We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A team that works hard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferndale
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A team that works hard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice especially on the Diamond floor. The staff however is outstanding. An excellent can do attitude that can make most everything happen. Steve, the manager, empowers his staff well and gets involved long enough to make you feel how important you are to them. A second hotel is being built...not as fast as the addition to the casino but being build nonetheless. They, like Tulalip, are the classiest place in town but won't sit on their laurels, contrary to Tulalip, to keep their reputation going and their clients satisfied. A bit isolated as a hotel but the casino offers some action and a few restaurants including a buffet that are pretty good. Their breakfast however has gone a bit down hill over the years...little variation from the powdered eggs, waffles and fruit bowl.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hanky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronThomas, Director of Marketing at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for the nice words about our staff and our property. We will be sure to tell Steve D. your nice words as well. Thanks for the feedback on the complimentary breakfast for our hotel guests. We will be sure to remind the Food and Beverage Director your feedback.

We hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    133
    58
    21
    20
See reviews for
64
187
14
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

The rooms in this hotel are nice, clean and spacious; with an added convenience of the vanity being separate from the shower, so you can get ready while others shower. There is not a huge selection of slot machines, but enough to keep you entertained for a few hours. Unfortunately, the smell of cigarettes does linger from the casino into the front desk of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjones-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronThomas, Director of Marketing at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review from your last stay with us. We're sorry to hear that the smoke from the casino floor lingered into the hotel lobby. We have a very good HVAC system that sucks the smoke out of the casino floor many times daily and our air curtain between the smoking areas of the casino floor and the smoke-free environment normally pushes the smoke back to the smoking areas.

We do hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for a night as we were attending a concert at Mount Baker Theatre. Lodging would be considerably more expensive in Bellingham so we decided to stay in Ferndale. We planned on having dinner with friends then playing some slots before going to the concert.

The Silver Reef property is nice looking. Due to the Senior's Convention, there wasn't a lot left to choose from. We ended up in Diamond Executive King suite for $169 per night. It was a spacious room with a spacious Euro-style bathroom. "Diamond" means the top floor which requires a card to access. This floor has its own lounge which would be ideal to invite people over to watch the game or hang out a bit. The bed was too soft for our liking, as we tended to sink into the middle. But there were tons of pillows to choose from.

The casino is deceptively large. There are 1200 slot machines and 20 table games. The restaurants, cafes, bar/lounges are scattered through the casino floor. The dinner buffet was fabulous but expensive if it's not free (see TIPS below). They have a seafood (king crab legs, lobster), and pasta bar along with the regular salad, meat and dessert (gluten-free brownies are to die for) bars. I paid for my dinner buffet which wasn't worth it because I wasn't that hungry. The continental breakfast provides cereals, pastries, some hot items and a make-your-own waffle station. It's nothing to write home about but did the job.

PROS: parking is plentiful, nice property (imagine Vegas lights set against a rural background), some entertainment on-site (mainly for adults with casino, event theatre, evening bands playing at the casino lounges), fitness room, swimming pool, some restaurants on-site, gift shop carries a variety of First Nations products, panoramic views from 6th floor suites, excellent service
CONS: not much to explore in vicinity so will likely require a car to get around, bed was too soft, pizza was a 45-minute wait which they didn't tell me until I paid (pay when you order)

CONCLUSION: I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: bring a car, get a casino card to get a discount on slots and also get your next stay's buffet f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanc0uverght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronThomas, Director of Marketing at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for the kind words you've shared regarding your last visit with us. Most importantly, we're happy that we met and exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you back with us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

What a great place. The venue was fantastic and the employees friendly and helpful. Had a great time and the pricing and variety of eating was nice. There were eating specials also. Very good accommodations. We will definitely be returning when we get the chance. It was a 6 hour drive for us, but we would do it again in a heartbeat to enjoy ourselves once again. And by the way we played slots a little and wound up winning a little to boot. Thank you to everyone there. Top notch job!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronThomas, Director of Marketing at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for the positive review you gave TripAdvisor.com users. We relish every kind word you gave us and we are thankful that we met and exceeded your expectations. We do hope to see you back very soon!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bc, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I only have one beef about the time we spent there. The dinner buffet was horrible as all one got was leftovers from lunch. Absolutely gross. Stay away from it. The Asian restaurant was excellent. Lots of food and delicious. We were only there for a couple of days so didn't get to check out the other dining options on site.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronThomas, Director of Marketing at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for contacting us through TripAdvisor.com. We are concerned about the comments about your last visit with us. Our culinary staff do a great job of ensuring that our food quality in all of our restaurants are the best that they should be at any given time. I will give your comments to the food and beverage director for him to look into. Please accept our apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a special occasion, and I wanted to find a place that offered not only nice accommodations,but entertainment, spa and good food. I chose the Silver Reef and it met each and every one of our needs. From the moment we arrived the staff was outstanding and helpful. We ate at the "The Steakhouse" and it was the most amazing steak I have had in Whatcom County. The wine they suggested to compliment the meal was delicious. We would recommend the Silver Reef Hotel Casino and "Spa" if your looking for any of the above. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenaC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronThomas, Director of Marketing at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for all the great words you wrote about your last visit with us. We hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

I was totally impressed with the great friendly service and super clean rooms. We were in town for a movie premier and stayed there because it was convenient and a great price. To my surprise it was worth twice the price we paid. I am so pleasantly surprised and still smiling. Special thanks to Randi the head of Cust Services for making the weekend so much fun and so special!

Room Tip: Any room facing the Puget Sound- SPECTACULAR SUNSETS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronThomas, Director of Marketing at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Your kind words about our property makes us feel great ! Thanks so much and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
7.4 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
6.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
5.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
#3 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Orca Inn Suites
Orca Inn Suites
#3 of 4 in Ferndale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport
9.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa

Property: Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa
Address: 4876 Haxton Way, I-5 exit 260, Ferndale, WA 98248-9130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ferndale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 206 rooms & suites, beautiful Mt. Baker views, complimentary Silver Signature Breakfast and Wi-Fi, you're sure to enjoy your stay. The Diamond Executive Floor Level offers restricted access, a private lounge and upgraded amenities. It is home to our Diamond, Ruby, Emerald & Sapphire Specialty Suites. Enjoy our exercise room and indoor pool! Our full service spa has treatment rooms, whirlpool, serenity room, hot tub and sauna. Several restaurant options including The Buffet, casual dining restaurants, the high end Steak House and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Reef Hotel Ferndale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing