We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fits This Little Jewel of a Town”
Review of Maritime Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maritime Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gig Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fits This Little Jewel of a Town”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Maritime Inn is a mini Inn in a mini jewel that is Gig Harbor in September 2013. It is centrally located on the bay frontage street of this Puget Sound town. The rooms are small, but appropriately nice and some have an awesome view of this little harbor. The breakfast and morning coffee was good, as was the greeting glass of wine. The Innkeepers were very friendly and helpful. We'd definitely love to go back.

Room Tip: The bay view rooms are a trade-off with early morning street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    44
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
64
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Maritime Inn in July 2013. Convenient, clean, and comfortable. Very close to good dining (see reviews on Kelly's and Tides Tavern). Breakfast was continental and the coffee was good. Easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GnRonthelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here in the Eagle room one night. The room was cozy, but had everything we needed--but the view from our window of the harbor & sound was just beautiful. There is a fireplace if you stay in cold weather. The inn is located on the main street, in the heart of town, so you can walk to all the shops & restaurants. The breakfast is included--self serve--bagels, cream cheese, Danish, hard boiled eggs, cheese, yogurt, fresh fruit & juices, etc. A wide variety of choices. A very reasonable price. Hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay in a room upstairs facing the water for the good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldroamer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, OR
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night in Gig Harbor at the Maritime Inn. We had a very nice room (I think it was called the veteran) that overlooks the bay from a small window. We were welcomed with a glass of wine and got a great recommendation for dinner. There are many choices for breakfast, but not many that are gluten free. We enjoyed our brief stay in Gig Harbor and found it to be quite charming.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank spicolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My hubby and I spent two nights in the Skansonia Room (#16). It was very nice, the bed and linens were comfortable and the room was clean. The little patio was private but had a nice view of the water and some of the comings/goings on the sidewalk. This room was tucked up more than others and on the end of the building so it seemed quiter and more private than the other rooms from what I could tell. There aren't many rooms so if you want privacy & quiet, you will likely want this one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumzie4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

One of those times I would like to rate 3.5 but ultimately decided to go with a 3 versus a 4. We stayed for one night on July 4 in Room 3 - one of the rooms that technically has a water view but realize the water view is through fairly small windows and you are literally right on the sidewalk of the busy main street in Gig Harbor.

While the room was clean, we found the room fine but not really better than fine. The bathroom was pretty small and the room was quite dark. Sure you have a flat screen and a decent bed today but pretty much every place does now.

Some folks have described the continental free breakfast as good. I found it to be average to below average. There really isn't a sitting area that I could find and the pastries were all store bought wrapped in individual packages. So certainly at best similar to a Fairfield Inn type continental versus a bed and breakfast which I realize it isn't but some people in their reviews described Maritime as a cross between a B&B and a hotel.

Finally, our rate of $192 for even the July 4th night seemed high for what we got. There may not be better choices in Gig Harbor but at the very least my expectations will be lower if I end up staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rogerslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visittheharbor, General Manager at Maritime Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are so glad that you chose to stay with The Maritime Inn over the 4th of July holiday and also sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your overnight stay. As we are a small hotel in an urban location we do have some limitations. With this in mind we work very hard to offer our valued guests beautiful and comfortable accommodations, outstanding service and the best continental breakfast we can with many selection for diverse appetites and personal needs. We are limited by our health permit guidelines as to what we can serve, though we add new selections from wonderful bakeries all the time.

We do hope that you enjoyed our wonderful location with the park and bay just across the street and were able to take advantage of one of the wonderful restaurants and great shops just steps away. We hope that when you do come back to our amazing city you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I spent a night at the Maritime Inn to celebrate our anniversary. It was lovely! The Maritime is a cross between a B & B and a hotel. There is more privacy than many B & B's have, yet it is more cozy and homey than a hotel. The breakfast is continental style, but with many yummy choices including fresh fruit, yogurt, boiled eggs, cheese sticks, oatmeal, cold cereal, bagels and of course pastries. It is located within walking distance of many shops, restaurants and across the street from the harbor. We would definitely recommend the Maritime Inn!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foursmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gig Harbor
0.8 mi away
Best Western Wesley Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Waterfront Inn
Waterfront Inn
#4 of 5 in Gig Harbor
100 reviews
1.4 mi away
The INN at Gig Harbor
The INN at Gig Harbor
#2 of 5 in Gig Harbor
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
8.7 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
3,315 reviews
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Inn

Property: Maritime Inn
Address: 3212 Harborview Dr, Gig Harbor, WA 98335-2125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Gig Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gig Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritime Inn is the area's most distinctive hotel, where personal service and unequaled comfort are combined to create an atmosphere of casual elegance and charm. This 15 room boutique hotel is situated in an area of pristine beauty and is Gig Harbor's only downtown hotel along the historic waterfront. Located within walking distance to the harbor's finest restaurants, art galleries, wonderful shops and beautiful marinas. Our friendly staff will welcome you with a complimentary glass of Washington wine upon check in. Graciously appointed rooms await guests, with cozy fireplaces, luxurious Northwest interiors and picturesque views of the harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maritime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel Gig Harbor
Maritime Motel Gig Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing