We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an Express?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Ellensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“This is an Express?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

For a ten year old hotel in a cow town/college town it wasn't too bad!. The rooms were large and clean, the beds were comfortable and if you're lucky enough to get the side of the hotel with the creek you'll have a nice little view.
The hotel was fully booked and yet our room was very quiet. As we checked in the one and only elevator was just starting to be serviced (3pm) and we thought great we were on the third floor but we were allowed to use the elevator but it was down for an hour after we were allowed up so it was probably bad for the next guests.Sort of strange to close the elevator for service at check in time on a Friday.
A little maintenance care would go a long way in the rooms though as the chair fabric was worn, the tub porcelain was chipped and repaired with the wrong color, the wooden entertainment center was chipped by probably the vacuum cleaner over the years.
The room was very clean no dust, not even on the windowsill.
Another oddity besides the elevator issue was this is a pet friendly hotel and we were told that the pets are only allowed on the 1st floor, as I have pet allergies (that's why we were on the 3rd floor) however, when we went down for breakfast just 5 rooms away a man was leaving his room with his hunting dog, so don't know how strict the policy is actually. I didn't have any issues with my allergies in my room, so housekeeping must have done a great job cleaning my room or no pets were in my room.
The breakfast was not what I expected from a Holiday Inn Express! it was superior to any express I have ever stayed at before....they seemed to have everything you could think of and the food tasted very good, it was hot and fresh! And the attendant was always cleaning and stocking it up!
When we left we noticed that we did not receive the standard bill under the door so I went to the front desk and had to check out there instead. But I was assured by the man there that I should have received the bill under the door so I wouldn't have had to stop by, but I was glad I did because he was very friendly and personable and he should be commended for his attitude
and getting us on our way quickly!
On a side note FYI This hotel does have a indoor pool and a hot tub but we did not use those facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for the side with the creek! Choose the 3rd floor if you want to stay away from pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    65
    19
    3
    6
See reviews for
67
42
12
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed for one night traveling across Washington state. Check in was great - the clerk (can't remember her name) was fantastic and friendly. She offered suggestions of places to see and shop in town, as well as recommendations of places to eat. Room was clean and very well appointed. Hotel in general was in good state of repair and clean. Breakfast was great as far as the standard hotel fare goes - yogurt, fresh fruit, and cereal, as well as some hot breakfast items, waffles, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baja500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista
Level Contributor
179 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for the night and headed out the next am. Bed was very comfortable, nice new pillows. Room was spacious. Had a nice view of a little stream and field. Wifi worked very well. They had a very good breakfast. Scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits and gravy, plus yogurt, cereal and pastries. They had something for everyone and were constantly refilling it, which was nice. You didn't have to ask. Was greeted with bottled water and cookies, nice! Everyone was very friendly. Thought they were expensive, but it was worth it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jhurd6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We come to Ellensburg every year for the CWU Homecoming game and over the past 18 years have stayed in some questionable hotels, however the Holiday In Express is my Favorite and has been our hotel of choice since it opened (Minus one year when they were booked up) The Staff is always friendly and helpful. This year Konstantine was great with checking in our whole group. I saw him helping numerous people throughout my stay and regardless of what he was doing he always had a smile. Breakfast was warm and delicious. Wifi worked great. The room was clean and I really appreciated the choice of soft and firm pillows. Only negative was the refrigerator in my room. It sounded like an extremely loud ticking clock. It was unbearable, but luckily I didn't have anything in the fridge so after trying to deal with the noise I just unplugged it and had a very good nights sleep. We will be back. See you next year!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Outdoorgirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

It takes amazing service for me to give 5 stars and this hotel had it in spades. Konstantine was outstanding. I made many changes and updates to our reservations and he always helped me with grace. Breakfast was good, we slept soundly and the room was clean. There are spots in the hotel that need a fresh coat of paint, but overall the place is in decent shape and clean. Great location just off the highway (but you don't hear it), walking distance to coffee shops, restaurants and late night drinks. We will be back due to the great service. Thank you Brittney and team for another great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnabow, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Enjoyed our overnight stay during our trip to eastern Washington. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The room was large and quiet. Breakfast was standard Holiday Inn Express type. Desk staff were helpful in giving local information and directions. We would stay there again when in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver B.C.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We just stayed at the Holiday Inn last weekend . We had requested an earl check in . We got a call from Konstantin at the front desk while on route . We were able to check in early !!! That made our trip so much better as we had to change for a function . Konstantin was very friendly and also professional on check in . The overall experience was very good . The room was clean and quiet . The other staff we ran into were all very friendly . First time at the Holiday Inn in Ellensburg , but wont be our last !!! Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianCapt.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellensburg
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
#2 of 13 in Ellensburg
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ellensburg Hotel
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Ellensburg
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn and Conference Center Ellensburg
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
24.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Snowcap Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Property: Holiday Inn Express
Address: 1620 Canyon Rd., Ellensburg, WA 98926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ellensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ellensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® is conveniently located off Interstate 90 in the heart of the Kittitas Valley. When it comes to outdoor activities, Ellensburg is in a prime location for things like fly fishing, hiking, biking, horseback riding, and snowmobiling. If you'd rather go shopping or see local art, historic downtown Ellensburg boasts many shops and galleries. No matter the reason for your visit, our committed staff is sure to make your stay comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Ellensburg
Holiday Inn Ellensburg
Ellensburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Ellensburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing