We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Standard Courtyard, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Seattle Federal Way

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Seattle Federal Way
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Federal Way
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
139 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Standard Courtyard, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I would give this Courtyard 3.5 stars if I could. It's a totally average Courtyard in just about every way.

Good points:
*Friendly staff
*Good location with lots of restaurants in walking distance
*Remodeled lobby with business center & nice lounge
*Guest laundry available
*Clean, comfortable rooms
*Many rooms have great views of Mt Ranier

Bad points:
*The rooms with Mt Ranier views face a noisy highway, so don't request one if you are noise sensitive
*Despite the snazzy lobby, the actual rooms are not remodeled - my carpet definitely was musty
*Their wifi kept crashing my IPad

It's a fine place to stay in the area - way better than the Best Western across the street. Know that some of the rooms have Jacuzzi tubs which is kind of odd for a Courtyard. I mean, who says to their significant other "hey, let's have a sexy weekend at the Courtyard on Federal way...they have Jacuzzi tubs"?

Room Tip: Mt Ranier facing rooms also face a busy highway, so avoid them if you are sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    62
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
24
20
9
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just off the highway 5 and very near so many great restaurants and shopping. Don't hesitate to go to RAMS next door for any meal. Great beer prices at 3.25 a pint and an incredible menu. If its busy..go directly to the bar.
The hotel was clean and good friendly staff. There is a health food market about 500 feet away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seaslider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfield, Arkansas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

At the end of our great adventures across WA, we ended up at this hotel in the Seattle area to fly my girlfriend home. At first we were going to stay just one night than move to a hotel closer to the airport for an early morning flight, but we loved this hotel and its location so much that we stayed 2 nights. The location is perfect, easy access off the hwy. It is in a shopping area that made it easy to go to a movie, shop, and dine...Clean, comfortable and great service is what we got for a pretty good rate, as they matched the lowest internet rate and welcomed us right on in...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WindyTevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Room was very clean, as well as the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and cushy, and the lobby itself was nice. We don't normally stay in hotels like this one, so to us it felt rather ritz. I believe we got a good room for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank yehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
141 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was a very nice hotel. Staff was great. Beds were great. Across the parking lot is a strip mall containing an Indian restaurant, hair salon, and on the other side of the strip mall is a natural foods grocery store and a movie theatre. We asked for a room on the strip-mall side of the hotel because I didn't want to hear freeway noise, and we were placed on the 8th of 9 floors. What I didn't realize until we rode up in the elevators is that you can see Mount Rainier from the freeway side of the hotel on the higher floors.

Room Tip: If it's a nice day, ask for a high room on the freeway side if you want a view of Mount Rainier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stay at the Courtyard by Marriott in Federal Way for work. It is right off the interstate that takes you right into the heart of Seattle. You have a lot of food choices nearby, as well as a movie theater. The hotel itself is nice and clean. They have a great indoor pool and jacuzzi. I recommend requesting a room that faces north if you are a light sleeper. The southern windows face the interstate and you can hear the traffic.

Room Tip: I recommend requesting a room that faces north if you are a light sleeper. The southern windows fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookeworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Hills, KY
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for two weeks, and I can't complain about anything. I was privileged enough to be able to book one of the large corner suites with a bedroom and living room. The suite was awesome. I would imagine it would be perfect for a family with kids. I found the bed to be very comfortable, and an unexpected surprise was a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. The rooms are also equipped with sound proof windows, and they work wonders. The hotel is directly in the flight path of SeaTac and I promise you will never hear the planes if the windows are closed. As far as location, this hotel is situated right off of Interstate 5, and a mere 10-15 minute drive from airport. Right next door there is a restaurant/bar (which I will also be reviewing) that is open until 2AM. There are also several other restaurants, a mall, and two movie theaters all within walking distance of the hotel. The fitness center is nice for a hotel fitness center. They do have free weights which is virutally unheard of in hotels. The cardio equipment is updated and new. One suggestion I might add to improve the fitness center is a scale. It says a lot about a place if you can stay for two weeks and not have a complaint about anything (staff, amenities, room, etc.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knoll911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Federal Way
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle/Federal Way
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Evergreen Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Seattle Federal Way
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Federal Way
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Federal Way
Comfort Inn Federal Way
#5 of 12 in Federal Way
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
1.9 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Federal Way
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Seattle Federal Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Seattle Federal Way

Property: Courtyard Seattle Federal Way
Address: 31910 Gateway Center Blvd S, Federal Way, WA 98003-5638
Location: United States > Washington > Federal Way
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Federal Way
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Seattle Federal Way 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at the Courtyard Federal Way, Washington provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. This Seattle hotel features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our Go Board. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. This provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning including Starbucks coffee and evening dinner service with cocktails. We're only a 1/2 hr from downtown Seattle attractions like the Space Needle and minutes from the Seattle-Tacoma Airport. Enjoy year-round activities at nearby Mt. Rainier. Our guest rooms feature luxury Marriott bedding, flat screen TV, refrigerator and complimentary high-speed internet access. We also have lots of meeting space and a professional staff to make your event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Seattle Federal Way reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Seattle Federal Way Hotel Federal Way
Courtyard Federal Way
Federal Way Courtyard
Federal Way Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing