We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool park right on the water” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howarth Park

Howarth Park
Ranked #6 of 36 things to do in Everett
Attraction details
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cool park right on the water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

We asked for a recommendation at the hotel, and we were not disappointed! This park is right on the water with beach to roam on and water to play in. The water there is pretty cold, but it is very interesting and fun. There's a bit of a walk down some stairs to get to the overlook and then some stairs down to the beach, so isn't accessible via wheelchair. Over all, a fun and cool place to hang out with the family.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank amyjosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
199 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Good view of the harbor. Nice big field for lawn games. Excellent on a sunny, clear day. Good for picnics.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
488 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Watch out for car prowlers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is a park off Mukilteo Boulevard with 3 parking lots. If you park in the lower parking lot, be aware, there are lots of car prowls. Don't leave anything in your vehicle in this parking lot.

The park has access to the water via a bridge. The upper parking lot is closest to the bathrooms and kids toys.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank western u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice small beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Great views small and pet friendly wish it had a bathroom we would have stayed longer. I love this place at high tide we evrn saw a couple of seals

Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
166 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views, unique trails, and a bit of the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

At the top of the hill, there is a playground with a fenced lookout over Puget Sound. It's a shady spot for a picnic (there are tables) or a hike on the marked trail through the woods. The hiking trail was closed when we visited, due to a damaged bridge. The playground has swings, a merry-go-round, and a climbing structure. There are also restrooms inside of a building in this area; however, in the ladies room, not all stalls had doors.

Drive farther down the hill and there's a parking area for the beach. This is not really a place you want to load up on gear, because the beach is a bit of a haul from the parking area. You must walk over a set of planks set over wetlands, then up several flights of stairs, across a railroad bridge, then down a large, spiral staircase. I wouldn't want to be hauling a cooler full of ice for that trip! If you have a train-obsessed child (or adult), you can stand on the bridge and watch the trains pull into Everett below you, looking down into coal cars and other cargo.

The beach itself is small, and contains sand, rocks, and large driftwood trees. It was crowded on the sunny Friday afternoon when we arrived. There are no facilities, other than those at the top of the hill, so be ready to hike. This park is better suited for those without mobility issues. Parking is easy during the workday, but fills up fast on summer afternoons and weekends.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank taragl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howarth Park also viewed

 

Been to Howarth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing