We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Setting, not typical B&B” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manitou Lodge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forks
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manitou Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Forks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pretty Setting, not typical B&B”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you are looking for the normal bed & breakfast experience, where warm hosts greet you, and you sit around a large breakfast table, getting to know worldwide friends, this is not the place for you. There are no freshly-made, steaming hot breakfasts. Your 'breakfast' is put in your cabin room's refrigerator the night before; you heat it up in a microwave. We found the breakfast unimpressive...some cereal, small egg dish, soggy muffins, regular bread.

The lodge is very nice, with quite a few things to do inside. We did not find many others around inside. There is tea and coffee available to you there. It would be great to read a book, play some board games, or listen to music in there during winter. During summer, most people are off to the close beaches.

The linens and furnishings were very nice, and the landscaping was beautiful. This is secluded and quiet. You don't see the owners, as keys and a note are left for you, directing you to your room. If you want privacy, this is a good place. We found it more like a motel than a B&B.

We found it pricey and will probably try the real B&B in downtown Forks next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaTravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    150
    33
    17
    18
See reviews for
115
254
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our family stayed at The Manitou Lodge in June as part of our journey from Seattle to Mt. Saint Helens. Once we pulled up in the driveway I knew I had picked the right place to stay. Our kids jumped out of the car and started to explore both the lodge and surrounding area. Even though you are right off the highway, you feel that you are in the middle of nowhere. Lush green flowers and trees everywhere. Lynn was a wonderful hostess and was able to answer any concerns and questions we had. The Cedar Suite was perfect for a family of four with two separate rooms and private full bathroom. Lack of a television was perfect because we were able to play chess and other games in the main lodge by the fireplace. Breakfast baskets were plentiful to eat prior to heading out to nearby Forks and Second Beach. Would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting the Forks or Olympic National Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savannahmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My girlfriends and I returned to Manitou again this June. It was just a great experience once again. The room was spotless and ready when we walked in and I'm always so pleased to stay here. I love sitting on the front porch in the morning enjoying the sounds of the birds and the mist falling. the coffee/tea bar is an added bonus to the nice breakfast basket that comes with the room. My only complaint is MY fault... I wish I could have spent more time there!! :)
Be sure to head over to Rialto Beach during your stay, too.
Great place, can not wait to return in 2014!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzib1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My sister and I stayed in one of the cabins. The accommodations were perfect for what we were looking for. We had been thinking about camping but because of timing, we decided to take the easy road and get a roof over our head for the night. I was allowed to have my dog in the cabin and she could run free around the grounds with minimal supervision.

The breakfast provided was an unexpected surprise and more than completely adequate. Overall, I would say it was a little pricey (for what we were looking for) but the setting was beautiful and quaint. Totally worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu_n_Lolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Manitou Lodge is by far the best place we have stayed on the Olympic Peninsula. My husband and I stayed there last year and returned again this year. The accommodations are in a beautiful setting in the woods, and the owners and staff are absolutely wonderful! We stayed at one of the tent sites for our first visit, and thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor experience without the hassle of taking all our own equipment, pitching the tent, etc. There was a fire pit and picnic table outside the tent, all ready for our evening campfire, and comfy air mattresses and sleeping bags were waiting for us to crash in after our long day of hiking.

Since both tent sites were booked when we made reservations this year, we opted for the Outback cabin, which was also an excellent choice. We were very pleasantly surprised to find the fridge was stocked with a variety of breakfast stuff for the next morning - quiche (and a microwave to heat it up in), cereal, bread for toast, OJ, milk, butter, jam, coffee/coffee maker...very thoughtful!

One of the things we enjoyed most is the quietness! Both times we stayed here we were never woken up by other guests, cars, barking dogs, or any of those noises that you get at hotels, like slamming doors and hallway ice makers.

We will definitely return here. It is a fabulous place in a perfect location, and the owners will treat you like family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Manitou Lodge was so cozy and homey with a big lodge full of games, guidebooks, coffee, and cocoa and swinging chairs out on the patio. The property has a lot of outdoor picnic tables to enjoy the peace and nature in good weather. We stayed at the Outback, one of the small cabins, which was very cozy and thoughtfully equipped with everything you need - bathroom was a few steps away in the lodge. No showers available at the lodge for guests staying in the Outback (not sure about other rooms) - there are paid showers at a nearby resort which we didn't try. The breakfast basket is great too - quiche, muffins, toast, granola, milk, OJ, coffee. Tucked away in a very peaceful and private nook of the woods close to the coastal beaches at La Push (Rialto, First, Second) and close to Forks if you need to grab anything at the grocery store. Would come back again! Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katyionis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband & I were really looking forward to staying here as it looked so wonderful on the web but unfortunately it didn't live up to expectations.

We arrived early but weren't able to check in & there was no-one around to ask or a bell to ring, just a sign on the door giving the opening hours. So we had to go away & come back some hours later. When we arrived back we had to use the phone on the desk to call someone to check us in & wait for them to turn up (reasonably quickly) from wherever they were.
We had already reserved & paid for the Lady Gudalupe room so were shown up 2 flights of stairs directly above the main lounge. We were initally shown to the wrong room, then the mistake was realised & we were shown to the Lady Gudalupe room which was smaller & more sparsely decorated.
We enquired about dinner & were told there were really only 2 choices - the local cafe (which we'd experienced earlier & weren't very impressed with) or drive back along the winding road 20 mins back to Forks. In the end we made do with fruit & toast. Coffee/tea/apple cider was available in the lounge with creamers in little pods. When I asked about fresh milk, they advised the pods were the only type of milk available.
The breakfast hamper was sparse to say the least with 2 pre-made sandwiches, 2 yoghurts in ceramic bowls with lids that looked like they had been there for days (who eats unsealed yoghurts while travelling?), orange juice in a caraf (enough for 1/2 glass each) & a slice of bread each (to toast) with some condiments.
In the bathroom the shower had soap residue in it, the toilet roll holder was falling off the wall & the shower leaked so the floor was covered in water afterwards.
After the initial check in we didn't see any staff at all so didn't have any opportunity to address these issues. We got the impression that since we'd already paid, they really didn't need to see us again.
The only redeeming feature is the lodge's proximity to La Push & Rialto beaches. Both beaches are just stunning.

I would suggest if you're looking for accommodation in this area, don't bother with Manitou Lodge. Instead I would highly recommend The Miller Tree Inn in Forks which costs considerably less, the rooms are much much nicer & the Innkeepers (Bill & Susan) are absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Su B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forks hotels
23.4 mi away
Kalaloch Lodge
Kalaloch Lodge
#1 of 5 in Forks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
7.3 mi away
Forks Motel
Forks Motel
#5 of 5 in Forks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Pacific Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Misty Valley Inn B&B
Misty Valley Inn B&B
#1 of 11 in Forks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
7.7 mi away
Huckleberry Lodge Cabins
7.2 mi away
The Dew Drop Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manitou Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manitou Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Manitou Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 813 Kilmer Rd, Forks, WA 98331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Forks
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Manitou Lodge b&b
Manitou Hotel Forks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing