We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent variety, inexpensive, good food”

Poodle Dog Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Fife
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Foster
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent variety, inexpensive, good food”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband and I stumbled upon this restaurant in Fife WA. They have an excellent variety of food, from sandwiches to full meals to lighter meals. Wait staff is excellent! The prices are, in my opinion, excellent between $9.00 and $12.00.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheGrahamsScituateRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    53
    25
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, NC
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Good enough”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Poodle Dog was recommended as the iconic diner. Service was welcoming and efficient. Ambiance is updated diner style with 50's era music. The belgian waffles were plain old waffles with a ton of frozen strawberries and whipped cream or butter and syrup. The natural omelet was excellent with fresh vegetables. Overall, good enough for a fairly quick breakfast.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCtravelerWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Liver & Onions! Oh My!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Mom & I have been craving some liver & onions. Through word of mouth from a neighbor, I was told that The Poodle Dog in Fife has this on the menu!
We drove through the speed trap that Fife, in Pierce County is so famous for, and pulled into the parking lot.
Inside, it looks like a old diner from the 60's. No, not the new Retro 60's decor, but the " Has Not been Updated since the 1960's. " Yes, it's old, but the place was clean. Our table was clean, floors were clean, so age didn't matter.
Waitress was friendly and greeted and seated us promptly. I asked about the Liver and Onions, and she stated that was on the "dinner menu", but she'd get us that if we wanted it (We arrived at lunchtime)
Our food arrived in fairly quick time, the portions were HUGE!
We got STEAMED carrots and broccoli, REAL mashed potatoes- not the powdered instant stuff usually served in today's restaurants, and 2 big slabs of beef livers smothered in sweet onions topped off with 2 nice strips of BACON!
Service was very nice, waitress made sure our beverages were kept filled, food was FRESH and HOT.
Price was very reasonable for the amount of food. I am a big eater. I could not eat everything on my plate, has to get a doggie bag to take home.
Yummmm

Yes, we will return.

Ambiance might be a bit "Divey", but I mean that in a "good" way ;)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorknWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I can't stop thinking about it!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

A friend of mine took me to this place one day for breakfast.
The food and service was nice, normal. Good... Until he ordered me something called a butter horn.
I yelled! No! I can't eat anymore!
OMG! It was a pastry / donut thingy... It was so good I think of it almost everyday. I'm going to Seattle again this 4 th. Of July and believe me... I'll be there more than once... Oh, we did go back one day to just get. 2 butter horns and they didn't have any... :(
If your ever in the area you must try one. This place has been there forever... I'm not sure if butter horns are available all over , I never heard of them... I just know that poodle dog makes them on site...
I'm going

Helpful?
Thank Gnc111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesano, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ack!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Horrible omelet. Apple sausage was over powering in the omelet. Pancake was average. Maybe just a bad day. Slow but friendly service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poodle Dog Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Poodle Dog Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing