We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“wonderful get-away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferndale
burnaby,B.C.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful get-away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have been coming to the Silver Reef for over 4 years with Paramount Travel. I feel like I've arrived home when I get there. The staff in the whole complex are friendly and helpful . I just got back July 17th and had a wonderful stay. The food in the Cantina was very good and the staff were so nice. My only complaint is there was too much food and could only eat half of it! Thanks to all for a very pleasant get-away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronThomas, Director of Marketing at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hi sheila d,

We're very happy to read your review of a recent visit to Silver Reef! I guess having too much food could be construed as a good thing? LOL. We are happy to have you as a guest with all the other guests from Paramount Travel Bus. We hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    133
    58
    20
    20
See reviews for
64
186
14
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have been going to Silver Reef pretty much since the hotel opened - about 3 or 4 times a year. It's a nice drive from where we live and always enjoyable. The rooms are very nice and reasonably priced, especially if you join the Diamond Dividend Club - $30 off.

The breakfast buffet that comes with the room is also surprisingly good. There are always a couple of types of eggs with potatoes (although no sausage or bacon), fresh fruit, waffle/toast station and more.

I have not dined at the Red River Buffet, but the Steak House restaurant is definitely worth a try. Fine dining as good as you'll find in a major center. Excellent service, knowledgeable staff, good wine list and delicious cuisine. Reasonably priced for this level of dining, the Steak House does not disappoint.

If you go to Bellingham first to do some shopping, you can drive the scenic ocean route around the Lummi Reservation to get to the hotel. All in all, a great destination for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonrobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronThomas, Director of Marketing at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hi bonrobb,

Thank you for your review of a recent stay with us. We're delighted to see how well you described your stay with us. We hope that we met and exceeded your expectations and we hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
916 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

And, there is a spa too! The Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa makes it fun to escape, take a cool swim in the salt water, enjoy the spa H2O products and relax in the surroundings in Ferndale which is very close to Bellingham, WA. Rent a car at the airport or take the free shuttle right to the hotel. Rooms are spacious and easy on the eyes. Take a spin around the casino or choose from many restaurants inside the hotel. Visit Lummi Indian Nation to learn the cultural history and traditions. Or, just rest your head on the plush feather pillows - it's all good.

Room Tip: Reserve the second floor only if you are a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronThomas, Director of Marketing at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Eds44,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent visit with us. We're very delighted to hear how well we did to serve you and all the great tips you are sharing with fellow TripAdvisor readers.

Thank you for your patronage and your feedback; both make our day!

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

stayed at hotel-excellent & good price. the buffet is VERY small-serving stations so close to tables we had peoples butts in our faces as we ate. gaming area has no beverages stations. no table games in nonsmoking. main casino had good selection of slots. table games shuffle after each hand with multiple decks increasing house odds. hotel/casino staff were helpful. overall a good experience but definitely have room for improvement especially the buffet..

Room Tip: recommend the 5th or 6th floor for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CryPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronThomas, Director of Marketing at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi CryPeg,

We were happy to hear that your latest hotel stay went well; we wish the same could be said about your experience at our Red River Buffet. Most casino properties do not have table games in a smoke-free environment, mainly because there isn't the demand for it as there are with the smoking environments. We are positive that our table games dealers only shuffle after most of the deck has been dealt.

Your input is very appreciated and we hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My daughter and I went to the buffet for dinner last Saturday ..It was sooo bad, I have eaten at a great many buffets, many of which were in casinos in Nevada but also at Tulalip and Angel of the Winds. Both of the later were excellent dinners..At best the dinner here was luke warm a very poor selection and rock bottom in the quality department..I have read that the seafood one is good but after our experience I will never try it.Paying 50.00 for 2 buffets that left us far less than satisfied will not be something I repeat. We are in agreement with others that the only thing good was the bun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherlocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronThomas, Director of Marketing at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi sherlocke,

Thank you for your recent review about your last visit to Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa. We were very disappointed to read how poorly the quality of our buffet food offerings. This normally is not the case as we receive hundreds of positive reviews throughout the year about how each of our buffet items are hot, flavorful and fresh. We hope that you consider trying us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My Husband and I have been weekly customers for over three years now. We come every Saturday for dinner, drinks and for some fun gaming. We are from Canada and the Casino's back home are expensive and had terrible slots. The Silver Reef has turned out to be just as terrible as any Canadian casino, if not worse. They raised their drink prices and the machines are horrible. We used to do pretty decent and win some weekends and or course lose some. For months now even before the expansion the casino has been sucking us dry. We talk to other Canadians and they agree the place has gotten bad and there is no reason to come here instead of at home. I would also like to point out that the game choices suck. They removed all of our favorites such as Star Wars, Wolverton, Haunted House and Party in Rio to only replace them with higher betting machines. With all the money they are making it would be nice to at least have some good games like Batman, Clue, Lord of the rings, Aladdin, wizard of Oz etc. The only popular newer game they have is The Hangover and it's a dollar minimum. The people in charge should go to Vegas and see what real machines are. My Husband and I decided we will not be going back every weekend and instead save our money for Vegas trips. It really is too bad that they are getting too big and feel they can charge more and tighten up the machines. We will miss coming here, but we don't have unlimited funds to lose.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TashaDuddek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronThomas, Director of Marketing at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent visit on TripAdvisor.com. We sincerely appreciate you coming to see us. We are disappointed to see that we failed to meet and exceed your expectations.

We receive thousands of positive comments about how we keep our slot floor very fresh with the hottest and newest Washington State approved slot titles. Unfortunately, many of the slot machines that you name are not approved by Washington State. As soon as the mentioned slot titles are available, I’m sure we’ll be putting them on the casino floor for your enjoyment. As for the drink prices, Silver Reef offers mostly top-shelf name brands for our guests’ enjoyment.

We feel that our guests’ experience at our property is far superior than what you will find at any casinos in Canada, mainly because our guests may enjoy smoking and drinking on the casino floor; which is not available in Canada. We also feel our customer service exceeds what you will find in most Canadian casinos.

TashaDuddek, your patronage is important to us, and even more important is your feedback. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

this is the second time we have stayed at the silver reef !!!! love it. the rooms are very nice and clean and use great produts to bath with and shampoo hair mmmmmm.... smells good.parking for overnight stay is great.,someone is always patrolling the lot,very safe. The casino floor is nice,large and clean. we had the seafood buffet and everyone enjoyed it !!! the next morning my husband and I used our coupons at the cantina for some yummies with coffee,very goooood :) overall we love the place :)

Room Tip: we stayed on the 6th foor room 622 overlooks the front enterance and waterfall
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chwkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronThomas, Director of Marketing at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Chwkgirl,

Thank you so much for your recent review of your latest stay with us. We value your opinion and we are happy to hear that your stay was a very good one. Great tip that you offer future guests!

We hope to see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
7.4 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#10 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
6.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
5.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
#4 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Orca Inn Suites
Orca Inn Suites
#2 of 4 in Ferndale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport
9.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa

Property: Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa
Address: 4876 Haxton Way, I-5 exit 260, Ferndale, WA 98248-9130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ferndale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 206 rooms & suites, beautiful Mt. Baker views, complimentary Silver Signature Breakfast and Wi-Fi, you're sure to enjoy your stay. The Diamond Executive Floor Level offers restricted access, a private lounge and upgraded amenities. It is home to our Diamond, Ruby, Emerald & Sapphire Specialty Suites. Enjoy our exercise room and indoor pool! Our full service spa has treatment rooms, whirlpool, serenity room, hot tub and sauna. Several restaurant options including The Buffet, casual dining restaurants, the high end Steak House and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Reef Hotel Ferndale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing