We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the hot water?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1390 North Dolarway Rd., Ellensburg, WA 98926-9362 (Formerly Cedars Inn Ellensburg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ellensburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Where's the hot water?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed overnight on my way to Seattle. Convenient and close to I-90. Lobby had nice atmosphere. Staff was friendly at check-in. Room was clean but a little dated. Bed was ok. Went to take a shower in the morning and found there was not a drop of hot water. Hotel wasn't that full so shouldn't have been due to everyone using water at the same time. Desk person's only comment was that they would have to call a plumber. No apology. No offer of accommodation or discount. Onsite breakfast was a bit sparse though the atmosphere was nice. I'll look for different accommodations on my next trip through. Great little coffee hut across the way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Made a reservation, by phone, on the day of. Check-in took a while because of a malfunctioning modem. But once it was up and running, internet was quite fast. We had a king bed and the room was clean and big but, they furnished it with really wide tables and drawers that made the room feel cramped. My only gripe is that it was hard to figure out how to turn on the shower and the shower head was no match for the water pressure. I thought it would fly off the wall at some point because water was coming out in several areas. Didn't see the breakfast spread but hubby came back with waffles, cereal and apples.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rdlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton ID
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were very impressed with the cleanliness and upkeep of the Cedars in Ellensburg. The front desk folks were very helpfull. The motel is close enough to good dining establishments to be convenient. Godd access to the Interstate, but not too far from downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic Penninsula
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I asked for a room with no stairs, was sent around back to room that had 3-4 concrete steps to get up to room level, then another BIG step up into the room. I found a rocky fill next to 2nd floor stairs that I could struggle up without using the stairs. But the only way I could pull myself up into the room was by sticking my fingers between the hinge and door. I ran a bit of water into the tub to test it and went out for lunch. Returning, I found all the water had run out. I complained to front desk about the tub and she should have warned me about the stairs. She said, our tubs don't hold water, nobody takes baths any more. Take a shower. All our rooms have stairs unless you take the handicaped ramp here and go back through the open hall in the building.

She could have told me but didn't think it important. She offered another room but tub probably the same. Or, she could get me a room back the way I came in Ellensburg, near the railroad. I chose a refund and drove another 7 hours to get home through the snowy mountain pass.

Room Tip: Front ground floor rooms, if available, have giant truckers parking lot near front. Rear rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ellensburg hotels

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
335 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

If it only had some ‘have to have’ food nearby. Perkins, Ihop and Subway are the nearby choices.

Very well kept up … I’d put it on the level of the Comfort & Quality Inn’s (which I place above the Day’s Inn/Super 8’s) Nooooo issues. Both the PM and AM desk clerks were pleasant.

Dedicated big rig parking is a plus.

Not sure what breakfast was as I had to leave early, but that area looked 1st class also.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim-OnTheWayHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel reminded me of road trips from the 70s - it was clean but small. Located right next to a pond, it was quiet, although you could hear people come and go, The 2 queen beds, table, dresser, TV, fridge barely allowed any room to walk around. The bathroom was very, very clean, but very, very small - you had to close the door before sitting down. The sink was outside the toilet/shower area. The carpet was old and I chose not to go barefoot.
The breakfast was loaded with carbs, such as waffles, breads and cereals, but little proteins. They had very good apples and plentiful coffee. An okay way to start the day.
The various staff members were all very friendly and helpful.
I would stay there against nothing else was available, but it isn't anything fancy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelizgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Old style motel on the side of the highway, but renovated and kept up-to-date (the paint seemed to just have been redone). Very basic, but clean and cheap. Same for the breakfast. I would stop there again if it was the right time of the night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PacificBlackBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellensburg
3.4 mi away
Days Inn Ellensburg
Days Inn Ellensburg
#7 of 13 in Ellensburg
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
#1 of 13 in Ellensburg
4.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 13 in Ellensburg
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#2 of 13 in Ellensburg
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1390 North Dolarway Rd., Ellensburg, WA 98926-9362 (Formerly Cedars Inn Ellensburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ellensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ellensburg
#1 Green Hotel in Ellensburg
#5 Business Hotel in Ellensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Inn Ellensburg Hotel Ellensburg
i 90 Hotel Ellensburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing