We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park
Nearby Hotels
The Pacific Inn Motel(Forks)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dew Drop Inn Motel(Forks)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Curley's Resort and Dive Center(Sekiu)(Great Value!)
$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Van Riper's Resort(Sekiu)(Great Value!)
$80
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel(Sooke)(Great Value!)
$158
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,516)
Filter reviews
1,516 results
Traveler rating
922
435
92
38
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
922
435
92
38
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswood stovebluff cabinsruby beachcreekside restaurantolympic national parkhoh rainforestthe pacific oceangift shopbeach accessa bit priceycozy cabintide poolswashington coastlow tidethe cliffbeach combingsmall store
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,441 - 1,446 of 1,516 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Kalaloch Lodge, located right next to the ocean on the western edge of Olympic National Park, offers a variety of accommodations. We were fortunate to be in a cabin with a clear view out to sea. Despite rain and gale force winds during the first day and night, the cabin was warm and secure. The Franklin stove was great, and the firewood supply was refreshed each day. The kitchenette was well outfitted, and the bed was very comfortable. Our dog was welcome there, and we all enjoyed exploring the beach which was only steps away. Hiking sticks were even provided.

The only drawback in the cabin was a rather dated and worn shower with an unattached drain cover that slid all over the bottom of the stall. Also, housekeeping did not remove the ashes from the Franklin stove.

We had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant in the lodge, and the food was quite good … better than one might expect in a lodge run by a park concessionaire. The view from the dining room was excellent, and the bar was well stocked. The only drawback here was a waiter who confessed to being new and unable to explain anything on the menu.

Overall, it is a great place and well worth the visit. The weather can be unpleasant, but that should not deter visitors from exploring the beach. Accommodations can be a little pricey, and shoulder season offers a better deal. Also, be prepared for little or no mobile phone service.

Room Tip: If booking a cabin, use the Web site’s map and know which cabin you are getting. Front row units next to the ocean are best, but they are more expensive. If in the second row, pick 24-27 for an unobstructed view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PplusG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and are happy to hear your dog enjoyed the accommodations as well. We apologize for any inconvenience the new waiter may have caused. We'll make sure to bring this comment to the team. We hope you will visit us again in the future and thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife & I stayed at Kalaloch Lodge for the 5th time. There aren't many places to stay right on the Pacific ocean on the northern part of the Washington coast. The natural beauty is overwhelming. Be sure and see Ruby Beach. The lodge itself is an older property, but well kept. The cabins are primitive, but comfortable. We stayed in cabin #12 and had a awesome view. The only knock on the cabin was the shower is very small. The breakfast was very good and reasonably priced. The place is remote, so plan on eating here or bring food with you. Some of the cabins have a kitchen. Most have woodburning stoves. There aren't any televisions, Wi-Fi hook-ups, and the only phones are a phone booth. Cell phone reception is sparse. The nearest town, Forks, is about 20 miles away. As I said, expect remote. We saw a bald eagle lounging on the beach one morning.
The property is no longer managed by the uncaring Aramark, but is now handled by Delaware North. The difference is amazing. The Del-Nor staff went out of their way to make any request work out.
The stay here is expensive, but in our opinion worth a visit. Natures beauty makes it worthwhile. We will be back in the future.

Room Tip: A bluff cabin is the best, but most expensive choice.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to meet your requests. Guest service is the cornerstone of our business and we are happy to hear you received outstanding service at our lodge. We look forward to your next visit! Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We has a delightful time for two nights in a cabin facing the ocean. The cabins are basic, however, the location amazing. Breakfasts were excellent, lunches/dinners fine, not outstanding. Wine list...adequate. The staff was super. Wifi is non existent, so if you have to have that and be in touch, you will be disappointed. Possible to get a weak cell signal....sometimes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qsmamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be excellent. We aim to make every guest experience special and are happy to hear we succeeded. We hope you visit us again soon. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

In the mid-1960's my family, along with other families, would travel to Kalaloch and spend a couple of nights. I was a young child, and remember fondly the small cabins, rickety steps down to the shore and all the driftwood for making forts. Of course, things change in almost 50 years, but I found our cabin (one row up from the bluff cabins) to be delightful. The weather was warm for the season and we opened the windows, but still managed a fire in the Franklin stove. The kitchenette was well stocked and the bed was comfortable.

The rickety steps down to the beach have been replaced with a more grandual walkway to the beach but you have to cross over the driftwood to get to the waters edge. I remember at 8 fearlessly scampering across the wood - not so much in my 50's! There are lots of driftwood forts along the way (a lot more sophiscated than we made!).

There is very limited cell coverage and no wi-fi/TV/radio. But bring along a boom box with your favorite CD's and relish the romantic, quiet evening in front of the fire.

Room Tip: The bluff cabins or one row up are the best. However, the cabins are quite expensive so if you get any kind of coupon/Groupon that help with the costs - go for it!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meeshamator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you could come and enjoy a place special to you from your childhood. We're happy to hear you enjoyed all we have to offer, and hope you come for a walk down memory lane again sometime soon! Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Four of us shared a 1 bedroom cabin in the row behind the bluff cabins. Perfect for us-all amenities were provided-bedding, towels and soaps, all kitchen utensils-except a cutting board, and a wood stove. We took long walks both south and north on the beach-over an hour in each direction, and took a hike up into the Hoh rainforest. Don't know about the food in the lodge restaurant because we cooked great meals in our cabin. Perfect spot to breathe deep and relax and watch the antics of the many bald eagles! We will be back!

Room Tip: We would have loved a bluff room to enjoy the view, but they were all taken...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gayleh-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our amenities as well as all Kalaloch and the park had to offer. It is truly a special place and we hope you come visit again soon. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews