We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalaloch Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kalaloch Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Forks
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stopped here for lunch one rainy day during our drive between Lake Quinault and Forks. Just a fantastic view (even with the rain) and great ambiance to enjoy a mid-day meal. I had a bowl of chowder and my wife had a salad which she still talks about today. Both meals were really good and were, in fact, some of our better meals of the trip. Two thumbs up for the lunch we enjoyed at Kalaloch.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elperro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    322
    68
    26
    21
See reviews for
373
491
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We checked in in the evening, everyone was very pleasant and helpful. we had an ocean view lodge room #6. The views were amazing, the room was very clean, the bathroom had obviously been recently been renovated. We did not eat here, but the food smelled good.
Lodge rooms are not handicap accessible, however the cabins are.
There have been previous reviews complaining of the noise from the dining area. It really wasn't as bad as we had been anticipating. Just a few thuds every now again and a little water running. The hallways are noisier but all in all we had a wonderful stay, and no trouble sleeping.

Room Tip: Definitely get an ocean view lodge room. Some of the views are better than the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anjasarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here from 9-12 through 9-13. We picked Kalaloch Lodge for on our stay in Olympic National Park because of it's location close to Ruby Beach and the Hoh rainforest. Let me say first that my wife and I are used to staying in rustic accommodations in and around national parks and know plus understand their limitations. That is not any issue with us. For this one, we did pick their large, most expensive room over the top of the main lodge for a splurge at the end of a 17 day road trip.
The front desk where you check in is their gift shop. The girl who "greeted" me at the front desk was so unfriendly I was a little taken back. A smile would have cracked her face and she just handed over a key with no directions to the room or nothing to say at all. Whenever I asked a question, she would barely look up and would just fire off a short response. There was no one else in the gift shop or checking in so she was not busy with customers.
I had gotten a bad bug bite on the back of my neck the day before (not at the lodge) and when I awoke the next morning, it had broken open during the night and there was a lot of blood on my pillowcase. When we got back to the room in the afternoon, the bed had been made up (sort of) but here was the blood stained pillow case still on the pillow that side up. (??) The maid had been there but not in mind or spirit.
We had made a reservation for dinner that night at 6:00 PM. When we arrived right on time, we had to wait for someone to seat us for over 5 minutes and we were the only ones there. We could hear the cook in the kitchen and the server/hostess talking the whole time. The cook saw us and told her we were out there but she would not stop with her personal conversation and just left us out there. Finally, I had to yell out "hello" three times before she came out and she had no apology and just said she knew we were there. When 2 other couples came in and asked to be seated they were told there was no available seating for the night. We sat there in a room with just 2 other tables besides us with people in them and there was two rooms of empty tables all made up. Evidently they just did not want anyone there.
Other then that, the food was acceptable and the location is very pretty. Everything is a little worn out but that is quite common with park accommodations and we expected that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Tim1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Always wanted to stay here and we finally did. Never again! Our cabin was overrun with mice! Since it is located on national park property, they can't kill them. So, they put in a live trap after a sleepless first night. THERE WERE 5 MICE IN THE TRAP BY 2AM!!! And our cabin did not have a kitchenette in it, so there was no food to attract them. We even found mouse droppings in our suitcase!! Unfortunate experience.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night in August. It was beautiful, but 20 degrees colder than at Quinault Lake Lodge inland. I'm glad we opted for just one night here and 3 nights at Quinault. It was beautiful and wild feeling. I liked our cabin along the cliff edge and the view from the restaurant too. But it was so cold and windy I didn't want to walk the beach. There is much more for a family to do at Quinault. I'm glad we stayed one night, but also glad we didn't stay longer!

Room Tip: We liked cabin 7 - along the cliff with a nice breakfast table nook that had lots of windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyarchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Lodge was disgustingly dirty, service was poor and the ambiance had all the charm of an IHOP. fabulous view - but you don't have to stay there to see it. Move on to the Quinault Lodge up the road.

Room Tip: There is no good room, at least if ours was any sample of rooms. Two conditioners and no shampoo in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Swansgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were traveling with another couple and reserved a two bedroom cabin. We loved it. Plenty of room, a wonderful fireplace with wood supplied, clean, and comfortable. However, it is a cabin. So we didn't get - or expect - 5 star resort accommodations. The location is beautiful. The sunset was awesome. As the other reviews stated, there isn't any other accommodations near Kalaloch. The store is a tad expensive, but considering you are a captive audience, I didn't think it was too bad. The food in the lodge was very good and we had good wait staff. The kitchen was a bit slow, but with that gorgeous view, we didnt care. We were only there one night, so didn't bring in supplies. If we had stayed longer, I would have done some meals in the cabin. There were enough dishes, etc to make that easy. We did arrive early and we were given access to our cabin right away. That made it easy to unload and head for the beaches early in the afternoon. These beaches are just beautiful. The star fish at Beach 4 were huge and beautiful. Of course, we had perfect weather for beach combing, hiking, and picture taking. We would return at the drop of a hat.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JeanVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forks hotels
23.7 mi away
Forks Motel
Forks Motel
#5 of 6 in Forks
3.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Dew Drop Inn Motel
23.8 mi away
Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalaloch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaloch Lodge

Property: Kalaloch Lodge
Address: 157151 Highway 101, Forks, WA 98331-9354
Location: United States > Washington > Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalaloch Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalaloch Lodge is an Olympic National Park hotel property located a few sandy steps from the pristine Pacific coast. Tucked between lowland forest, temperate rainforest and marine sanctuary, Kalaloch offers accommodations with spectacular views, comfortable amenities and unrivaled outdoor recreation.Kalaloch is your Olympic Peninsula escape, whether the focus is romance, recreation or rejuvenation. The Main Lodge building is Kalaloch’s focal point, featuring 10 rooms and the Creekside Restaurant. Set just off the Main Lodge are the rustic yet comfortable Bluff and Kalaloch cabins, many with panoramic Pacific Ocean views. Several of Kalaloch’s cabins offer kitchenettes and cozy Franklin fireplaces, and are pet-friendly.Kalaloch’s two-story Seacrest Building is yet another championed Olympic Peninsula lodging option, set just a short walk from the cabins and main lodge. And the Kalaloch Group Campground offers an under-the-stars setting within sight and sound of the thundering Pacific Ocean.Part of the Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary, Kalaloch hosts a field guide’s-worth of wildlife including puffins, sea otters and the largest convocation of bald eagles in the continental U.S. Walking, biking, hiking, beachcombing, clamming and whale watching are popular local pastimes. Olympic’s storied Ruby Beach, with legendary mountain, glacier and rain forest views, is just a few miles away. Delaware North Companies Parks & Resorts at Kalaloch, Inc. is a Concessioner authorized by the National Park Service and the Department of the Interior to serve the public within Olympic National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Kalaloch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalaloch Hotel Forks
Kalaloch Lodge Forks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing