We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, good rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Fife
Spanaway, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice people, good rooms”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We really liked it. No grumpy face, or rude customer survice people. Overall, we liked it a lot. Just try not to forget it is NOT Vegas. It used to be a 3 star hotel and it's still is just under a different name.

Room Tip: we stayed in 401 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsSmirnoff95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    26
    16
    39
See reviews for
21
53
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We booked a room here because we were attending a concert at the center. The room was fine but it was nonsmoking and you could definitely still smell smoke. The heat in the room was hard to control....either very hot or very cold. When we first arrived we asked about a sports bar and they said there were 2 over at the event center part of the casino. So we headed over there to watch some football...but were disappointed to find out that there really wasn't a sports bar at all...but just a couple of TV's, so we ended up going to Freddies casino for football and food. We stayed here for the convienence of being able to take shuttle to concert, but found out that it only ran once an hour?? concert started at 8PM so we chose to take the 8PM shuttle, which didn't show up until 8:15PM...so by the time we walked the long trek from where they dropped us off to where the concert was held it had already begun. After the concert we went to the club which had a good band to dance to. We went to catch the 2:30AM shuttle back and they said it had already left, so we ended up taking a cab that cost $13. We also ate a late night meal at the casino in the deli area and they were very unorganized and it took quite a long time to get our food.

Room Tip: we were in 318 and there was a kind of view of the pool...it didn't smell as smoky as my friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoBeavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
232 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We booked a room here only because we were going to an event at the sister property and they provide a shuttle. The room was average and met the needs of a 1 night stay, place to hang out before the concert and get ready. The shuttle to the event was very convienient both to and from. Had this room been anywhere else I would say it was average and would have been fine, but the room even though non-smoking seemed like someone was smoking right next to me. We spent very little time in the casino area, really just for check in, but when we returned home we felt the need to immediately shower to remove the smoke smell. And we left one of the bags in the car afterwards and went back to it a couple hours later and the car reaked of smoke too. Overall it was very good for the shuttle and the service was good, but the smoke smell if you are not a smoker might be too much to get past.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PuraVidaDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed 3 days at the hotel for a conference. At the time of booking I didn't know the meeting would be held at the "showroom" which was at their other casino down the road. If I had known I would have to ride a shuttle or drive to the meeting I would have chosen to stay at another hotel. This one was okay, clean, lots of room, bathroom was roomy; but the AC/heater in the wall vibrated all night. The unit was on the same side as the bed and you could feel the vibration. The room was dated and the first night it smelled like something was burning. Did not like having to walk through the smokey casino to get to the lobby. Although we had a good rate and the staff was friendly, the security folks were a little scary.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fr8ndly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Hotel is a combined hotel and casino. To get to the lobby you have to walk through a casino filled with cigarette smoke. The room smelled like smoke, emanating from the rug. The ac/fan combo could neither cool the room or get rid of the smell. Room was very clean and the little amenities were great but there is no reason to stay here. None.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy33208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2011

My Girlfriend and I went to EQC and stayed for the Joan Jett concert. It was great. Customer Service was awsome, the room we got was great. Nonsmoking room did not smell like smoke, quiet rooms. Buffet was good, didnt get sick, decent selection. Definately returning!!!! The drinks were pretty weak, unless you order a double, just bring your own though!!! And the wifi sucked!!!

Room Tip: ask for rooms away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joncloud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

I pass through Fife during numerous trips to the NW. My group has used the restaurant location to meet up with locals because of the convenient location frequently over the years. The food is ok but nothing special compared to the other similar buffets in the area.

We have to travel with our business equipment because of the nature of our travel, which had never been an issue with the Emerald Queen's complex or Buffet Restaurant before. However, for my party's last visit to the buffet, we were singled out for taking our laptop computers, camera equipment, and mobile phones by security. The guard, his superior, and their superior all demanded that we leave our devices in our car while we dined in their restaurant. This, in spite of the fact that they have signs posted all over their parking lots stating the dangers of theft of valuables in cars parked in their lots, valuables should not be left in cars, and they are not responsible for items that are. When asked about that little detail, the guard stated that "valuables" are a wallet or purse, not our approx. $10K in electronics. There was no option to check the items anyplace during our visit. Just in the car or a trunk if we had had one.

We promptly left. Will never be back.

You can draw your own conclusions as to why a business would intentionally do this to a loyal customer, or if in their ignorance just have absolutely no respect for their client's property.

Bottom line, stay away. There are countless restaurants in the area that respect and value patrons to their establishments.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel4Business030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fife
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
4.1 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
3,297 reviews
1.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tacoma - Fife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Fife
Days Inn Fife
#5 of 10 in Fife
194 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino

Property: Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino
Address: 5700 Pacific Hwy E, Fife, WA 98424-2515
Location: United States > Washington > Fife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Fife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Queen Hotel Fife
Emerald Queen Hotel And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing