We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic sports/college/locals hangout!”
Review of The Tav

The Tav
Ranked #14 of 109 Restaurants in Ellensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic sports/college/locals hangout!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stopped on a whim and loved it! Great staff and atmosphere. The food was amazing. Burger cooked to perfection, fresh salad. Server was attentive but not clingy. Great selection of beer. Enticing specials. I will make the trip from Spokane just to eat here again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wetpeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    41
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great burgers, awesome chowder on Friday, best prime rib in town”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Love this place. I just wish you could bring your kid in during daytime hours to get some lunch. So please allow families it's one of the best places to eat in town

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Countylivin34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Best Burger Under $5”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Yes, it's a college dive bar but people from every age group and demographic converge at The Tav. It's pretty hard to complain about a really tasty burger for $4.50 and good fries and onion rings as well. The place is kinda loud and has appropriate decor, great selection of beer on tap and pool tables. If this description sounds good, you'll love the place, otherwise don't go expecting some hipster bar.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hungry Mother burger and fries”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

It was flavorful and juicy the way a good burger should be. Fries were hot and small, excellent. Service was good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank YakimaTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Flip Flops? REALLY?”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ok, had a burger here, hoping for the best but when we sat down our "waiter" walked over in bare feet and flip flops... I'm NOT joking, I wish I was. I could swear this is a Health Violation!!! OMG. So we ordered burgers and margaritas. This joint is a total college bar, well margaritas are sour and not good.. alas, I drank anyway cause I couldn't waste the tequilla. Burger arrived by Flip Flop kid and, again, I cannot understand why people think this is a good burger. I am on a mission to find a burger in this town, and I'm not having success of any kind. Im deep in the middle of Angus land and the beef quality is not good. There is no flavor and I can't come back. I feel for the folks here, I cannot imagine how life can go on without a good, quality, hand formed, grilled burger seasoned to perfection and slapped on a quality bun with some fresh lettuce and tomato. UG! I left sad, unhappy and just downright freaked out by the waiter in FLIP FLOPS and bare feet. OMG!! GROSS.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SillySchmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tav also viewed

 

Been to The Tav? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing