We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Forks
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stayed for one night April 17th. We didnt get there until 9 and was disappointed the restaurant was closedband there was nithung around for miles. The lady at the desk asked the kitchen to make sandwiches for us which was above and beyond. The cabin was clean and the heater worked great and we made a fire. Breakfast was amazing. A few steps away from the ocean and a great location in the park. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unl1683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hi Unl1683,
Thank you for the great review and for choosing to come stay with us at Kalaloch Lodge. Your comments on the kitchen will be passed along, thank you for mentioning them. The staff will be thrilled to hear you remembered their efforts. We aim to offer great service in a unique and beautiful location, your comments help us feel like we are reaching that goal. Please come back and stay with us very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,328 - 1,334 of 1,501 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

This review is for the restaurant.

Staying at Lake Quinault Lodge and wanting a change of pace is what led us to drive out here for a more interesting menu and the stunning views of the Pacific! Both delivered...a stunning sunset and beach walk with our girls and then a delicious dinner in the cozy restaurant. The food was locally sourced, organic and well prepared and everybody at our table were happy, full and satisfied at the end of the meal. Service was a bit slow but it was a busy Saturday night and didn't detract in any way from our enjoyment!

Lake Quinaults restaurant should take a page from Kalaloch's book and up their game in the restaurant department...at a mere 35 minute drive from Quinault, this is definitely a must do for the world class scenery and the food!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DanielleinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Greetings DanielleinSeattle,
Thank you for coming out and enjoying a meal with us at the Creekside Restaurant. We are very glad to hear that you found our location and the view top notch. We agree with you! Thank you for the compliments, they mean a lot to all of us here at the Kalaloch Lodge. We pride ourselves on serving quality local food in a beautiful location, your comments will be passed on for our staff's enjoyment. Please come back anytime and visit us at Kalaloch Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

First, the disclaimer. Like all Lodges in national parks, it is expensive. But worth it. We stayed in one of the pet-friendly cabins. Very comfy/cozy. Although there is an electric heater, the wood stove (with wood provided) can easily drive you outside if you are not careful. The kitchen has a stove-top, microwave, and fridge, but no oven. The beds were comfortable. We were in one of the interior cabins but the view was still great. They offer a number of specials, at reduced costs, so check these out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hi Hal72,
Thank for coming to stay with us at Kalaloch Lodge and for your great review. Yes, we are very water conscious here and we thank you for noting that. We are glad you found the cabins to be comfortable and that they all offer a great view for our guests. Thank you for mentioning the wood stove heat level, they heat the cabins very thoroughly even on the coldest of days. We hope you make it back to Olympic National Park and the Kalaloch Lodge very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We did not sleep at the lodge. We had lunch and enjoyed the great location.
The spot where the lodge and restaurant are situated are more than enough to justify the visit.
I personally consider it is the best ocean view on the all peninsula.
The lunch was a bit expensive. But again, it is so far away of all villages, with such a view: the price tag is justified.
Food was also really good, friendly old lady at service was more than okay with us.
Great patio in the sun. Rally a nice place.
The cabins looked very simple. But again, I regret our luggage were at Port angels, otherwise we would have stayed for the night with no hesitation.
The day was just beautiful, with a great sunshine and very nice temperature... it influenced my judgment a lot, for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvesonadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hello Yvesonadvisor,
Thank you for the swell review and for taking the time to share your thoughts on the Creekside Restaurant. We agree that the ocean view is second to none here at Kalaloch Lodge, glad you got to enjoy it on a pretty day. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the food quality and service while joining us. We work hard to offer quality meals in a great remote location. Please come stay with us anytime, we would love to have you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We drove up for lunch. The food was excellent as was the service. Our waitress, Jade was fantastic. The scenery was spectacular. We highly recommend the Kalaloch Lodge for a nice romantic meal or for a great weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Greetings Richard,
Thank you for the excellent review. We are glad you found your way to us for a meal at the Creekside Restaurant. And thank you for the recommendation, it means a lot to us here at Kalaloch Lodge. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I have been going here for decades.I made a reservation on Tuesday for the upcoming weekend. I thought I was calling the lodge, but I got some other reservation service, but that was fine. I never was told the cacellation policy or got an email. But, I got sick on Wednesday and stayed home from work the next two days due to feeling awful and being contagious. So, on Friday I tried to cancel within 24 hours of my arrival time because I don't want to make people there sick or leave germs in the cabin.I just have not managed to get better.I could not cancel. I am angry about the work I must do to pack, get groceries, the hours of driving and I am very weak and feel awful.I understand there's not a way to watch videos and I am not up for a walk on the beach or in the forest. I don't want to breathe air from the fireplace during this trip. So, what am I paying for? I love this place and go there to enjoy the remoteness and I walk on the beach, see the eagles, enjoy the restaurant, and sometimes hop over to Forks or the Hoh. They should be more receptive to cancellations.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Eloise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hello Eloise,
Thanks for your review and for choosing to stay with us at the Kalaloch Lodge. We are sorry to hear that you had to cancel your trip, our policies change between booking engines but we will see what kind of modifications are possible to better serve guests who fall on bad health. We would have loved to had you come enjoy the beaches and scenery, but being sick is no fun and exploring when you need to rest is hard to do.
Thank you again for the review and we hope you feel better very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

After reading some unflattering reviews I was worried-but ended up pleasantly surprised. We had a clean and spacious cabin, and really no complaints. We weren't first row, but had a view and was in steps from the beach. We didn't eat at the lodge, was $$ and didn't appeal to us. The beach was cool to explore and we were given a tide table so we explored early one day to see starfish in the tide pools at beach 4. Now here is the important information you MUST know. When I called I asked how far Aberdeen was because we were buying groceries, the gal I spoke to said about a half hour. It was closer to 1.5 hours. Our groceries were fine, but don't buy ice cream or take a cooler if going in hot months. The lodge has a little store-which had a better craft beer selection than the big grocer in Aberdeen-and prices weren't gouged. In fact the prices at the little store were very fair for being in the middle of nowhere. They had things like drinks, snacks frozen pizza, and an espresso machine. BUT call ahead and ask what amenities your cabin has. Once again, the gal at the front told us we had an oven. When we got there we did not. Not the end of the world just a tad inaccurate. We actually heated up food on the top of the wood stove, kind of fun too.
The other important thing is that when they say the Hoh rainforest is 20 miles away, that is the entrance to it! It is another 16 or so miles-so beware it's a lot longer of a drive than you were expecting. But it's cool.

Bring food. Check out low tide at beach 4. Good beers at little store. Has real coffee. Be cautious when told time and distances:) oh and it's rainy!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Granolamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hi Granolamama,
Thanks for the great review. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts for the betterment of our future guests. We are thrilled that you found the cabins to be clean and spacious. We are sorry to hear that you were misquoted on the travel time to Aberdeen, we will make note of that estimation. Thank you for visiting the mercantile and mentioning that the prices are reasonable, we work hard to offer a good selection at fair prices. We will make sure to update the amenities at each cabin to avoid the issue of trying to cook with no oven. Thank you for mentioning it.
We hope you come stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forks hotels
23.7 mi away
Forks Motel
Forks Motel
#3 of 5 in Forks
461 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Pacific Inn Motel
22.9 mi away
Quillayute River Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast
23.4 mi away
The Dew Drop Inn Motel
26.7 mi away
Misty Valley Inn B&B
Misty Valley Inn B&B
#1 of 11 in Forks
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park

Address: 157151 Highway 101, Forks, WA 98331-9354
Location: United States > Washington > Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Forks
Price Range: $128 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalaloch Lodge is an Olympic National Park hotel property located a few sandy steps from the pristine Pacific coast. Tucked between lowland forest, temperate rainforest and marine sanctuary, Kalaloch offers accommodations with spectacular views, comfortable amenities and unrivaled outdoor recreation.Kalaloch is your Olympic Peninsula escape, whether the focus is romance, recreation or rejuvenation. The Main Lodge building is Kalaloch’s focal point, featuring 10 rooms and the Creekside Restaurant. Set just off the Main Lodge are the rustic yet comfortable Bluff and Kalaloch cabins, many with panoramic Pacific Ocean views. Several of Kalaloch’s cabins offer kitchenettes and cozy Franklin fireplaces, and are pet-friendly.Kalaloch’s two-story Seacrest Building is yet another championed Olympic Peninsula lodging option, set just a short walk from the cabins and main lodge. And the Kalaloch Group Campground offers an under-the-stars setting within sight and sound of the thundering Pacific Ocean.Part of the Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary, Kalaloch hosts a field guide’s-worth of wildlife including puffins, sea otters and the largest convocation of bald eagles in the continental U.S. Walking, biking, hiking, beachcombing, clamming and whale watching are popular local pastimes. Olympic’s storied Ruby Beach, with legendary mountain, glacier and rain forest views, is just a few miles away. Delaware North Companies Parks & Resorts at Kalaloch, Inc. is a Concessioner authorized by the National Park Service and the Department of the Interior to serve the public within Olympic National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalaloch Hotel Forks
Kalaloch Lodge Forks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing