We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good food, a little sanitized for the suburbs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East India Grill

East India Grill
Ranked #8 of 224 Restaurants in Federal Way
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good food, a little sanitized for the suburbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I asked the front desk of my hotel for a restaurant recommend and the clerk said East India Grill, which is walking distance. She helpfully added "they're like...legit Indian". I'm not sure if the area has problems with illicit Southeast Asian joints, but I can say EAG was legit, which is borne out by favorable Yelp reviews.

First off, their papadums are great - supremely crispy and delicious, with fresh chutneys. That serems like a small matter, but it sets a tone. There is a pretty respectable wine list too - also a pleasant surprise. I would define this restaurant as "above average Indian food for Suburbanites". I do not mean that as a criticism. EAG is clean, tastefully decorated and the service is friendly. It's safe - it's not a hole in the wall with dubious hygiene (my favorite kind, btw)

Safe can equal tradeoffs though - my vindaloo was ordered spicy (duhhh....because it is by definition) but had just enough heat to make my lips tingle. I was really hoping for a face melting, nose running experience but perhaps they wanted to spare the other diners. That aside, the dish had a good spice flavor, if not the heat, and I ate it up.

I'm pretty sure you can do FAR worse in the area which seems to be satiated with chains. Skip the chicken flingers or whatnot at Ram and get some "legit Indian" here instead.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    26
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Non friendly Manager !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

For a restaurant I would definitly expect the manager to be friendly,but here the situation was different.

I try to avoid this place just because of this very reason,and there are so many good Indian restaurants few miles away too(In n around Renton,Tukwila).

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anup01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Arrogant Manager”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This restrant manager doesn't have respect towards humans(Customers is a word he won't understand in life time) food is the worst you can get in this area.
Do not go to this place.

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Azhar001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Whenever I travel on buiness I search out nearby Indian food. Sometimes I'm lucky and its good and sometimes I'm not. This was EXCELLENT. I ordered the Tandoori Scallops. I was a little concerned about ordering seafood at an Indian restaurant, but when I ordered it, the waiter said, excellent choice. He suggested I try some garlic naan with it too. When the food arrived I was very pleasantly surprised with the presenation and the scallops were cooked to perfection. I will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“excellent authentic India food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

One of the best Indian restaurants in the Seattle area, Great tasting food, and excellent service. The mixed grill is superb. Go for their lunch buffet, and try a taste of many of their dishes. The owner takes great pride in his business and it shows. You can't go wrong dining here. We enjoy going as often as we can.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East India Grill also viewed

 

Been to East India Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing