We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Calm & peaceful bit of Japan in busy mall” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koharu Japanese Restaurant

Koharu Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 228 Restaurants in Federal Way
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Calm & peaceful bit of Japan in busy mall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The food was delicious. We could have been eating in Toyko. My husband had yakisoba noodles with meat and veggies - it was enough for four people! I had Tempura. It was crispy and beautifully presented. The miso soup was great. I'd read about the "jello" and was pleased to taste the coffee gelatin laced with a milky topping. We could have had something similar in lots of Japanese cities. My only disappointment was the lack of tea. The table was set with lovely tea cups but tea was never offered. Strange!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Portland_OregonGrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonney Lake
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Asian restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I was very interested in visiting a "Japanese" buffet restaurant simply because it seemed to promise something different from the usual Chinese or Asian restaurant fare that is so common in the Northwest. As it turned out the fare was very similar. Some niceties were the fish actually looked like fish, not hidden under a glob of deep fat fried breading, although there was plenty of deep fat fried things to choose from. If you like sushi, this restaurant is your dream come true. An obligatory sign stating the dangers of eating raw meat assures the authenticity of the wide number of sushi variations to choose from. Personally, this restaurant fare was not for me so the relatively high cost of the meal made my visit less than pleasant. I do recommend the green tea iced cream.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
“Not a good Japanese restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

My family and I went here for dinner after reading all the rave reviews. While we were greeted very friendly. The service after we ordered was horrible. For the price you pay the food was not up to the quality of many Japanese restaurants in the area for half the price. We will definately never be dining here again!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bombolinatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our go to place for Japanese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have been going to Koharu for many years for every kind of celebration. We go sometimes just for the atmosphere and I always ask to go there for my birthday. It is nice to have a place where you can count on your favorite food not changing. My husband always has the Tonkatsu and I usually have Agadashi Tofu. The atmosphere is wonderfully peaceful and the service is warm and friendly. If you didn't know where it was you might miss it as you need to come in on a quick right turn off the main road. Well worth finding.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ToniB119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Japanese Restaurant in Federal Way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a gem that my wife discovered quite some time ago and I just wanted to share it. Her favorite is the gyoza and she gets the Joneses if she doesn't get her fix a couple of times a month. All of the sushi we have had has been excellent. The block cod was also great but one of the best things is not on the menu. Do yourself a favor and order a Henry's Roll, a warmed salmon roll that is fantastic. Give it a try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimboflyguy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koharu Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Koharu Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing