We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unstable owner!”
Review of Hard Rain Cafe

Hard Rain Cafe
Ranked #10 of 21 Restaurants in Forks
Restaurant details
CANADA
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unstable owner!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I would encourage everyone to speed past this place or go back to Peak 6 for anything. The "groceries" are basically junk food. When I joked about how dry the firewood was (it is called the Hard Rain Cafe and is in a rain forest afterall) the owner went ballistic on me. He was so over-the-top mad I initially thought he was joking but when I realized he was serious (and unstable) I got the heck out of there. He quoted some percentages about how dry his wood was versus the standard but I'd like to give him one: 100% of the customers you bully and tell to "go back to Seattle" won't come back and will tell others to avoid your store.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    32
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quaint store/restaurant on the road to Hoh trailheads”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Thus was a quirky place we stopped by for dinner on our way out of the Hoh rainforest after a day hike.

Mostly the offerings are burgers and sandwiches. The food was standard. The fries were surprisingly good. However, the wait for service was LONG. Friendly once there, though.

There is limited indoor seating--mostly outdoors and the weather is often chilly in this area. Keep those jackets and sweaters handy!

The shop has a lot of personality and the offerings are more varied than the usual souvenir shop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olga H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Off beat, fun stop”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

On the plus side: cool and funky place with interesting stuff to check out, surprisingly hip (tats & piercings) young staff for such a boondock location--but don't let that spoil your conceptual continuity, these are smart, very pleasant to talk with youngsters.

On the negative: very tiny, semi-poorly organized kitchen, service counter area and minimal staffing levels are not that efficient in handling large groups quickly.

Recommendation if you are travelling south on 101 to Ruby Beach, stop in on the way OUT of the Hoh and grab a snack here. Get coffee and/or some cold drinks to bring with you as well--There is nothing else is available until past the beach.

Recommendation if you are travelling north on 101; If the parking lot is sparcely populated here, go ahead and give it a try. If crowded, go on to Forks and give the Forks Coffee Shop a try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wenatchee, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of a kind, a must stop if you are hungry”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Whenever we are in Forks, we make a trip up the Hoh Rain Forest road and eat lunch or an early dinner at the Hard Rain Cafe. The Big Foot burger is the best if you are really hungry or the BLT if you are not. Great service with a smile.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank larry_rn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Disappointed by the understaffing”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Hard Rain Cafe is great in theory. It provides easy access to cooked food as one heads into or out of Hoh Rainforest (the hiking/camping areas, that is). Drinks, essentials and souvenirs are also available. Given all it has to offer, it is understandably busy. We chose not to order food because we had a picnic in the forest, but we were eager to pick up some drinks. After gathering our things, we got in the long line. About 10 minutes into the wait, I realized that only one person was staffing the cafe. She was the cook, server, and cashier. People, tired of waiting, put purchases back and left. Others, in irritated tones, asked when they would receive their coffees, and still others asked when they would be cashed out. As cute and convenient as this place is, that means little if the management won't properly staff the place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lanakoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hard Rain Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing