We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why can't i ever win at this casino?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferndale
Ferndale, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Why can't i ever win at this casino?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I've spent alot of money at this casino. Skagit, Northwood, and Nooksack are much better when it comes to staying ahead. I've been to the Silver Thief about 20 times and have never had the chance to walk out ahead. The new addition and all of the money the casino is spending, does not allow much chance for the average joe to win anything at all. Even the security guards told me "not many machines pay out due to the Silver Theifs spending. Save your money! Go to Skagit instead!

Room Tip: Don't drink too much! My father inlaw and i had 2 beers together, the staff told us we could not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynLibby, Front Office Manager at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. The Silver Reef strives to continually improve our products and services, and feedback from customers is of great assistance in this endeavor.

I will agree that it can be very frustrating when the games you play don’t seem to pay out. Contrary to rumors, we do not make short term adjustments to the payouts. As with any casino game the patterns of payment and reward can be cyclical; this is why casinos typically offer many different types of gaming - slots, blackjack, etc., - so that guests can try other games and hopefully "improve their luck."

We realize that you have many gaming options, so thank for your continued patronage of the Silver Reef Hotel • Casino • Spa.

Cordially,

Kathryn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    139
    61
    21
    20
See reviews for
65
196
15
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 734 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stumbled across this little gem by mistake. We get a very nice ,well appointed suite for a reasonable negotiated rate. Though in Vegas we get the suites free as long as we gamble.
Its a casino environment with a good fine dining option in the steak house. Staff in the restaurants are motivated and do their level best to accommodate and please. We are bringing our dog this evening and have been given a very good rate for her. Its okay for families here as a stop over as the pool is well away from the casino and bars.. the room service menu is reasonable and the gym small but adequate.

Room Tip: Request the suites and if its off peak ask for a package deal, you will get buffet brekkie and maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LuxuryAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynLibby, Front Office Manager at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your very nice review on Trip Advisor! The Silver Reef strives to continually improve our products and services, and feedback from customers is of great assistance in this endeavor.

I was pleased to hear good things about your recent visit.Your comments will be passed along to the appropriate people to let them know they are doing a good job. Thank you for taking the time to share. We look forward to welcoming you back again.


Cordially,


Kathryn Libby
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Arrived 9:45 & told they had no valet or reserved parking for hotel guests. Then we were informed that we would havea problem finding parking as the casino was very busy. Took 40 frustrating minutes to finally find parking. (No Im not kidding) Hotel was located in the middle of nowhere so there was not off site parking either. Were told only restaurant open was their "Steakhouse" . Steakhouse looked like Ho Jo restaurant and that was fine but thought it strange when we were greeted by a tuxedoed Mat rid'ee. Very odd as it was definately not an upscale establishment. Seated and then greeted by weirdly pretentious young male server dressed in tapestry embroidered vest like the rest of staff, who presented us with a giant sized OVERPRICED menu!!! Small steak & mash potatoes ,$33! That was the least expensive dinner item on the menu. We were hungry & had no other alternative for dinner for miles so we ordered 2 steaks. Then endured loud, drunk, beligerent, patrons next to us. Not shocked by much but can't post the xxx rated dialogue that was bellowing across the room on this review as it was too offensive.it was all weirdly juxtaposed with servers that didn't acknowledge it was even happening. They continued to serve the offenders as if it was all normal.?? Mentioned it to our server & he stared at us blankly like he didn't understand & in a flat robotic monotone voice said "Very sorry" then walked away. Was all so surreal we were waiting for Rod Serling to appear and tell us we had just entered "the twilight zone" Food runner dressed all in white presented us with huge silver dome covered plates. The food runner then stepped back from the table and the server stepped forward and proceeded to remove the dome that revealed a tiny in steak centre of the giant plate. All of this was happening while loud patrons picked their teeth and staggered and cursed around us. We have dined in hundreds of fine restaurants through out north america and europe and never encountered anything like this. Whole prestentation ritual was really weird. It was like if they pretended to be all regal they could trick patrons in to thinking that they were a "Fancy" restaurant lol!!! Steak was fine but definately not worth the price. Had upgraded room to the prestigious room "Diamond" level. Whoa ! Stale cigarette and perfume smell in the narrow hallways directed us to our room that was a classy as any roadside 2 star motel. However was presently surprised that it was fairly clean but it was not at all like the room that was advertised in photos. The chocolate covered cookie on the pillow was a yummy touch though . I booke this room based on the reviews. Have stayed in hundreds of hotels and have found that most hotel reviews have been fairly accurate. Not this one. Dont know who the "guests" are that have given this hotel such a high rating and I hate to be overly critical as life really is what you make of it. However,now that you know what to expect I guess it is your call as to whether you stay here or drive an hour up the i5 to the Tulalip hotel/casino that is very nice!

Room Tip: the best way to ensure a good room at this hotel is to go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkieVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynLibby, Front Office Manager at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. The Silver Reef strives to continually improve our products and services, and feedback from customers is of great assistance in this endeavor.


Cordially,
Kathryn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had an over night stay on Sept 1st, 2012. The room we had was clean and bright on a non smoking floor. The hotel was quiet and the hotel staff were very attentive.Lady friends who used the spa facilities had a very enjoyable experience and would use the facilities again when we stay next year. Our dinner at Panasia was decent and reasonably priced as were the drinks. There is a non smoking part of the Casino but smoke was still an issue and will continue being an issue until smoking is banned entirely-and that is not likely to happen any time soon. A buffet breakfast was included in the cost of our room, it suited us fine as it had fruit, yogurt, juice, eggs, toast and coffee as well as cereal, waffles and pastries-the usual fare like most hotels that have a breakfast included.
Our reason for staying was for the Car Show on Sept 2nd-staging starts at 7am so we stayed overnight. The admission to the car show was free, there was a decent band playing and food service was available in the parking lot. There were many draws for prizes though out the day and plaques and prizes were given for the 1st and 2nd place winners in the many categories of vehicles at the car show. Once the expansion is finished at the hotel the car show will also expand-this year it was limited to 200 cars due to limited parking. The car show is worth the trip and the stay at the hotel.
The only downside mentioned by some of our group was-no fridge in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 97Z28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynLibby, Front Office Manager at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. The Silver Reef strives to continually improve our products and services, and feedback from customers is of great assistance in this endeavor.

I was pleased to hear good things about your recent visit. Your comments will be passed along to the appropriate people to let them know they are doing a good job.

One note about the lack of refrigerators in the rooms - we opted to "go green" by saving electricity and not having fridges in every room, but they ARE available upon request.

Thank you for taking the time to share. We look forward to welcoming you back again.


Cordially,


Kathryn Libby
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
288 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Pros:
Location – located in a peaceful and quiet surroundings in the middle of nearly no where.
Staff – extremely polite and helpful
Cons:
Small extremely noisy hotel, the rooms did not have any sound protection. One could clearly hear the guests in the adjoining rooms.
Only 1 Roulette table in the whole casino. Did not see the logic behind that.
Continental breakfast was the same on both days we stayed there. No variation at all.
Worst of all No dedicated parking for hotel residents.

Stayed there from Aug 31 to Sept 2 2012 for 2 nights and the hotel were full as was the casino. The first impression is that the hotel is small. The front lobby was nicely designed even though space was limited. Check in was quick, courteous and efficient. We were booked into 1 room with 4 adults and were provided with only 2 towels. When room service was called we were promptly given 2 extra towels. There was a coffee/tea maker in the room but no fridge. The food at the buffet was mediocre to say the least and the food at the Panasia restaurant was nothing to right home about either. These were the only restaurants we tried. The first night the occupants in the adjoining room were loud and it went on well into the night. Finally at around 2:30 AM I guess they went to sleep. I informed guest services the next day and they informed me that I should have called them last night while it was going on and they would have taken care of it. I guess that was my mistake and hence cannot fault the hotel for this. The rooms itself were bright and clean and we were given the room with the Mt Baker view and that was nice. All in all I cannot find any faults with the room itself even though it was not high end. However the parking was a nightmare and that is certainly the hotel staff and management will need to have a close look at. Even though signs were posted for hotel Guest only there was no one to enforce that. On both days it took us a minimum of 15 to 20 minutes to find parking. When I asked the security about this he politely said that there was nothing they could do about it and hence they were looking to expand their parking lot in the future. The casino also left a little to be desired especially since there is only 1 Roulette table in the whole casino. Did not see the logic behind that. Is it that no plays roulette at the silver reef? When we were there the table was packed with no place to stand and at a couple of times the dealer did not even have enough coins to give out to all players. Over all I will say that the Silver reef is a nice place but lacks the WOW factor that would compel one to come back for more. Will I come here again? Probably not, we will see.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jpart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynLibby, Front Office Manager at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. The Silver Reef strives to continually improve our products and services, and feedback from customers is of great assistance in this endeavor.

I was disappointed to learn of the parking and noisy neighbor issues that you experienced, and I hope you will accept my apologies for these. Please be assured that your experience was not indicative of the high standards that we have set. While we can't guarantee perfect neighbors, we are always willing to address that issue promptly if it comes up. And, we are working hard to minimize parking issues during the construction of our new Event Center.


Cordially,
Kathryn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The room was dirty and not nice at all. My bill was all messed up and when I tried to correct it the service person had a lack of interest in making things right. This was really frustrating for me and I will do more research on a hotel the next time. I work really hard for my money and I should be able expect a certain level of respect regarding billing disputes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynLibby, Front Office Manager at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. The Silver Reef strives to continually improve our products and services, and feedback from customers is of great assistance in this endeavor.

I was disappointed to learn that you felt your room was dirty and that you received unacceptable customer service. I hope you will accept my apologies in this instance. Please be assured that your experience was not indicative of the high standard which we have set. I would very much like to get more information from you about how the room was dirty, and what about it you felt wasn't nice. Further, it would be very helpful if we could know more details about your customer service experience. The more we know about what happened, the better we can work to fix the problem.

At your convenience, I urge you to contact me directly at 360-383-0777, or email me through Trip Advisor. I would appreciate hearing more about your stay, and talking with you about how to make this right for you.

Cordially,
Kathryn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
408 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at the Silver Reef, and once again we were very happy with the experience.

Despite the fact they are renovating, we found ample parking close by at all times during our 2 night visit. The lot is regularly patrolled as well for those who may have a safety concern.

Check-in/out was quick, friendly and efficient.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable, I actually LIKE the old tube TVs since the picture - though smaller - is usually better quality than the flat screens most properties sport these days.

As with our last stay, the air-conditioning seemed to have problems though this time we had maintenance come up (within 5 minutes of calling!), and he simply programmed it to a lower temperature which worked great; this isn't something you can do on your own but it only took him a minute or so.

Free wi-fi worked fine and was reasonably quick.

Pool and hot tub was great, and so too was the free breakfast buffet, especially considering there were four of us.

It's worth noting that the adjacent gas station no longer carries any liquor, beer or wine. They still sell snacks and cigarettes, however.

We're looking forward to another visit once renovations are complete, though they did not in any way impact this stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ydnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynLibby, Front Office Manager at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your fabulous review on Trip Advisor! The Silver Reef strives to continually improve our products and services, and feedback from customers is of great assistance in this endeavor.

I was pleased to hear good things about your recent visit. And I'm very glad that parking wasn't an issue for you during our little construction project.

Your comments will be passed along to the appropriate people to let them know they are doing a good job. Thank you for taking the time to share. We look forward to welcoming you back again.


Cordially,


Kathryn Libby
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
7.4 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
5.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
#5 of 26 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
6.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 26 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport
5.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Bellingham Airport
5.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa

Property: Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa
Address: 4876 Haxton Way, I-5 exit 260, Ferndale, WA 98248-9130
Location: United States > Washington > Ferndale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Reef is the Home of the Best Slots and Biggest Winners! We are located 90 minutes North of Seattle and 60 minutes South of Vancouver, BC, open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, complete with a non-smoking section. In addition to a high quality gaming experience, we have a 206 room hotel, five restaurants (including our Award Winning Steak House), four bars, two espresso bars, and a relaxing spa. Located off I-5 Exit 260 & 4 minutes West in Ferndale, WA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Reef Hotel Ferndale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing