We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious Option in a Beautiful Setting”
Review of Kalaloch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kalaloch Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Forks
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Becker's Suite for two nights to celebrate his birthday. Check in was organized and friendly, the view of beach and ocean is tremendous. We stayed in the Becker's Suite which i would recommend. It had the expansive ocean view and was just upstairs in the lodge, on the corner towards the cabins, views to the south and west. The restaurant is much better than the food at Quinault Lodge; we were very pleased. The chef makes the effort to source local and fresh, wines are predominantly from WA, even local craft spirits were featured. Many of the items on the menu can be prepared Gluten Free, including pastas, sandwiches, and burgers, which is very progressive compared to the other dining options in the region. Service from housekeeping, front desk, bar, and dining room was consistently authentically warm, friendly and professional. If the sleeping/living room area of the suite hadn't been so very dated I'd have given this review five stars. Note: while the sleeping/living area is in great need of new carpet and furnishings the bathroom was new and immaculate and the bed was new and very comfortable. LCD TV was a nice option late in the evening when the view goes away. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Upstairs either of the two suites in the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drea389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and opinions. It is great to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy some of the amazing things Kalaloch has to offer. We appreciate your kind reviews of our team, and we can’t wait to see you again on your next trip to Kalaloch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,342 - 1,348 of 1,480 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had an enjoyable return stay at the Kalaloch Lodge. We stayed for two nights five years ago, but due to our trip schedule, we limited our stay this time to one night. Yes, other reviews have assessed this lodge fairly. We knew by returning this time, it was a way station between Lake Quinault and Lake Crescent, WA. However, we thought the new management there had done a good job improving the meals and maintaining a friendly atmosphere. We stayed at the motel-like "Seacrest" unit which was perfect for a one night stay. The room was clean and functional. Of course, there's no TV and Internet. That's a good thing to enjoy the rustic nature and beauty of the Washington coast. The evening meal was tasty. We ordered fish and chips because that is what we had five years ago. The meal was much better this time. Overall, one must consider the remoteness of this lodge and expect higher prices for accommodations which might be cheaper elsewhere. The proximity to the beach and overall setting are the reasons we returned. The effort to improve our stay from five years ago is apparent. I wish the Kalaloch staff well as they endeavor to maintain this nice lodge in the middle of nowhere.

Room Tip: Try to reserve the cabins if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Budrock9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We love to hear that guests are return visitors, and even more that they embraced the rustic atmosphere of the lodge. Thank you for your kind remarks and well wishes to the Kalaloch team, we hope to see you for another memorable visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Are you expecting the Four Seasons? If so, look elsewhere. But, if you've read the reviews, you know what to expect. We stayed in bluff cabin. Was it spotless? No. Was the bathroom functional? Yes, for the most part. Are the views fantastic? Absolutely. Is it isolated and quiet? Yes. Is the hotel staff helpful and friendly? Yes. They brought outdoor chairs for us and extra towels every day. Was it worth it? No doubt.

The restaurant is a different story. I don't know if its run by a different company or what, but as competent as the hotel staff was, the restaurant staff was just the opposite. Just get carry out from there. It's not worth the wait. The food is fine, but you could wait ignored at a table for an hour. The service at the restaurant blows.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChiefsTigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are extremely sorry if you had to deal with any issues involving our restaurant. We strive for guest satisfaction with every visit, and we will be sure to discuss your comments and recommendations. We’re glad you enjoyed your bluff cabin, and we hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Booked one night here but wish it was longer. Stayed in the main lodge on the second floor overlooking the outside patio. Room was very spacious. We had to take our luggage up a flight of stairs, no elevator. The view from our window was absolutely gorgeous! The beach and a river leading to the beach right in front of us! Gorgeous! The man at the reception desk was incredibly friendly and helpful and the wait staff very efficient. All in all we loved this place and would go back. They had cabins for rent also.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DogDusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are go glad you got to experience some of Kalaloch’s gorgeous views, we love our location and we love when our guests do too. Can’t wait to see you again in the future, and hopefully for a longer stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had some concerns after reading some of the reviews that were published after we had made our reservations. So we were pleasantly surprised by our cabin. Yes, it was rustic, but it is a cabin on the edge of the Pacific Ocean in the middle of nowhere. Very clean, nicely furnished, and no mice that we could see. We did keep our food in the microwave to be on the safe side. Enjoyed playing cards by the Franklin stove after lovely dinners at the restaurant. It was nice to be "off the grid" with no TV, Internet, phone for a few days. We had a full rainbow over the ocean our first morning there which was quite a treat. The staff was very helpful in planning where to go and what to see. Also, we were provided a map of the grounds with our cabin clearly marked so no trouble finding our way around. All in all we would highly recommend Kalaloch Lodge.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your honest review. One of our main goals is to have guests step away from technology in order to get the full Kalaloch experience. We are glad we could be accommodating, and we appreciate your recommendation! Thanks again, and come visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We recently stayed in a bluff cabin at the Kalaloch lodge. When I booked our room I was a little hesitant because this lodge received mixed reviews. I'm glad we stayed here. It was the best place we stayed during our two week Pacific Northwest vacation. It seems that the Kalaloch Lodge was recently taken over by a new concessionaire, and they are doing a great job.

Our cabin sat right on a bluff over looking the Pacific Ocean. Hundreds of shore birds right outside our window! The cabin was spotless, and comfortable. The cabin was furnished with a bed, nightstands, couch, coffee table, and best of all there was a wood burning stove - with a bundle of wood included. They even have walking sticks and a flashlight for you in the cabin. This is not what I consider a rustic cabin, with comforts like heat, a refrigerator and a coffee maker.

The restaurant was good. It was a little pricey, as most national park area sit down restaurants, but the food tasty. There was also a mercantile with a gas pump at the location. This was a very convenient place to get snacks and coffee.

I recommend this place without hesitation. I would definitely stay here again. .

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MilesMereV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing your suggestions and opinions. The views at Kalaloch are unbeatable, whether you are in our cabins or our restaurant. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we greatly appreciate your recommendation. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Staying at Kalaloch Lodge is an adventure in and of itself. The most memorable parts are, of course, the views of the Pacific and the sunsets and the walks along the spectacular beach. It is impossible to say enough about those. The only factor that could have made the beach setting better would be a clear pathway to the beach itself. As it is, there are so many logs impeding access to the beach that they are a clear safety hazard.

Now, about the cabins and the restaurant at the lodge itself. The cabins give the Lodge an adult summer camp sort of feel. Our cabin was delightful. There were only two of us, but I had booked a two bedroom cabin because it was all that was left and I was not going to miss out on the Kalaloch Lodge experience. The cabin was small and the bathroom perhaps tiny compared with those expected in the modern day, but they worked for us. It was very clean and the bed was wonderful and warm despite the chill in the air at night. We had a kitchenette which we didn't use, but it appeared to have all the essentials for cooking.

The restaurant was quite good and the many windows afforded an excellent view of the beach and ocean.

The lodge was very close to the Olympic National Park's Hoh Rain Forest and that is definitely a good thing. Do not miss the rain forest.

Room Tip: If one is available, book a cabin on the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler90185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear that you found your accommodations satisfactory; it is our priority to make sure every guest has the best experience. Come stay again for more amazing Kalaloch and Olympic National Park adventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forks hotels
23.6 mi away
Forks Motel
Forks Motel
#3 of 5 in Forks
455 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Pacific Inn Motel
23.3 mi away
The Dew Drop Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast
26.7 mi away
Misty Valley Inn B&B
Misty Valley Inn B&B
#1 of 11 in Forks
346 reviews
24.8 mi away
Huckleberry Lodge Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalaloch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaloch Lodge

Address: 157151 Highway 101, Forks, WA 98331-9354
Location: United States > Washington > Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Forks
Price Range: $132 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalaloch Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalaloch Lodge is an Olympic National Park hotel property located a few sandy steps from the pristine Pacific coast. Tucked between lowland forest, temperate rainforest and marine sanctuary, Kalaloch offers accommodations with spectacular views, comfortable amenities and unrivaled outdoor recreation.Kalaloch is your Olympic Peninsula escape, whether the focus is romance, recreation or rejuvenation. The Main Lodge building is Kalaloch’s focal point, featuring 10 rooms and the Creekside Restaurant. Set just off the Main Lodge are the rustic yet comfortable Bluff and Kalaloch cabins, many with panoramic Pacific Ocean views. Several of Kalaloch’s cabins offer kitchenettes and cozy Franklin fireplaces, and are pet-friendly.Kalaloch’s two-story Seacrest Building is yet another championed Olympic Peninsula lodging option, set just a short walk from the cabins and main lodge. And the Kalaloch Group Campground offers an under-the-stars setting within sight and sound of the thundering Pacific Ocean.Part of the Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary, Kalaloch hosts a field guide’s-worth of wildlife including puffins, sea otters and the largest convocation of bald eagles in the continental U.S. Walking, biking, hiking, beachcombing, clamming and whale watching are popular local pastimes. Olympic’s storied Ruby Beach, with legendary mountain, glacier and rain forest views, is just a few miles away. Delaware North Companies Parks & Resorts at Kalaloch, Inc. is a Concessioner authorized by the National Park Service and the Department of the Interior to serve the public within Olympic National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kalaloch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalaloch Hotel Forks
Kalaloch Lodge Forks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing