We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferndale
Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place for a break”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and it was great.
From the moment we pulled into the parking lot and the young lady asked if we wanted a ride to the hotel door till we checked out it was 1st rate.
We had a room on the sixth floor which was great. Very clean and a wonderfull nights sleep.
Every member of the staff we came into contact with were very helpfull and considerate.
Buffet breakfast was more than adequate and enjoyable.
Ate in the Panasia and the food was really good, could have been a little hotter coming from the kitchen.
Casino is a lot of fun, however the slots did seem a bit tight in my opinion.
We will definetely return as it is a lovely area to explore and the Silver Reef is a great little Hotel Casino resort to stay in.

Room Tip: The room s on the sixth floor are the best. You are required to use your room key card to gain acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaJohn1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    145
    62
    22
    24
See reviews for
69
206
16
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Our stay at the Silver Reef Hotel was a fantastic experience. Our room was extremely comfortable, the onsite experience made even more delightful by a friendly, accommodating staff. A buffet breakfast is included in the room rate, always a bonus for us.

Casino/gaming aside, this small hotel made an excellent base for a day trip sightseeing holiday around beautiful Whatcom County. We would book in here even for an overnight stay!

Onsite restaurants provide terrific eating experiences, from the delicious choices at Panasia to the renowned Silver Reef Steakhouse known for its fine dining and exceptional wine list.

Room Tip: Some rooms provide views across the pastoral landscapes...all rooms are quiet & comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank munchy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your fabulous online review! We appreciate you sharing your experience with others, and WE'LL be sure to share your kind words with our staff.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Kathryn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were 'forced' to stay at this casino hotel because of a family wedding party.

I am not sure I have stayed at any location that was so pleasantly accommodating in every respect. The main disadvantage of this site is hardly that: it is so small - probably less than 150 rooms - that it is very important to plan your visit in advance.

Specifics: First, by signing up for a casino card you get a lot of benefits, including sometimes room discounts, so don't hesitate to do that.

Their practice is to give a breakfast buffet for each person in the room. We were three and the coupon was welcome indeed, and probably added about 30-40 dollars in free benefits to the room charges! The buffet was excellent save for not having breakfast meats. (But on the Sunday we were there they did include a simply marvelous Eggs Benedict, including Canadian Bacon, on the buffet menu.)

The pool/spa/steam room/sauna was open and readily available from 7 am to 11 pm, with towels readily available. One indication of the careful design of the hotel is that the pool is located just opposite the lobby entrance, and at the first floor elevator exit. No walking through lengthy halls in swimming suits!

Although I am as non-smoking oriented as the next guy, we (because of changing plans) had to accept a room on the smoking floor. (Yes, they have a smoking floor in the hotel and a non-smoking gaming area in the casino. Take your pick.) The rooms were meticulously cleaned and we hardly noticed that the rooms were 'smoking.' So, don't reject the place even if you don't want a 'smoking' room. It will probably be fine, at leas ours was.

Another really fine touch for a newspaper junky like myself was the availability of free newspapers in the lobby each morning.

The bathrooms are not huge, but very acceptable. The toilet and tub are in a separate room fromt the sink, and there's a nice dressing table/bar/etc. in the unlocked part.

Closets fine, and enough furniture.

The place opened a couple of years ago before the huge flat screen hd tvs are in, so the television sets are the 'old' kind, but very usable in any case unless you're some kind of snobby tv junky!

A final note. The air conditioner/heater is under full control of the guests. In a variable climate like Washington, that is a real plus.

The clientele includes many Canadians, at least it seemed so. That added to a bit of good chatter and visiting.

Anyway, a huge plus for this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chuck0642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I guess it just goes to show that sometimes familly weddings aren't too bad, huh?

Feedback from our guests is always welcome, and positive reviews like yours are very much appreciated. I hope you make it back to Ferndale, Washington sometime and get the chance to visit us again!

Cordially,


Kathryn Libby
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is one of the better casino hotels in western Washington. It's located in the middle of nowhere, but is worth stopping by for gamers and travelers on I-5. The rooms are nice and well-appointed, and the staff unlike at many other tribal casinos are courteous and efficient. For those who like to gamble there is a wide variety of slot machines and table games. For the rest of us they have a great buffet, some good restaurants, and a nice pizzeria/deli. Their seafood buffet is above average and they make the best and most generous servings of braised shortribs in that part of the state

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sungron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynLibby, Front Office Manager at Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your kind words. I'm so glad you found us - we like to say that we're a "hidden gem!" The Silver Reef strives to continually improve our products and services, and feedback from customers is of great assistance in this endeavor. Your comments will be passed along to the appropriate people to let them know they are doing a good job; they'll appreciate hearing your good review.

We look forward to having you visit again.

Regards,

Kathryn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our son and his wife live in Ferndale so we stay at the Silver Reef when visiting them. We joined the Diamond Dividend Club and receive discounts on our rooms. We usually stay on the 6th floor (have to access it by using your room key). Rooms are nice, large and beds are very comfortable. There is a nice lounge area on the 6th floor for visiting with friends and family.
The only downside I find is the smoke. You smell it immediately when you enter the hotel. Not too bad on the upper floors and really not a problem in the rooms. Staff are friendly.
Casino is on the small side but fun. Drinks are reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Stay on the sixth floor, cost a little more but worth if for the privacy. Join Diamond Dividends Cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynLibby, Front Office Manager at Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your kind words. I'm sorry that you've found the smoke situation unsatisfactory; we work hard to manage this issue. The Silver Reef strives to continually improve our products and services, and feedback from customers is of great assistance in this endeavor.

We look forward to having you visit again.

Regards,

Kathryn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We opted for a "stay-cation" for our anniversary and made our way up to Ferndale from Seattle. We were greeted by very friendly front desk staff. A wonderful way to start. Our room was very nice. (and I am VERY picky about rooms.) We had dinner at the Steakhouse and it was delicious. They asked if were were celebrating an occasion. We said yes. We then received an appetizer and palate cleanser courtesy of the chef. We played some table games and, unfortunately, lost a bit there but the dealers were very friendly and outgoing. That made it a little less painful. We golfed the next day at nearby Shuksan GC which was beautiful. (wish they had a golf course on property thought). When we returned to our room, we had a little goodie bag with a card congratulating us on our anniversary. (we had told them upon check in that we were celebrating our anniversary). Overall, a great experience! I highly recommend the Silver Reef!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynLibby, Front Office Manager at Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your kind words. I'm so glad we were able to help you celebrate your anniversary. The Silver Reef strives to continually improve our products and services, and feedback from customers is of great assistance in this endeavor. Your comments will be passed along to the appropriate people to let them know they are doing a good job; they'll appreciate hearing your good review.

We look forward to having you visit again.

Regards,

Kathryn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurreyBC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Haven't used the hotel and spa but we are regular visitors to the restaurant in the Casino. You can bet your bottom dollar that the food will be good especially the soups. In fact the all you can eat soup and salad bar on the menue for $6.95 is one hell of a deal!
The all you can eat sea food buffet is a must win situation , especially if you take advantageof the free birthday buffet you obtain when signing up for the membership card. It is well worth the trip from White Rock/ South Surrey especially if you have a winning flutter on the machines whilst you are there!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank percsSurreyBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynLibby, Front Office Manager at Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your kind words! The Silver Reef strives to continually improve our products and services, and feedback from customers is of great assistance in this endeavor.

And maybe you'll get the chance to stay in the hotel soon :)

We look forward to having you visit again.

Regards,

Kathryn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
7.4 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
450 reviews
3.0 mi away
Orca Inn Suites
Orca Inn Suites
#2 of 4 in Ferndale
24 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn
Best Western Heritage Inn
#8 of 26 in Bellingham
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bellingham
6.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 26 in Bellingham
496 reviews
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn Grand Suites
Quality Inn Grand Suites
#18 of 26 in Bellingham
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa

Property: Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa
Address: 4876 Haxton Way, I-5 exit 260, Ferndale, WA 98248-9130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ferndale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Reef is the Home of the Best Slots and Biggest Winners! We are located 90 minutes North of Seattle and 60 minutes South of Vancouver, BC, open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, complete with a non-smoking section. In addition to a high quality gaming experience, we have a 206 room hotel, five restaurants (including our Award Winning Steak House), four bars, two espresso bars, and a relaxing spa. Located off I-5 Exit 260 & 4 minutes West in Ferndale, WA. All hotel rooms on property are now non-smoking and pets will no longer be allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Reef Hotel Ferndale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing