We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe an off day?”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tav

The Tav
Ranked #8 of 108 Restaurants in Ellensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Maybe an off day?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Went in yesterday with my boyfriend to get a beer and a bite before heading to The Gorge to see Dave Matthews. Place was packed (rodeo weekend) so we were prepared to wait. Sat at a table for 10 minutes patiently waiting for menus. The waitress went to the tables next to us and behind us and never acknowledged us. The waitress was collecting the menus from the table right behind us and so as she turned to leave I gently touched her arm and said "Excuse me. May we have those menus?" She gave me the stink eye and gave me the menus without uttering a word. We left and went to the Ironhorse Brewery and had pizza delivered there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hollie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    39
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellensburg, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of my go-to's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

One can never go wrong with The Tav when looking for a cold beer, good burger and fun atmosphere. It was one of the first places I ever ate when I moved to Ellensburg for college 6 years ago, and now that I am a "local" I still go there on a regular basis, whether it be to catch a beer after a run or hike, watch a Seahawks game with friends, or when my college friends come back and INSIST on a visit to The Tav for one rendition or another of their Mother Burgers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Lake, Indiana
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice lunch find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Looking for somewhere to eat lunch while traveling and found this place. Glad we did. The food was good and so was the service. Interesting place downtown. Skip the fast food on the express and go here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
459 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Decent food and bet on tap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have friends who live in Eburg, so this is a favorite place to come sit for a while and catch up, and grab nachos and beer, or a burger. The food was better, maybe a lot better, when we first started coming here in 2002, but it's still decent. the rotating beer selection is always good, and the staff is friendly. I come for the atmosphere, the brick walls with the names and initials of those who've come here before, the wonderful enclosed outdoor patio. If you like that kind of place, check it out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Shrimp and fries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I've been eating at The Tav before it was legally allowed because my dad used to bring it home and it's always been amazing. I'm partial to the shrimp and fries, I've gotten them more times than I can count and I'm never disappointed. The salads are great too, as well as the Texas Toothpicks, and nachos. My husband always gets a burger and comes away happy. This place also has a great atmosphere and serves up great beer. It's fun to come in the summer in an evening to sit outside with live music. They also have an adjoining room for gatherings or parties. I visit the Tav every time I visit Eburg.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shell9163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tav also viewed

 

Been to The Tav? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing