig Harbor's only downtown hotel along the historic waterfront. Located within walking distance to the harbor's finest restaurants, art galleries, wonderful shops and beautiful marinas. Our friendly staff will welcome you with a complimentary glass of Washington wine upon check in. Graciously appointed rooms await guests, with cozy fireplaces, luxurious Northwest interiors and picturesque views of the harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maritime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel Gig Harbor
Maritime Motel Gig Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing