We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy”
Review of Billy McHale's Restaurant - CLOSED

Billy McHale's Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Alden, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoy”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Should have know it would be a bad dinner when there were not to many cars around the restaurant in this busy neighborhood. My daughter got the special, prime rib. It was awful. The color was grey, cold and fatty. The potatoes were hardly warm and the beans cold. I ordered a chicken sandwich which I thought was ok but very moist, wet on the bottom bun. I was doing ok till I ate a French fry that tasted like mold, rotten. Prices were a little high, no water was served with dinner and was not asked if I would like a refill with my drink. WOULD NOT go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    15
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor quality food at high prices”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

$10.25 for the most pathetic serving of potato skins I have ever seen. I am not a big eater but if I am paying $10.25 for an appetizer I expect to get my money's worth. The food is very marginal. Like a lame chain restaurant, but dingy and dated décor. The windows were filthy which made me cringe to think what the kitchen must be like.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“N”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Plates were too expensive for the taste and quality of the food. Decor is very dated but fun to watch. Their food at the Taste of Tacoma was great but not at the restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lightwave21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really missed the mark”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Went for a late lunch and we were very disappointed. The place was virtually empty but it took forever to get served. Once our order was taken it was a good 20 minutes before we saw our food. Water and drinks were long gone and no refills were offered. The burger was greasy and my wife's sandwich was almost cold. It obviously had to wait for someone to finish cooking the burger. I won't be back anytime soon.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jimboflyguy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Billy McHale's”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We enjoy going here. It's easy, it's accessible. Wait staff is always great. Don't do the bar, so can't comment about that. Love their homemade potato chips. Often they have specials. Husband loves the ribs and prime rib. I enjoy the Rueben and the steaks. It's not posh & there is no loud music (thank God!!!!! - we do not go back to places like that). Love all the trinkets and the trains that decorate.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al-Sharon Hoffm... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy McHale's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing