We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rare ocean front”
Review of Kalaloch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kalaloch Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Forks
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Rare ocean front”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

There aren't many places to rent on the ocean on the Olympic Peninsula, at least not the central/northern area. There's very little competition, but regardless, Kalaloch is a good choice. I can't speak for the Lodge since we rented a cabin. It gets bonus points for allowing dogs (in some cabins). The cabins are clean, comfortable, functional and cute inside. Each has a well-supplied kitchen and a little wood-burning Franklin stove. First bundle of wood is free, then it's a modest amount for more. So cozy. The restaurant is run by Aramark, it's not great, not bad. Very expensive. You can use your little kitchen, but you'll have to look far and wide to find groceries or many other food establishments in some of these more remote areas - may want to bring your food in with you rather than count on buying groceries around there. The lodge does have something like a convenience store on-site.
The beach was completely shrouded in fog when we were there last, my poor Texan brother-in-law says even though he could put his toe in it, he STILL hasn't seen the Pacific Ocean. But we did see a rare, endangered Fisher run across our path. Many beautiful fog-laced photos were still to be had - the landscape is quite dramatic and spectacular no matter what the weather.

Room Tip: Cabins allow dogs and are a short hop down the bluff to the beach. Even the ones with a partial view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Opinionated_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    384
    79
    31
    24
See reviews for
468
645
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

It's the only accomodation available in the Olympic National Park at the Pacific Coast. That's a blessing because it is a fantastic location for beach-combing and hikes through the rainforest. But they also make you pay an extra for it.
The staff is very friendly and the restaurant has a tasty selection for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: It's worth to check-out the view of the cabins. The ones closest to the beach are preferrable. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your love for our amazing location. It is great to hear you had the chance to visit our restaurant during your stay. We hope to see you again in the future for more fun and spectacular views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was the best place I stayed while on a recent tour of the Olympic Peninsula. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet, with a tremendous view of the ocean/beach. Walking on the beach was great, and having the creek right there, emptying into the ocean thru the surf was very unique; I've not seen anything else like that on the East coast.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a water view. I had a 2nd floor room with a decent view, but will try to boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and suggestions. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our lodge as much as we do. It is always lovely to hear when guests were satisfied with their stay. We hope you visit again soon to experience more of Kalaloch Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We are repeat customers and glad we are! Location, location, location! The lodge,staff,service,and restaurant are absolute First Class! There was some sort glitch on our third day and was not bothered by it at all and the manager was more than gracious to us to accommodate us more than I ever expected! Thank you again. The desk personnel helped our stay by sharing area knowledge that was extremely helpful. The scenic beaches,eagles, and marine life are picturesque! The waitress (a Native American) shared about tribe events that we thoroughly enjoyed. Mr. Manager you can expect to see us a third visit from Florida,Bob and Pamm! Thank you for all you do you are the best!

Room Tip: The cabins on the bluff are extremely comfortable. The ocean sounds plus the fireplace are tranquil!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearcatbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We love to hear that guests can’t get enough of our spectacular location. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority and it is lovely hearing that guest found our team helpful and gratifying. Thanks you, and we cannot wait to see you again on your next adventure to Kalaloch Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you want to splurge, this is the place to do it. It's not cheap, but overall the experience was well worth it. The views from our duplex bluff cabin out over the beaches and ocean were spectacular. The accommodations in the cabin were nice and clean but nothing spectacular. The food in the lodge restaurant was outstanding and ranks among the best we have experienced in a National Park. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Hiking among the driftwood on the beaches while breathing in the refreshing ocean air is definitely an experience not to be missed, as is watching the sun go down into the Pacific. Would love to have stayed a little longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It’s always nice to hear that guests enjoyed their time spent at Kalaloch Lodge. Our restaurant uses the freshest ingredients available to meet every guests dining need, and our team greatly appreciates your kind feedback. We hope you get the chance to visit us again for a longer stay. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Unfortunately, our stop here only included the Creekside Dining room. But we were very grateful for this brief taste of what this resort has top offer. The food was excellent and the service very prompt and courteous for our party of 8. I had the seafood pot pie and a bowl of their clam chowder, complete with the proper "oyster" crackers. Both were excellent. A very tranquil setting right on the ocean. Would have loved to spend more time here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talisker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Kalaloch Lodge. Although we would have loved for you to have the chance to stay at our Lodge, it’s wonderful that you were able to enjoy our restaurant. It is our teams goal to make sure that every guest’s meal is satisfactory, using only the freshest ingredients and meeting their every need. We hope you get the opportunity to stay with us longer on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the great pacific northwest
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed two nights last weekend in a cabin one row behind those right on the bluff.
I had specially requested a cabin that had no steps. I am on crutches and I can't do stairs. So of course when we drove to the parking area in the back it took four steps to get in the door. Fortunately the sliding glass door in the front was on a level spot.
The cabin is basically one big room with a smallish, poorly appointed bathroom carved out of one corner in the back.
The kitchen had a small stove with a couple burners and an oven, a small under-the-counter refrigerator, a microwave and a small sink. Signs warn that the silverware will be counted every day, so don't take anything that isn't yours. We questioned why someone who could afford to pay $234 a night to stay in the cabin woud take the time or have the inclination to steal the rather cheap tableware.
Yep, that's no typo. The cabin was $214 a night plus an extra $15 for a third person, who had the misfortune to have to sleep on the fold-out futon. There were two queen beds in the room.
The floor was all tile and gritty underfoot. It looked nice and felt better barefoot after my aunt swept. The room could have been cleaner.
Basically you are paying for the location. And it is a wonderful spot. The beach is great and has lots of logs to climb over for the kids. Beautiful sunsets. And quiet. No TV, wi-fi or Internet. No Verizon signal but with AT&T you might be able to get through.

Room Tip: We were in cabin L42 which has partial view of the beach. The best cabins are numbered in the low 20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dybdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. I am very sorry if you faced any inconveniences with your room. Our team strives for perfection with every guest’s visit and we apologize that yours was anything but. We’re glad you got to experience some of the amazing activities Kalaloch has to offer. We hope that you give us another chance in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forks hotels
23.6 mi away
Forks Motel
Forks Motel
#5 of 5 in Forks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Pacific Inn Motel
23.3 mi away
The Dew Drop Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast
24.8 mi away
Huckleberry Lodge Cabins
26.7 mi away
Misty Valley Inn B&B
Misty Valley Inn B&B
#1 of 11 in Forks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalaloch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaloch Lodge

Property: Kalaloch Lodge
Address: 157151 Highway 101, Forks, WA 98331-9354
Location: United States > Washington > Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalaloch Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalaloch Lodge is an Olympic National Park hotel property located a few sandy steps from the pristine Pacific coast. Tucked between lowland forest, temperate rainforest and marine sanctuary, Kalaloch offers accommodations with spectacular views, comfortable amenities and unrivaled outdoor recreation.Kalaloch is your Olympic Peninsula escape, whether the focus is romance, recreation or rejuvenation. The Main Lodge building is Kalaloch’s focal point, featuring 10 rooms and the Creekside Restaurant. Set just off the Main Lodge are the rustic yet comfortable Bluff and Kalaloch cabins, many with panoramic Pacific Ocean views. Several of Kalaloch’s cabins offer kitchenettes and cozy Franklin fireplaces, and are pet-friendly.Kalaloch’s two-story Seacrest Building is yet another championed Olympic Peninsula lodging option, set just a short walk from the cabins and main lodge. And the Kalaloch Group Campground offers an under-the-stars setting within sight and sound of the thundering Pacific Ocean.Part of the Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary, Kalaloch hosts a field guide’s-worth of wildlife including puffins, sea otters and the largest convocation of bald eagles in the continental U.S. Walking, biking, hiking, beachcombing, clamming and whale watching are popular local pastimes. Olympic’s storied Ruby Beach, with legendary mountain, glacier and rain forest views, is just a few miles away. Delaware North Companies Parks & Resorts at Kalaloch, Inc. is a Concessioner authorized by the National Park Service and the Department of the Interior to serve the public within Olympic National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kalaloch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalaloch Hotel Forks
Kalaloch Lodge Forks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing