We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, but clean”
Review of Harbor Inn

Harbor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freeland
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing, but clean”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This was a clean, budget motel, but I wouldn't stay again. Our room was in the annex, which was right next to the freeway, so the traffic was incredibly loud. The walls were thin, so we could hear the neighbors, as well. The mattress was uncomfortable and old, the bathroom was tiny, and the room felt really dark.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building (further from the freeway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank OlySilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
17
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We made a rervation for one night for a wedding. Found out the night before our the wedding that there was a mix-up on the date and we now had no place to stay. When called given no sympathy whatsoever, not offered any solutions/help and told "how is this my problem ?" On top of that, the bride left a gift for our room which was, in effect, stolen by the staff. Another wedding guest stayed there and asked for our gift. She was told "we threw it out, they aren't staying here". It shouldn't matter how busy a place is, how many calls they get, CUSTOMER SERVICE is the name of the game and this place just doesn't get it. Safe bet there will be no recomendation to stay here from us or anyone at the wedding who all know about it now. Shame.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourInnMotel, Owner at Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
The Harbour Inn has a 2-night minimum-stay policy during the busy summer months. We made an exception for this customer and accepted their reservation for just one night. Unfortunately, the customer's husband made the reservation online for the wrong date (a Friday instead of Saturday.) They were sent e-mail confirmation detailing dates and rate, nonetheless, by the time they learned of the error, we were totally booked and could not accomodate them. Because we are the only motel on the south end of Whidbey Island -- the next closest motel is 17 miles up island -- we had nowhere to send them. This angered the customer to the point where she verbally abused our manager and threatened to rescind the credit card payment for the night they no-showed. At that point, their was nothing more we could do to help resolve this unfortunate situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We were there for two nights and did not receive room service because we let a friend couple use our room to freshen up between working to prepare for a wedding and going to it. They did't even shower, just changed clothes. The real problem was that they were so snotty about it. Wouldn't stay there again if it was the last motel on WI. Customer service is definitely lacking at this place. Letting a friend use one's room to freshen up and receiving the reaction we did was totally unexpected.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank goodnabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

This place is not fancy, but we were surprised by how clean and spacious our room was. Parking and breakfast were free, and the area was very quiet and safe. The beds were very comfortable. There is nothing luxurious about the place, but it's as good as any well-run Comfort Inn or Sleep Inn. A good option for those who aren't seeking the cozy, B &B feel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank desertpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

The room was extremely clean (no disgusting carpet with creepy things in the corners, suspicious looking blankets, or a nasty shower curtains). Everything was very, very clean and smelled nice. The room was suprisingly large as well (we stayed in room 215). The bed was firm and very comfortable. For the value, I don't have any complaints and would stay there again without hesitation. If you are not expecting the Ritz then you should be very happy with the accomodations.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmm6014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed here last weekend. The rooms are big, with a microwave and Fridge. The furnishing is basic, but comfy. if you are going to be in the room just for the night, it is a great option, being one of the cheapest in the area. Breakfast is nothing special, cereal and bagels and toast.It is right across the road from a grocery store and a pharmacy so there are options to get some ready to eat food and heat it in the room, instead of eating out, if you are on a tight budget. The management gave us a 10% discount on the rates since we asked what was their best price for the rooms.

However, if you are interested in visiting deception pass and nearby areas, I would recommend living in Coupeville, which is 30 miles closer than Freeland and has rooms available for around $75. You can also skip the ferry and drive right across from the highway, great option if you are in seattle.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cvs666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

We have stayed at this property several times when visiting Whidbey. It is a motel with exterior doors and parking outside the rooms. They provide very large rooms which are clean and have a fridge. However, the rooms are very basic, with cheap furniture and 80's era restrooms. We've always found the staff to be friendly. The main attraction for us is that it is a dog friendly property with a very large, grassy yard which is ideal for dogs to get some off leash exercise and play time.

I agree with a previous reviewer - the Chinese restaurant in Freeland is one of the best we've tried and is set in a fabulous old mansion. Beware the pizza place though - overpriced cardboard!

  • Liked — Clean and dog friendly
  • Disliked — Could use some renovations to help guests avoid flashbacks to the 1980's
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taxpyers_frnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeland
17.5 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
21.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
21.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Mukilteo – Waterfront
21.3 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
5.9 mi away
Inn at Langley
Inn at Langley
#2 of 16 in Langley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Inn

Property: Harbor Inn
Address: 1606 Main St, PO Box 1350, Freeland, Whidbey Island, WA 98249-9467
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Freeland
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freeland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Inn is a popular and affordable motel located in the heart of South Whidbey Island. Guest rooms are clean and spacious and new Sealy mattresses guarantee a good nights sleep. Room amenities include mini-fridge and microwave, telephone, cable TV and WiFi in your room. A continental breakfast is available during the summer months. The motel is close to shops, beaches, the State park, and popular destinations like the village of Langley and historic Coupeville. The Harbor Inn is a pet friendly lodging and welcomes families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel Freeland
Harbor Inn Freeland, Whidbey Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing