We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People must like it.”
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #3 of 232 Restaurants in Federal Way
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Oxnard, California
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“People must like it.”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stopped here while on a road trip and were hungry. The parking lot was full of cars so we suspected that the food would be good. The prices were very reasonable but the food is quite ordinary. The service was marginal. If you just need a basic meal, I think Black Bear Diner would be ok but don't expect anything memorable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sea_Squared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    84
    28
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Poor service and mediocre food, unfortunately lots of mediocre food.”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We made the mistake of stopping here for breakfast recently. The portions are enormous, the prices are reasonable but the quality of the food is just plain mediocre. I really enjoy good diner food, and I have eaten at some of the finest "dives" in the US. The corned beef hash was extremely greasy, to the point of being inedible. The accompanying eggs were cold and I had the better of the 2 meals. Imagine what the other breakfast was like. They were able to make up with the low quality of the food by having a slow and uninterested server. About the best thing you could say about this meal was that it was over. I am just sorry we waited 30 minutes to eat there on a Saturday morning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RDBAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Large portions, reasonable prices”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for plenty of food for a reasonable price, this is the place. Our favorite breakfast place, lots of menu choices, quality food along with excellent service. Oh, try the bread pudding!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“plenty of food”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

my son had recommended this place so we stopped in and wow they have a huge menu.breakfast is served all day and the meals were the homey type meat loaf, pot roast etc. the food was good the service was great and the portions were huge..i would say if your hungry this is the place to go.. and i huge variety of desserts also.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cher98115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Huge Food”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Saying that the portions at the Black Bear Diner are generous is like saying that Refrigerator Perry is on the big side. The portions are enormous. The quality is excellent. The prices are more than fair. My spouse has been a leading member of the Clean Plate Club for many years, but even he struggles (not always successfully) to maintain his position in the Club.

The breakfasts are the best part of the menu. In particular the sausages, the biscuits, and the hash browns are extremely good. For lunch or dinner, the Reuben sandwiches and hamburgers are top notch.

The servers are friendly in the way that diner servers usually are friendly. The wait can be long, particularly on a weekend morning. However, your patience will be rewarded, and your waistline will be expanded.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seala_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing