We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Returning to the taste of the islands of Hawaii” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pac Island Grill

Pac Island Grill
Ranked #14 of 228 Restaurants in Federal Way
Cuisines: Hawaiian, Barbecue, Fusion, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ocean Shores, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Returning to the taste of the islands of Hawaii”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We started going to Pac Island Grill about 5 years ago and continue to return whenever possible. The 4 co-owners are so warm and wonderful. They welcome people of all ages and will go out of their way to make our time so worth while. The menu has such a variety of choices; combinations, appetizers, sides, and desserts! We are known for altering the menu and we have never been turned down. The desserts are just as great as well. Sometimes there are specials; main courses and desserts.

There is entertainment on certain weekends and the bands help bring the atmosphere of Hawaii. Sometime the waitresses will perform hulas with the band as well.

My highlight was when I held my Retirement Party several years ago there. The whole team went out of their way to make sure everything was right during this special occassion. I had requested The Prayer to be played on the PA and they had the hula performed as well. Everyone had the best time.

We will continue to eat there for as long as they are there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Marilyn_Mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great staff and owners - food very good with good portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Good food, very authentic Hawaiian - should be there are Hawaiian! Fun people, very homey atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim-and-Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Unique Resturant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I placed a to go order, came to pick it up and my order was not ready but, that is where the disappointment ended. I order a large verity of there bbq meats and seafood, everything was amazingly good and was a great change from everything else in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just like Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

A pleasant surprise that we found across the street from the motel we stayed at in Federal Way. Being from Hawaii, it is not often that we find new "local" restaurants around the Sound. Turned out to be owner Ray & his wife's anniversary, and we also ran into some old friends there. What a small world, as Ray & my wife Jolayne came from the same area on the Big Island of Hawaii. The food was authentic, and satisfied our craving for good "local-style" grinds!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank scottlb767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Favorite Hawaiian style restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We have eaten here about 4-5 times now in the past year and a half since we found this place. It is our favorite restaurant, the atmosphere is tropical, even though it is a small place it is very well decorated and comfortable. You walk in on a rainy day and suddenly you feel like you are on vacation for an hour! Often they have live hawaiian music on weekends, and we took our kids there in May and it is now their favorite too and can't wait to go back. Meals are delicious, Loli chicken is my fave, kids love the teriyaki chicken, and everything else we have tried is delicious. Love the Hapuna pie and the tropical iced tea too, and the lova lava chocolate cake. Great value, great service everytime!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank yamacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pac Island Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pac Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing