We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forks
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manitou Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Forks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in the Cedar Room for 3 nights in July. There was definitely mold in the bathroom and perhaps the carpet (odd odor, probably hard to avoid in the NW). Some windows and blinds were not operational.....signs were posted but they had been there for some time. That being said, the setting is lovely and we were very fortunate with the weather. I just wished that we had stayed at the Kalaloch Lodge; it is on the beach, not far from forks and has a wonderful restaurant. There are NO dining choices in Forks. The "breakfast basket" was a wire basket in the mini-frig with toaster waffles on 2 mornings. It just wasn't what we were looking for, my mistake for not researching it further.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABWSPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    154
    33
    18
    18
See reviews for
121
267
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in Sacagawea, which is one of the rooms off the main lobby in the Lodge. It was clean, there was plenty of hot water for showers, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The cozy cottage décor was really inviting and relaxing, and the Wi-Fi was fast and reliable. We will definitely come back to Manitou Lodge when we come back though the Olympic Peninsula in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a great stay in the Cedar Rooms which was two bedrooms off the main lodge. Unfortunately. we were there only one night, but it was the best night of our trip. The Lodge is beautiful and tranquil. I was showing my son's girlfriend from NYC the area and was concerned that it would be too remote for her. Well was I wrong! It was a great retreat and we really had a great time and "unplugged" from the world. Breakfast was wonderful and I look forward to a longer visit next time. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainCityDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed at Manitou Lodge in the tent site. The tents were large, comfortable and clean, and included everything we needed (even a really cushy air matress). We were welcomed in the beautiful main lodge for relaxing, games and hot drinks. The location is beautiful in and of itself, and super convenient to the Olympic Park beaches. The only downside, is that it is NOT convenient to fine dining - so if you're planning to stay more than one night, I would definitely back something to picnic on - the offerings in Forks are pretty slim.
One of the staff told us that many people like to visit the lodge in the winter to watch the spectacular storms roll in. That's what I hope to go back for!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bnanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabot, Arkansas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I would certainly like to start off by thanking the owners and caretakers of this property. Talk about giving you your privacy, we saw them only three times during our two nights here but the place is fantastic. The wife and I were on a trip around the Olympic Peninsula and stayed here for two nights. Next time it will be for more being there is so much to do in the area, beaches are minutes away!!!! You WILL be unplugged so prepare for that if you're not used to it. I did however have my MiFi that we were able to use to check on things back home through email but forget about cell phone service unless you get close to Forks. No TV's either which I really enjoyed.

We stayed in the Owl Room on the left side of the detached cabin. It was AWESOME!!!! We really liked the breakfast baskets which practically had everything in them one would need for breakfast. Microwave, small fridge and a coffee pot, what else do you really need??? Not super fancy, but earthy with some really cool decor. The property is very secluded and we had no issues whatsoever. I would describe it as being a really neat affordable Lodge with some very nice personal touches that's very close to some of the prettiest beaches I have ever seen!!!

Great job guys and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future, we WILL be back.

Room Tip: I would go for the Cabin without a doubt!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at Manitou Lodge one night. It's location was perfect as we wanted to explore Rialto Beach and Beaches 3, 2 and 1. We stayed in Pocahontas room which was a bit small. The Great Room is perfect for reading, tea (you can have it as many times as you like and the selection of teas is very good), and they also have a nice collection of CDs, so you can listen to some music. The hostess was friendly. The breakfast provided in a basket was adequate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europetraveler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Set on about 10 wooded acres, near La Push and away from the touristy activities in Forks, Manitou Lodge is an eclectic northwoods-style lodge, cabins, and campgrounds. We stayed in the Eagle cabin, which is part of a duplex with the Owl cabin. Bed was comfy, although a bit saggy. Cabin was small, but we made do with a bit of rearranging. Shower stall is very small. Larger folks may want a full tub/shower combo. Bath itself is spacious, and we staged our ice chest and a few other things in there. Be aware that you are in the woods, on the edge of the rainforest. Humidity drips when it is not actually raining or drizzling. Very little air flow. A ceiling fan or a larger electric fan would have been nice. Wallpaper in bath is beginning to peel (probalby from the humidity),and the electric baseboard heater looks like it needs replacing. With the humidity, the towels don't dry out, so you may want to request extra towels if staying longer than 2 days. Really good "breakfast in a basket", delivered to the compact refrigerator in your cabin each day. Microwave, coffemaker, toaster complete the cabin. Lovely deck outside the cabins.
The main lodge has a beautiful fireplace, large seating areas, and a large dining table. Convenient covered porch for birdwatching, reading, or just relaxing.
Very convenient to the beaches (recommend Rialto, north of La Push) and the Hoh Rain Forest.

Room Tip: Ask about size of showers and shower/tub combos if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forks hotels
23.4 mi away
Kalaloch Lodge
Kalaloch Lodge
#1 of 5 in Forks
1,437 reviews
7.3 mi away
Forks Motel
Forks Motel
#3 of 5 in Forks
436 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Pacific Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast
7.2 mi away
The Dew Drop Inn Motel
7.7 mi away
Huckleberry Lodge Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manitou Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manitou Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Manitou Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 813 Kilmer Rd, Forks, WA 98331-9511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Forks
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Manitou Hotel Forks
Manitou Lodge b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing