We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience all around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Federal Way
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Federal Way
Certificate of Excellence
ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience all around”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We are an active senior couple and found this hotel just perfect for our tastes. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and much to our delight, very quiet. The hot breakfast was truly impressive with just about every breakfast food imaginable with something for everyone. We especially enjoyed the fresh fruit. The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating, especially Don who gave us invaluable tips for our travels. We were pleasantly surprised that the hotel was within walking distance to the bus transit station as well as numerous good restaurants and shopping areas. Complimentary newspapers
were available every day. We are looking forward to a repeat visit!

Bill and Jackie

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k8aex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    60
    16
    9
    8
See reviews for
54
36
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Collins, CO
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I feel it's necessary to clear up a few characteristics of this hotel that are ambiguous in all the internet resources. I used all the internet resources at my disposal to identify this property as a newer, clean one. Firstly, make no mistake, this is an old hotel. The hallways are dark, the plumbing is old, the carpet is dirty looking. Remodels in the common areas and the exquisite, exotic landscaping around the property have dulled this fact, especially upon first inspection. But make no mistake, this place is old. And for all the money spent to recondition the public areas of the property, the rooms still have ancient mattresses topped with newer pads, old style televisions with fuzzy pictures, and obsolete, if functional, air conditioners. My second issue with this property is a typed sign on the elevator wall warning guests to not leave "free standing navigation units" in their cars overnights, and that the hotel is not responsible for items left in cars. So, there's crime in the area. The elevator doors were scratched up with graffiti, so this is hardly a surprise, but it's unsettling when a property has to warn you about its neighborhood. You may be able to see now why a hotel here in Federal Way is $85, whereas a hotel of the same brand ten miles north, close to the airport is $120. Take your pick. I'd finally like to say that the framed poster by the elevators indicating that "christ is the caretaker of this place" was offensive and tacky.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgetheow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not bad for the AAA rate - $99. Fantastic location in Federal Way - restaurants, shopping like Best Buy and Walmart within walking distance. Room was fine though the tv is the old tube variety. The bathroom sink is not actually in the bathroom but no big deal. Nice pool and very warm hot tub. Great free parking too. Nice breakfast - sausages, scrambled eggs (though a bit salty) and boiled eggs, make your own waffles, fruit, cereal, even instant noodles! There were two computers in the lobby as well - the internet was fast though the wi-fi in the room a bit slow. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yahplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I understand that this was a roadside hotel and it not a 5 star but I paid for this room and expect it to be of at least minimum standard quality. We got in late and in lamp lighting it looked fine. The next morning I realized it wasn't that clean. The bedding and towels were at least. Here is the rundown of the issues: they gave us a smoking room (they still exists?!) which made our stuff totally reak and nauseated me at night. The carpet and bed skirt were stained. Bathroom floor was unmopped..when we put a bath mat down it came up with black stains. Wallpaper needed replacing. The most annoying was that the shower had a curved rod which was hung incorrectly and the curtain (which was too small), fell to the middle which just made water get all over the bathroom. It wouldnt take much to make the room better its just under poor management.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acbliss1386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel was nice. The staff was very friendly at check in.
Hotel looks to have had some renovations. But still has old box tv's, and 2nd floor has a funny smell. (Guessing it's probably from the smoking rooms).
We didn't eat breakfast but looked like it offered many item.
Probably won't stay here again, only because of location and the smell.
Overall it was a positive stay for just a quick trip. But would choose somewhere else if staying more than one night.

Room Tip: Stay off of 2nd floor if smells bother you at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I'm not the pickiest traveller, but this place could use some work. Front desk staff was polite, but dry. Room smelled a little weird, but seemed clean, but the hallway outside our room stunk of cigarette smoke, yuck!! My kids were asking "mommy what's that yucky smell??" The pool seemed great the first night, but was drained the second night and they wouldn't tell us why (kind of, ok VERY creepy.)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MereNobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Hotel is clean and the staff were polite and helpful. This is conveniently located close to the Transit Center. The front desk printed out a bus schedule to downtown Seattle and for $5 one way - one adult and two children - traveled in a coach bus to the Seattle Center. It was wonderful. We didn't have to deal with parking and the coach bus did not make any stops. There is a Walmart close for things you may need along with the Crossings - a mall with everything including a movie theatre. There is also a discount movie theatre close by as well. Breakfast was decent and we have no complaints. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Realaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Federal Way hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Seattle/Federal Way
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Federal Way
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle/Federal Way
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Seattle Federal Way
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Seattle - Federal Way
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Seattle Federal Way
Courtyard Seattle Federal Way
#4 of 13 in Federal Way
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Federal Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Federal Way

Property: Comfort Inn Federal Way
Address: 31622 Pacific Hwy S, Federal Way, WA 98003-5439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Federal Way
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Federal Way
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Federal Way 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Federal Way reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Federal Way Hotel Federal Way
Federal Way Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing