We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal, great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ellensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good deal, great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

Rooms very nice and extremely clean (for this hotel cleanliness freak). Free breakfast was great. Staff were wonderful. Fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies at the check in desk after dinner were a treat! Great deal, very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor. The king suite was excellent. Ask for room on "non parking lot side"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maloney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    71
    24
    4
    6
See reviews for
76
44
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Nothing too special here, the gym sucked, the hottub looked gross. The breakfast was substandard, the biscuits hard, eggs were rubbery. Nothing new for most HIE breakfasts, but lack of quality here.

I have stayed at plenty of HIE's in my days of travel, and this one was in the 30 percentile.

Might be nice for ellensburg, where there is limited hotels but still...eh.

Oh the AC/Heat is not a constant airflow if you like it running as background noise for sleeping...wish they would work better.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac_Maximum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
136 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

This typical Holiday Inn Express is located maybe a half mile off the highway and in a congested area of fast food restaurants, gas stations and other hotels. In fact, for coffee lovers it is directly behind a Starbucks! It is convenient for travelers passing through (east side of town farther from Seattle) or those going to Central Washington University. The pool and hot tub have always been working and pleasant when I have stayed. Breakfast is typical as with any HIE and there is a good sized dining area.

The only reason I ranked this average (3) is the parking is awful! It shares a lot (sort of) with another hotel and is surrounded on two sides by a farmers field. If there are any trailers, bigger rigs or extended vehicles, there is very little room especially for turning around.

I generally stay here twice a year or more and I do not see peeling wall paper issues. In fact, my last trip I got upgraded to a suite! A nice treat upon arrival. As are the warm cookies in the evenings.

Downtown is only a mile or so further and I recommend the Ellensburg Pasta Company or the Palace Cafe (prime rib or NY Strip steak is excellent!) for a meal. A grocery store and a drug store (Rite Aid) is maybe a half mile towards town on the same road as well. Pay attention to the speed limit though especially closer to campus.

There are other options of equal or lesser value in this area but at least one of the lesser cost hotels is much lesser quality and one other hotel option is very expensive and in my opinion not worth the cost for this area. Having said that, check your pricing on this HIE as during a busy time it may be on the upper end $ and you possibly could do better.

Room Tip: There is a nice suite near the pool end of the building and the back side of the hotel is quieter si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NifT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Sadly this HI Express does not meet the standards of the other HI Express’ we’ve stayed in. The entire hotel is much worn. The magnetic key cards did not work most of the time for all guests. Front desk claims the batteries are dead in all the door locks??? The wall paper is peeling off the walls and mold is growing at the edge of the bath tub. The hot tub air jets are inoperative. Front desk claims the parts are on order??? This is definitely a property that the HI corporation should give away to hotel line. Will not stay here again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WAFlyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

This is a good solid HIE. Exactly what you’d expect. Nothing over the top, but nothing wrong with our stay either. Front desk was friendly and courteous, a few fresh cookies in the evening were yummy and breakfast gave us a good start.

We came to see friends and a CWU football game and got a good nights rest here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is your typical Holiday Inn Express. The location was fine, though a bit of a drive to downtown and the fairgrounds. The pool was rather cold and i was suspect on how often it is cleaned and chemicaled. The hot tub was scalding but a nice offset to the polar pool. The staff was friendly, when you saw them. The parking lot was a nightmare! It took forever to get out of the parking lot due to traffic at the Starbucks. I was surprised there weren't wrecks! All-in-all, it was a fine hotel and stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theladyknownascady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

We patronize HIEs for about 2/3 of our travel stays. This property is definitely better maintained than many, and possibly the best place to stay in Ellensburg. It's a newer building, although the furnishings are already starting to show some hard use by less than considerate guests. As for special amenities, the approx. seven foot high shower heads are great for that "rain forest" shower feel. Another nice touch is the "USA Today" delivered to your door each morning.
As another poster commented, if you request a room on the side away from the parking lot, the view is trees, a meadow, and distant hills, very peaceful. The breakfast room also overlooks the meadow, and the pancake maker is up and running again (although we prefer the cinnamon rolls)! All the staff we met were pleasant and helpful, especially Catlin at the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bksgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellensburg
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ellensburg Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
#2 of 11 in Ellensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 11 in Ellensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn and Conference Center Ellensburg
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
24.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Snowcap Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Property: Holiday Inn Express
Address: 1620 S Canyon Rd, Ellensburg, WA 98926-9738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ellensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ellensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® is conveniently located off Interstate 90 in the heart of the Kittitas Valley. When it comes to outdoor activities, Ellensburg is in a prime location for things like fly fishing, hiking, biking, horseback riding, and snowmobiling. If you'd rather go shopping or see local art, historic downtown Ellensburg boasts many shops and galleries. No matter the reason for your visit, our committed staff is sure to make your stay comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Ellensburg
Holiday Inn Ellensburg
Ellensburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Ellensburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing