We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timber!!!!”

Forks Timber Museum
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in Forks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Early pioneer history museum with a look into the past, preserved for the future - displayed through an inviting collection of rooms depicting the life and times of early settlers on the West End of the Olympic Peninsula - featuring farming, homesteads, early businesses in Forks, logging, native influence and shipwrecks, Fire equipment and a Lookout Tower - with many photographic displays and narrative.
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

This a small museum but for $3 it's a nice little stop. The best part is the fire watch stand which you can check out by going upstairs and then outside. If you have an hour to spare then stop in a read up on some timber history. Oh and the canoe hanging from the ceiling is cool as well!

1  Thank mom2my4boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda O, Manager at Forks Timber Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

Thank you! We hope you get a chance to return and see what we have added.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 86 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

I am a fan of Twilight and since we were going to Olympic National Park we decided to stay in Forks. We stopped at the Visitor's Center and then decided to duck in here as well. It was quite an interesting place and nice for a 30 minute diversion before getting back on the road!

Thank MrsVyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda O, Manager at Forks Timber Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

Thank you! We hope you get a chance to return and see what we have added.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We spent some time at the timber museum after our timber tour and lunch. Most of the museum gives you some very informative history of Forks or life in the timber industry. Everything is well laid out and very interesting to go through. The highlights of this museum are the lookout tower outside that you can walk around and you get to peek inside what the loggers living quarters would look like back in the day. There is a nice nature trail out back and a loggers memorial outside near the visitors center which is next door. There is access to more trails out back too, but most of them are just a walk through the woods. Nice way to spend some time to see what makes the town of Forks go other than Twilight.

Thank Rainier72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda O, Manager at Forks Timber Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

Thank you! We hope you get a chance to return and see what we have added.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Cruising down the road, we spotted this museum and stopped. What a delightful treasure! From the chainsaw collection, featuring some of the real old-timey chainsaws, to logging tools, logger cabin set-up, and a fire look-out tower set up exactly as they were used, this place was so much fun! It's run by volunteers, who also sell some items in their boutique. There's a little something for everyone. Out back, there is a nature trail with plant identification. It was a nice and worthwhile stop. Support these small museums! There is a voluntary contribution for entrance, so please be generous.

1  Thank UpNOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda O, Manager at Forks Timber Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

Thank you for your kind words! We hope you get a chance to return soon and see what is new.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

A nice, quick stop. There's not a whole lot here, but interesting enough to stop in and see what there is.

Thank Jena756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda O, Manager at Forks Timber Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

We hope you get a chance to come back soon and see what we have added - now open every day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forks Timber Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing