We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Fife
Reviewed October 25, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights and had a very good experience. Room was spotless and made up early each day so we always returned to a cleaned room. Free continental breakfast was good.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PortlandPDXTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 43 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2008

Absolutely worst hotel experience of my life - and I"ve stayed in hundreds of hotels. So for basics, the hotel didn't even hit the mark. Smelly, decrepid room - afraid to take my shoes off. Smelled of bad BO or smoke. Water was only luke warm, bed was not comfortable, and the TV didn't work right. But that was the good part. Upon checkout, hotel charged me for the room - after I already booked/paid through Orbitz. I provided the rude receptionist with a copy of my receipt from Orbitz, and she refused to reverse the charge. When I insisted that the charge be removed, she first called the owner, who refused to speak to me (how unprofessional, right??). Then, the lovely receptionist threatened to call the police if I didn't vacate the property.

So, if it's adventure you are after - I would recommend this place. Just make sure all your vaccines are up to date.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank natrl1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautiful444, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2009

Since March 2008 This hotel has been under new Management and Front desk staff. Also, All hotels rooms have been updated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

Stayed here one night as we needed a place between Seattle and Tacoma. The front end of the hotel looks ok but close inspection reveals it is an older motel with some cosmetic improvements. For the price, I suppose it is decent value. Free morning continental breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Maryland
210
Reviewed August 13, 2005

This place was too sketchy. The room was not that great, actually not very clean. We reserved for non-smoking but the room was filled with the smell of smoke and the owner just refused to help and asked us to suck it up. It was too late, so we did not feel like going out again looking for another place. Anyway, just a sketchy and unpleasant place!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautiful444, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2009

The Howard Johnson is now under new Management,Ownership and recently has been remodeled. I can guarantee all the rooms are extremely clean and checked daily by management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2005

We stayed here at the end of a driving tour of Washington and Oregon, the night before we flew out. We wanted to be close to Tacoma to see Defiance Park in the morning without paying too much, and this was a good solution. It was about 10 minutes from downtown Tacoma and maybe 15 to the park. It's on a busy street near the sound, so there is a decent amount of industrial traffic, but the hotel is set far enough back that we didn't notice any noise.

The rooms were clean enough. Our room wasn't quite ready so we had to wait a few minutes. We were also double-booked by some mistake, but the owners didn't make a big deal of it and canceled the other booking. Breakfast was adequate with about a dozen tables to sit and eat. This was definitely a good bargain if you're looking to be close to Tacoma for a budget price.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank spoon.17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fife hotels
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Port of Tacoma WA
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 Tacoma - Fife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tacoma - Fife
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Fife
Days Inn Fife
#5 of 10 in Fife
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3501 Pacific Hwy E, Fife, WA 98424-1120 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Fife
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Fife
Price Range: $59 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Fife
Fife Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing