We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Kalaloch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kalaloch Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Forks
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 4, 2014

After reading some unflattering reviews I was worried-but ended up pleasantly surprised. We had a clean and spacious cabin, and really no complaints. We weren't first row, but had a view and was in steps from the beach. We didn't eat at the lodge, was $$ and didn't appeal to us. The beach was cool to explore and we were given a tide table so we explored early one day to see starfish in the tide pools at beach 4. Now here is the important information you MUST know. When I called I asked how far Aberdeen was because we were buying groceries, the gal I spoke to said about a half hour. It was closer to 1.5 hours. Our groceries were fine, but don't buy ice cream or take a cooler if going in hot months. The lodge has a little store-which had a better craft beer selection than the big grocer in Aberdeen-and prices weren't gouged. In fact the prices at the little store were very fair for being in the middle of nowhere. They had things like drinks, snacks frozen pizza, and an espresso machine. BUT call ahead and ask what amenities your cabin has. Once again, the gal at the front told us we had an oven. When we got there we did not. Not the end of the world just a tad inaccurate. We actually heated up food on the top of the wood stove, kind of fun too.
The other important thing is that when they say the Hoh rainforest is 20 miles away, that is the entrance to it! It is another 16 or so miles-so beware it's a lot longer of a drive than you were expecting. But it's cool.

Bring food. Check out low tide at beach 4. Good beers at little store. Has real coffee. Be cautious when told time and distances:) oh and it's rainy!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Granolamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hi Granolamama,
Thanks for the great review. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts for the betterment of our future guests. We are thrilled that you found the cabins to be clean and spacious. We are sorry to hear that you were misquoted on the travel time to Aberdeen, we will make note of that estimation. Thank you for visiting the mercantile and mentioning that the prices are reasonable, we work hard to offer a good selection at fair prices. We will make sure to update the amenities at each cabin to avoid the issue of trying to cook with no oven. Thank you for mentioning it.
We hope you come stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,313 - 1,319 of 1,480 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

You can't think of anywhere more remote - and yet conveniently located by HW101 - than this place.(And only 2.5 hours away from Seattle)
I did not choose a cabin, but a room with a view instead. Just above the mouth of the river, facing the ocean. Early morning light on a sunny day was just amazing.
Rooms are decent, and the food as well; good point for the wine. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Greetings Pierre,
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed staying at the Kalaloch Lodge and were able to dine with us at the Creekside Restaurant. Your thoughts and experiences are appreciated, thanks for taking the time to share them with us. Please come stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My husband and I found this lodge on our meandering weekend through the park. We stopped here to take photos at low tide on their beach and when I fell in and got soaking wet, it became a necessity to stay there. Thankfully they had a room and we were checked in quite quickly. We were told the kitchen was closing in a few minutes and there was nowhere else within an hour or so to get food. She was nice enough to place an order for us to pick up when I had dried off and warmed up.

Our room was not a single cabin but a bottom unit in the building at the end. The room was large in size but right away I noticed the floors had brown leaves and tree needles on it. The shower had glitter (???) all over the inside so I was hesitant to put the bar of soap down on the ledge. The carpets looked quite dirty and there was dust bunnies. That night when we crawled in bed I found long and short black hairs on the white sheets.

Dinner was yummy and it was a nice added amenity that there was free firewood in the unit to make a nice fire with. The furniture layout is odd. In a room with no TV but beautiful fireplace, the futon faced the microwave....??? We rearranged the furniture a bit so we could cuddle and read in front of the fire, not on the wall next to it. Our little porch out front of the sliding doors has a partial view of the ocean and two nice Adirondack chairs for nicer weather. We didn't use them because we got there after dark and it was pouring.

The room itself was quite noisy. The people above us were horrendously loud walkers but with no phone in the room to call the front desk, we weren't about to walk up to the lodge in the pouring rain to complain. The waves were crashing, which was a nice noise, but hard to fall asleep to. Bring ear plugs, I forgot mine. My husband's snoring drove me out onto the futon during the night and the heater was knocking and clicking so loudly I finally had to turn the heat off completely around 3 a.m. Then it got COLD!! Between the cold and the noise I didn't sleep a wink.

We left early to explore, about 7 a.m. to see low tide at Ruby Beach. All in all, we were in the room and at the lodge less than 12 hours.

There is NO television, phone, wifi or communal computer to check emails. The friendly front desk lady let me check my emails on her computer quickly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HatRez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hello HatRez,
Thank you for your detailed review and for choosing to stay with us at The Kalaloch Lodge. We aim to offer all guests a restful and relaxing stay, in a beautiful location. We are truly sorry that we did not achieve that. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your thoughts will be used to help improve The Kalaloch Lodge. We truly hope to see you again sometime in Olympic National Park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The amazing thing about this place is that I have been here over and over for most of my life (50+ now) and I never get tired of it. It is true that it is not a fancy 5 star resort but it is comfortable and the staff are always friendly. I love the beach, you can walk for miles on it and not see another person. I like the winter and early spring. Threes or four days here is an incredibly enjoyable and relaxing experience off the beaten path and away from the grind. I always stay in a beach front cabin, there is no other way to go.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Colo_travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hello Colo_travler,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Kalaloch Lodge, and for taking the time to write a wonderful review. Your connection and experiences while here are inspiring! Thank you so much for sharing them with us. We truly hope that you keep coming back for your next 50 years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Well stocked and clean cute cabin with a view! Centrally located in the Olympic National Park. Great for beach visits and a short drive to the rainforest. We enjoyed the well stocked store for snacks and cold drinks. Bring food because the closest grocery store is a 30 minute drive. Will be back to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelusaluv13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thanks for your review Missyinspokane we really appreciate it. The views from the Cabin’s are exceptional, we concur. We are thrilled that you were able to locate the supplies you needed at the Kalaloch Mercantile before heading out on your Olympic National Park adventures. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was not the cleanest place we have ever stayed, but we were in (I believe) cabin 7, with a great view of the Pacific ocean. This is also one of the places where the hike down to the beach is the least steep. We had covered parking next to the cabin, which was a real plus. It rains a lot in the Pacific Northwest, and we could load and unload the car without getting wet! We had a small kitchenette, which I would never attempt to cook in, but there were grills outside, and we were beach front, which I would recommend if you stay here.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front cabin with covered parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hummernator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Hello Hummernator,
Thank you for the 4 star review! We truly appreciate your feedback and your choice to stay with us at the Kalaloch Lodge. We apologize for the less than perfect condition you found your cabin to be in, we have passed your comments along to our housekeeping team. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the view and scenery provided by the Cabins location. And, that you made the most of your cabin’s carport ☺ when it was wet out. We hope you come see us again soon at the Kalaloch Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

After driving around Lake Crescent and Olympic National Forest we were looking for a "nice" place to stay for the night. Outside of lodge looked great; however, the lodge itself was a bit dated and very slow to accommodate guests. After waiting for some time we didn't get attended to so we took some pictures of the surroundings and got back in the car and continued our exploration of the area. Cabin without perks or service so we continued our journey on 101

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Hi Amanda,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on the Kalaloch Lodge and the surrounding area. We are very sorry to hear that you continued on before we got a chance to show you the beauty and history of the Lodge and our Cabins. Your experience at check in and subsequent feedback will greatly help us improve our service level for all future guests. We would love to see you again at the Kalaloch Lodge and in Olympic National Park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forks hotels
23.6 mi away
Forks Motel
Forks Motel
#3 of 5 in Forks
455 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Pacific Inn Motel
23.3 mi away
The Dew Drop Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast
26.7 mi away
Misty Valley Inn B&B
Misty Valley Inn B&B
#1 of 11 in Forks
346 reviews
24.8 mi away
Huckleberry Lodge Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalaloch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaloch Lodge

Address: 157151 Highway 101, Forks, WA 98331-9354
Location: United States > Washington > Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Forks
Price Range: $132 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalaloch Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalaloch Lodge is an Olympic National Park hotel property located a few sandy steps from the pristine Pacific coast. Tucked between lowland forest, temperate rainforest and marine sanctuary, Kalaloch offers accommodations with spectacular views, comfortable amenities and unrivaled outdoor recreation.Kalaloch is your Olympic Peninsula escape, whether the focus is romance, recreation or rejuvenation. The Main Lodge building is Kalaloch’s focal point, featuring 10 rooms and the Creekside Restaurant. Set just off the Main Lodge are the rustic yet comfortable Bluff and Kalaloch cabins, many with panoramic Pacific Ocean views. Several of Kalaloch’s cabins offer kitchenettes and cozy Franklin fireplaces, and are pet-friendly.Kalaloch’s two-story Seacrest Building is yet another championed Olympic Peninsula lodging option, set just a short walk from the cabins and main lodge. And the Kalaloch Group Campground offers an under-the-stars setting within sight and sound of the thundering Pacific Ocean.Part of the Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary, Kalaloch hosts a field guide’s-worth of wildlife including puffins, sea otters and the largest convocation of bald eagles in the continental U.S. Walking, biking, hiking, beachcombing, clamming and whale watching are popular local pastimes. Olympic’s storied Ruby Beach, with legendary mountain, glacier and rain forest views, is just a few miles away. Delaware North Companies Parks & Resorts at Kalaloch, Inc. is a Concessioner authorized by the National Park Service and the Department of the Interior to serve the public within Olympic National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kalaloch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalaloch Hotel Forks
Kalaloch Lodge Forks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing