We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Don't Sleep On Main Floor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Ellensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Lolo, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Sleep On Main Floor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just a reminder to ask for a room at the highest floor level as these rooms have no sound proofing between floors. We had Big Foot roll in above us around midnight and then Big Foot was up around 5 a.m., so you can imagine how well we slept. Also, we had trouble with our AC unit during the night and the room became very warm.

The desk service and the cookies were excellent and the breakfast is better than average, but when I stay in a motel, I do also like to sleep. Just get a room on the top floor with a working AC Unit and life will be good at this Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room and check the AC Unit for workability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Dale H,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased to note that you found our staff to be excellent and I am glad that you liked our breakfast choices.

I am sorry to hear about the noise issues you have encountered during your stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this has caused you.

Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Once again, thank you and we look forward to serving you once again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    67
    21
    3
    6
See reviews for
69
43
12
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ellensburg, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Crissy has such a positive attitude. The fresh baked cookies at 7 pm every evening keep my life livable (Crissy makes them fresh every evening)! The continental breakfast is wonderful and they even have to go bags for breakfast if you are in need to get somewhere early and don't have the time to eat in.

Overall all... I WILL WILL WILL STAY HERE AGAIN! A Wonderful community, wonderful area to stay, and wonderful staff====PRICELESS STAY.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I arrived with our 4 children at 9:30 PM (12:30 EST-our time) after checking into a nearby hotel which turned out to be completely unacceptable. We were met by Johanna (and another super sweet gal -sorry! I didn't coach your name!!) who not only was efficient but was incredibly accommodating and sweet to our children. She helped us get a room, gave our kiddos little gifts and a warm cookie and even softened the pool closing hours to allow us to burn some pent up energy. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good. The usual fare. In the morning, Johanna was there again. When I went to checkout, she had more fun stuff for our kids. Johanna made our stay memorable and fun. Thank you for that! If we are in the area, we will definitely stay again!!! The hotel was great, the service outstanding!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrossCountryDriving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed at this HIE over Memorial Day Weekend I guess they were sold out though you never would have known it. I have a large family and though we didn't have a suite, our double queen was enough space for all 7 of us. We did have a slight issue with the door not locking, but once I told the M.O.D it was fixed within 5 minutes. The breakfast was fully stocked and the breakfast host knew what she was doing. (She wasn't running around like a crazy person...) The location was close enough to the Interstate to be convenient and easy to find, but far enough way that the semi-trucks didn't keep us up. OH! There was a creek running behind the hotel that you could hear if you left your window cracked...this was a life saver because it helped my 3yr old twins go to sleep. The pool was excellent to burn off the energy saved up from the long drive, but probably needs to be treated. The bottom was a bit slimy. The front desk staff seems to have a lot of "back-of-house" duties because they leave a sign and bell up most of the time. They were quick to respond if you ring the bell, but I feel that it's more convenient to have someone visible at the desk. Just an opinion...All in all a great hotel. I felt safe and cared for. High five to all the staff...Thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms on the "creek-side"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlyLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omak, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I had the best experience from the moment I checked in, my check in took about 5 minutes which was a first for me on a business trip, hotel was clean, staff was friendly and continental breakfast was great.

Thank you staff @ Holiday Inn - Ellensburg, WA.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed weeknights for 9 weeks on business, service was always good and any problems were dealt with immediatly, Maria C. was outstanding at her job and always went out of her way to make me feel welcome. Breakfast was good and out early for the working people. My room was always clean and fresh. Now the marginal stuff the wireless was very marginal, most nights I was unable to video skype, and watching anything hd was out of the question unless you stayed up till midnight, refrigerators in several rooms rattled so loud I had to turn them off to sleep, and the hbo channels were frequently pixellated making them unwatchable( just hbo)! And lastly the hot water was so over softened I never felt rinsed clean, just oily. Hey I am fussy, I spend 100+ nigts a year in motels,hotels. Overall I would return to this hotel as clean and courteous go a long way to making a long stay not just tolerable but enjoyable
!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Russ F,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the amenities and services that we have to offer as well as the breakfast choices.

I apologize that you had some services that are not working well in the room. I understand how it feels not to be able to enjoy our entertainment facilities. All our team members pay special attention to every amenity and service and can only offer you my sincere apologies for falling short on our regular standards on this occasion.

Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
229 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Not a bad place to stay while in Ellensburg, though I had expected more.

We stayed in the jacuzzi suite, the tub was big and comfy. The room was large and spacious and clean. Had a nice view of the field and stream, which are behind the hotel, which was currently covered in Snow, and ice.

Fresh cookies in lobby in the evening, check in process was quick and easy, and front desk staff were friendly.

The bedding was nice and clean, and a selection of firm and softer pillows, but the bed was not nearly as comfortable as I would have expected, I have had better at Holiday Inn in the past. Wasn't super firm, but wasn't soft, supportive or comfortable by my standards, There are far more comfortable beds in town, for a better nightly rate.

Breakfast in the morning was the best thing. Hot scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, along with a Pancake machine. Pastries, fruit, breads, cereal, juice and coffee. One of best breakfasts I have seen at a hotel. Breakfast area was well kept, and has a nice fireplace that added to the ambiance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KJ9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear KJ9000,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We are delighted to read you enjoyed the breakfast. However, it is regrettable the bed was not to your liking. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellensburg
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ellensburg Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
#2 of 13 in Ellensburg
4.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Ellensburg
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn and Conference Center Ellensburg
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
24.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Snowcap Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Property: Holiday Inn Express
Address: 1620 S Canyon Rd, Ellensburg, WA 98926-9738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ellensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ellensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® is conveniently located off Interstate 90 in the heart of the Kittitas Valley. When it comes to outdoor activities, Ellensburg is in a prime location for things like fly fishing, hiking, biking, horseback riding, and snowmobiling. If you'd rather go shopping or see local art, historic downtown Ellensburg boasts many shops and galleries. No matter the reason for your visit, our committed staff is sure to make your stay comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Ellensburg
Holiday Inn Ellensburg
Ellensburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Ellensburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing