We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““A new best place to stay.””
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Ellensburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
““A new best place to stay.””
Reviewed April 14, 2013

If it only had some ‘have to have’ food nearby. Perkins, Ihop and Subway are the nearby choices.

Very well kept up … I’d put it on the level of the Comfort & Quality Inn’s (which I place above the Day’s Inn/Super 8’s) Nooooo issues. Both the PM and AM desk clerks were pleasant.

Dedicated big rig parking is a plus.

Not sure what breakfast was as I had to leave early, but that area looked 1st class also.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim-OnTheWayHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    49
    43
    15
    8
See reviews for
42
52
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel reminded me of road trips from the 70s - it was clean but small. Located right next to a pond, it was quiet, although you could hear people come and go, The 2 queen beds, table, dresser, TV, fridge barely allowed any room to walk around. The bathroom was very, very clean, but very, very small - you had to close the door before sitting down. The sink was outside the toilet/shower area. The carpet was old and I chose not to go barefoot.
The breakfast was loaded with carbs, such as waffles, breads and cereals, but little proteins. They had very good apples and plentiful coffee. An okay way to start the day.
The various staff members were all very friendly and helpful.
I would stay there against nothing else was available, but it isn't anything fancy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelizgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Old style motel on the side of the highway, but renovated and kept up-to-date (the paint seemed to just have been redone). Very basic, but clean and cheap. Same for the breakfast. I would stop there again if it was the right time of the night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PacificBlackBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We fished the Yakima river for 4 days and stayed at the Cedars Inn. We had a very enjoyable stay and the staff was excellent. Even changed our room so we could have a refrigerator. The room was comfortable and the breakfast is very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The people were friendly and helpful upon check-in. The room was on the small side but okay. The bathroom had a smaller than normal toilet as the bathroom was too small for a regular toilet. White silicone was smeared on everything in the bathroom. The AC/Heater was loud but worked well. When AC/Heater cycles off you can hear all of the units from your neighbors. When the Heater goes on you cannot hear the TV, so turn the TV up. When the Heater goes off the TV is so loud that it is deafening.

The room we stayed in had a refrigerator and Microwave. NO Coffee Maker in room! Internet service worked well with easy login. No bar soap for the tub. Please stand up and get the liquid soap and then sit down and take your bath. If you need more soap then stand up and get more. What a pain! So much for a relaxing bath. Have fun with the sheets. The bottom fitted sheet came off again and again and again. Cedar Inn, please buy sheets that fit the mattress!

Not all Cedar Inns are the same. Some Cedar Inns have sheets where you will not need to make the bed 50 times during your stay.

After making a number of calls we did get a refund on the night we did not stay. We told them 48 hours or more that we needed to cancel. With too much time and effort we did get a refund.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you stay here. Wait for them to buy sheets that fit the bed. Wait for them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed258536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ellensburg hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Cedars is conveniently located off I-90. The rooms are very clean and well kept. The staff is very nice and accomodating to your needs. The microwave and fridge is a nice plus. The bath was very clean as were the towels and the shower had plenty of hot water.I will stay there again when passing by Ellensburg.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the motel face the river and is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deeppurple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose Bay
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived at 10pm after a long day of travelling on our way to Idaho with a confirmed reservation. Right before the turn off to the hotel, we were pulled over for speeding... we could literally see the hotel while the cop wrote us a ticket. When we arrived, the hotel clerk informed us that there are more cops per capita in Ellensburg than anywhere in the US, so be warned. This is an inn so the rooms were all facing the parking lot with outside doors and you can hear people arriving and leaving. When we entered our room, we realized that this room required an immediate bed check. Pulled back the covers and noticed black hairs on the pillows. I bring my own pillow so no problem for me, but my husband didn't and so he went to use the phone to request a new pillow case. He picked up the phone and it was dead, so he decided to walk back to the front desk, but when he went to leave, the door knob fell off. By this time I had wandered to the bathroom to check it out and realized that the bathroom floor in the toilet/bathtub area (the only place not carpeted) was stained black and so I would probably leave my flip flops on. When I saw that we were trapped in our room with my husband holding the knob, I couldn't help but laugh. Good thing he knows something about construction and was able to get out and get to the front desk. They were apologetic and gave him a few pillow cases and sent someone to fix the knob. The next morning we went to the breakfast buffet and there was no protein of any sort so we ate nearby at a restaurant across the street. Overall, the room was inexpensive ($60/nt) and you get what you pay for, but I don't think there are any excuses for hair on the pillows.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellensburg
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
#2 of 11 in Ellensburg
487 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 11 in Ellensburg
121 reviews
2.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center Ellensburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ellensburg Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#4 of 11 in Ellensburg
227 reviews
20.4 mi away
Econo Lodge near Suncadia Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1390 N Dolarway Rd, Ellensburg, WA 98926-9362 (Formerly Cedars Inn Ellensburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ellensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ellensburg
#5 Business Hotel in Ellensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Inn Ellensburg Hotel Ellensburg
i 90 Hotel Ellensburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing