We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but probably wouldn't go back”
Review of The In Place

The In Place
Ranked #8 of 21 Restaurants in Forks
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Newberry, MI
Level Contributor
119 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Ok, but probably wouldn't go back”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We cruised Forks to check out the options, finding more than we expected. This one looked the best, so we stopped. The food was ok, the waitress friendly. But it took forever to get our food. We were one of two tables in the restaurant. We waited over half hour to get our food! Didn't expect much, didn't get much.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cossondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    153
    116
    63
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
a city by a lake, WA
Level Contributor
177 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Known as a "down home" restaurant--> I'm not eating at their homes”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Yes this is a small town restaurant so I didn't go in with any expectations. Perhaps they knew that. Still, it's a touristy town (although that seems to be dwindling) so I figured the locals would be used to big crowds and people of all backgrounds.

The hostess seemed annoyed pretty much right off the bat. There were 11 of us ranging from 8-57 years of age, light to dark skin. I really didnt want to think our skin color meant anything. Again, its a small town but in Washington state with tourist attractions. We were there around 5:30pm before the dinner rush.

Food: it wasn't anything special but not horrible either

Value: The prices weren't outrageous but not great for what we got

Service: The hostess turned out to be our server as well and was unfriendly from the start and didn't break much from that. Occasionally I saw a glimmer of niceness but not with a smile. She was working two roles so I wanted to cut her some slack. I always try to consider what people might be going through personally that might be affecting their work performance. That's why I'm not giving this service a "terrible". After I paid upfront she made a comment about needing to get back so people don't give her dirty looks. I guess she noticed other customer's dissatisfaction?

Atmosphere: There isn't really atmosphere in the sense that people think of atmosphere with restaurants. It's a small town restaurant with framed pictures/paintings and a woodcarved eagle in the back room and a big wooden chain on the ground. It has old tables, chairs, and booths.

I was expecting more because the gal at the hotel next door where we stayed seemed positive about it. She had good advice and information for our stay. Maybe we caught this place on a bad day?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wannabefolkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Convenient and down home food”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

While driving the Washington and Oregon coastline we stopped in Forks WA at the Forks Motel. Directly across the street was "The In Place". It couldn't have been more convenient as the rain was typically with us most of the trip! We had dinner. It was inexpensive and good. Karen waited on us and keep our water glasses filled. She took our special diet order. We ordered simply (chicken strips for Kate, a BLT for me) and the food arrived within 10-15 minutes. We liked the experience and came back in the morning for breakfast. Again we got standard fair but it was prepared well. We noted that it was a gathering place for locals and that is a good sign that it's a favorite in town. Forks has few amenities and you won't find this to be an upscale dinner house - it's down home, country friendly and "The In Place" fills this bill quite nicely.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WillandKate_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This Place Was Filthy”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The food was ok, but the place was dirty. Food on the chair seat and floor. Dust everywhere. Many light not working. Made us wonder what condition the kitchen was in. Even though the food was ok, we will not return

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VINOEBUONO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very bad service, would not eat here again. The food itself was decent, we had the nachos supreme and burgers. The waitress took forever to get to us and did not offer any refills. Also, the bathrooms are old and dirty.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gugirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The In Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing