We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Smells” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Fife
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Smells”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

If you dont mind the smell of smoke i guess ok. Not for me. Smelled stuffy. Tired hotel. Could use an implosion and rebuild. Casino non smoking section ok, Buffet food just ok but eating area need a hose down and a paint job.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    24
    16
    38
See reviews for
19
52
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SeaTac, Washington
Level Contributor
129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel, for being right above a busy casino, has very nice, quiet rooms. Ours was a double queen and was spacious and comfortable. The linens are clean and white, the beds are comfy, and the tub is nice and deep. If you see a show the rate is very good and there is a shuttle that runs between the two casinos.

Room Tip: Ours overlooked the swimming pool & spa area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Velvet21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globe, Arizona
Level Contributor
257 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Attending a reunion in a suite upstairs in the hotel. Walking through the casino to get to elevators, the smoke was extremely severe. I am tolerant of smokers and have been to casinos before, but this one is beyond anything I have ever experienced, (or tried to breathe). The smoke is not just in the casino, it's in the elevators and in the hotel hallways. Anyone with a breathing condition should reconsider coming here. Running eyes were rampant, we were sharing eye drop remedies. The stench is still in my nose after a shower and it's in our belongings. I don't see how the air quality folks let this place remain open. Besides the dangerously unhealthy air quality, the property is just plain seedy and I did not feel safe walking through the parking structure. All that being said, our interactions with hotel facilities personnel was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fife hotels

Union Gap, Wa.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Emerald Queen Casino and Hotel and it was ok. Clean rooms, Good food in the snack bar, Nice sitting area by the pool. You have to ask for a fridge and microwave when making a reservation if you want one in your room. Pool was alittle dirty but otherwise it was nice. They also have a small but nice exercise room. The Casino was sort of old and the slots were extremely tight but we still had a decent visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a fridge and microwave when making your reservation if you need or require one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveBUnionGap_Wa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Ideal place for chain smokers! Horrible smell of cigarettes the moment you enter the premise. Non-smoking room still was choked with cigarette stench...Worst place we have ever stayed! They should do something about the bad stench.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

this place just oozes smoke everywhere. Our room was on a no-smoking floor but you couldn't tell. The casino is so smoky that I cannot believe all of the employees are going to get sick! The water barely comes out of the shower head and you walk away from this place feeling dirty! What we thought would be a fun time turned out gross. We couldn't even think about going into the casino because of the amount of smoke. Only smokers should stay here!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rlansing503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This place is just beyond NASTY! The entire place smells so bad from the overwhelming billowing smoke. This hotel was built maybe 7 years ago yet the furnishing are minimalist and straight out of the 80's! The 15' tv's are thick bulky CRT's ..... No flat screen's here! The bedspreads have stains all over them and smell so badly from the smoke (and this was supposed to be a non-smoking room!) They show table games available on their website but what they don't mention is that this location only has slot machines and to play blackjack, craps, roulette, etc you have to travel 6 miles south to their "sister" property! I asked for another room that truly was NON SMOKING and the front desk employee told me that no matter what room they give me the smoke still seems to be noticeable as it comes from the ventilation system in the Casino! I was so disgusted by this place....NEVER AGAIN! NEVER! This is a smokers heaven...and for everyone else.....prepared for everything you bring with you into this hotel to reak of cigarette smoke when you leave! We had to wash everything twice and scrub ourselves and I mean scrub to get the stench off!

We ate at the "Pacific Rim Buffet" and the employees were really nice however; the asian food on the steam tables in the buffet was not piping hot or hot at all for that matter. It was lukewarm and in some cases room temperature; most certainly the food was not being held at a safe temperatures to serve. I stuck to the Prime Rib, mashed potatoes and peas which was actually pretty good! My partner had the shrimp fried rice, something that resembled orange chicken and an egg roll all of which were "cold" as in not at all warm. He ate a few bites and it was just gross food! In any case we let our server know the food was not being held at a safe temperature and she offered to get something else for him but we were just over it and we left shortly after dinner. Both of us ended up with stomach aches and everything that goes with it and within two hours that food was out of us one way or another. Still feeling gross and disgusted by our experience so though I would write a review on tripadvisor and hopefully save others from making the bad choice we made to stay and eat here! I plan on following up with a complaint to the health inspector however; I'm not sure they are able to look into this since this is a hotel/casino on tribal land. If I could give this place zero stars I would!

Room Tip: Even "non-smoking" rooms at this hotel smell like stale cigarette smoke courtesy of the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fife
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tacoma - Fife
4.1 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,774 reviews
5.9 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino

Property: Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino
Address: 5700 Pacific Hwy E, Fife, WA 98424-2515
Location: United States > Washington > Fife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Fife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Queen Hotel And Casino
Emerald Queen Hotel Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing