We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The INN at Gig Harbor
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gig Harbor
Reviewed August 24, 2008

My husband and I wanted to do a couple of days get away and wanted a room witha a jacuzzi tub for two.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Even though at times you had to wait on them for 10-15mins, since they momentarily stepped away.

The Restaurant breakfast was great, they gave you tickets to get a couple of dollars off menu items or the complimentary breakfast. We waited on the waitress for about 10 mins. before we got to order our food. The wait staff was not very attentive. The food however was great, my husband had the heritage breakfast with steak gravy and biscuits and I had the Pikes place omelette. Yummy!!!

The room was average, the carpet was not vacuumed, we called for a maid to service it. The bed was extremely uncomfortable to sleep in as it had a pillowtopper that keep slidding off of the mattress. It was comfortable if you just wanted to lie on it to relax, but not sleep. The bathroom was large with huge shower and the bath was great. I always brings my own cleaning supplies and it came in handy since the tile around the jacuzzi tub had mold spots. They didn't have room service per say, you called into the resturant and went down to pick it up. My husband loved his burger and I had the crab cakes ( it was okay) was a little pricey for the quantity of dinner.

Kings rooms are on the hwy side and someone keep knocking on the door and the people above us were stomping on the floor on our last night.

Hotel is not that wonderful for the price wepaid.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2travelx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 381 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the Inn. The staff was great, very helpful and friendly. We had a family suite which was very large and plenty of room for 4 of us. The beds were so comfortable and we had an oustanding view of Mount Ranier. Our room was on the front part of the Inn, the noise from the highway was minimal, certainly not a problem. The restaurant serves a wonderful breakfast in the morning. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thejoker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

My husband and I spent one night at the Inn at Gig Harbor while visiting family nearby. We used to live in Tacoma across the Narrows Bridge, so wanted to see the area again. When my husband made the reservation he was told there were no rooms available with King beds, but when we arrived I asked and there was a room available. We were able to switch.
The Inn rooms are clean and have all the basic amenities, including complimentary bottled water (also apples at the front desk). The bed was ok, but not particularly comfortable. It was as some TA reviewers have said a bit hard.
The main issue we had was with noise at night. You can hear the doors slamming in the hallway...they close with a loud bang. We usually try to use the room AC fan to create "white noise" when in hotels but the fan in this room didn't make much noise. The room window looked out over a lower rooftop with air vents. The hotel is next to a freeway, with no nice views.
The desk staff were friendly, but tended to hang out in the back office. Once I had to ring a bell to get someone's attention at the desk while another customer and I were waiting to be helped.
The free continental breakfast is served in the main restaurant and it was a pleasant surprise, with sweet breads, fruit, juice, yogurt, coffee/tea, and some other choices. The waitress takes your orders and serves the table. She was very nice and chatted with us.

Overall I'd say the rooms are overpriced for what you get. With our AAA discount it was still around $130/night. Perhaps they can charge that for the Gig Harbor area, but we'll look elsewhere the next time we're visiting.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

I visit my family in Gig Harbor every year during the holidays. This time I stayed at the Inn at Gig Harbor. The staff at the desk were cheerful and very helpful. My check in was quick and the amenities were well explained to me, such as the hours at the restaurant and the lounge. Although this was during Christmas holiday, I did not expect to be treated any differently. When I went in my room, I saw a nice wrapped gift and an envelope nicely hand written addressed to me. This package was a very nice surprise! It was very good too and got to take home a couple of souvenir! Thank you!

I will see you again next year!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank amazedbyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2007

I have stayed here twice for business travel. As a female traveling, it's important for me to feel safe, and I do at this hotel. The staff is superb and the beds are SO comfortable. There is a grocery store and coffee stop nearby which is great. I agree with another reviewer, it's deceiving from the outside, but it's clean inside and very comfortable. My room even had a view of Rainier and it was in view during my stay. The 16 highway is next to the property so you do hear early morning commuters, but overall I highly recommend this property. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Nini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

My wife and I spent 5 nights recently at The Inn. We are in the process of moving to the Tacoma area and needed a base to explore the area and look for a new home. After reading some of the reviews here at TA, we decided to book a stay at The Inn. We made a fantastic choice. The Inn at Gig Harbor is rather deceiving from the outside. As we drove up the access road to the hotel entrance I was wondering if we had made a good choice. The Inn is not near the water, but they never gave the impression they were. They are in a rather industrial-like area which led to my initial concern. All my concerns were put to rest when we walked in the front doors. The first thing we noticed was the large fireplace and very comfortable lobby. The front desk staff was wonderful as we checked-in and asked if we had any special requirements for our stay. After checking-in we went up to our room on the third floor. The room was roomy and the beds were wonderfully comfortable. One of the other reviews said the rooms were noisy and the beds were hard. We found neither of these to be true. There was no outside noise unless the large window was open (which it was every night) and those noises were mostly the sounds of nature. The beds had thick european style comfortors and thick matress pads as well. Very comfortable. The restaurant serves pretty decent food, on par with some of the nicer "upscale" hotels we have stayed in. The free continental breakfast is very filling. Get the granola - it was wonderful. The hotel staff was outstanding. Better customer service than I have had at 5-star hotels. Kudos to our waitress Kendra. She was wonderful. This is a wonderful place to stay if you are in the Tacoma area. Our new house is close enough that we will have some of our out-of-town guests (i.e. in-laws) stay there when visiting us.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bsmith3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2007

We stayed here for a conference.
The room was nice, however, the bed was incredibly HARD. The first night my husband slept in the King bed, and I on the couch. The second night we pulled the hide-bed couch out and slept on that!! The walls are thin - you can hear everything within 4 doors of your room.

The restuarant was great, except very overpriced!!

The staff was friendly and outgoing, willing to help.

Conference facilities were good, except the chairs were uncomfortable for sitting more than 30 minutes.

For quick overnight stay is nice, however overall other places might be better.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mtllpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gig Harbor
0.6 mi away
Best Western Wesley Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Waterfront Inn
Waterfront Inn
#4 of 5 in Gig Harbor
106 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#2 of 27 in Tacoma
3,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The INN at Gig Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The INN at Gig Harbor

Address: 3211 56th St NW, Gig Harbor, WA 98335-1359
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Gig Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gig Harbor
Price Range: $149 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The INN at Gig Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining Small Inn Ambiance with World Class Service Constructed and decorated in a Pacific Northwest rendition of the Craftsman style, only 12 minutes from the Tacoma Mall, the INN at Gig Harbor offers 64 comfortably appointed rooms and suites. Whether you choose one of our deluxe double queen rooms, a deluxe king room or one of our fireplace, Jacuzzi or family suites, you will be surrounded by custom made Craftsman furnishings with business friendly work areas. Additionally you will enjoy the convenience of complimentary high speed internet access as well as in-room coffee. The combination of our 4,000 square feet of flexible event space and our dedicated and professional private dining and event staff ensures the success of your business or social event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The INN at Gig Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Gig Harbor Hotel Gig Harbor
Hotel Gig Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing