We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good for laughs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1390 North Dolarway Rd., Ellensburg, WA 98926-9362 (Formerly Cedars Inn Ellensburg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Ellensburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Nanoose Bay
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good for laughs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived at 10pm after a long day of travelling on our way to Idaho with a confirmed reservation. Right before the turn off to the hotel, we were pulled over for speeding... we could literally see the hotel while the cop wrote us a ticket. When we arrived, the hotel clerk informed us that there are more cops per capita in Ellensburg than anywhere in the US, so be warned. This is an inn so the rooms were all facing the parking lot with outside doors and you can hear people arriving and leaving. When we entered our room, we realized that this room required an immediate bed check. Pulled back the covers and noticed black hairs on the pillows. I bring my own pillow so no problem for me, but my husband didn't and so he went to use the phone to request a new pillow case. He picked up the phone and it was dead, so he decided to walk back to the front desk, but when he went to leave, the door knob fell off. By this time I had wandered to the bathroom to check it out and realized that the bathroom floor in the toilet/bathtub area (the only place not carpeted) was stained black and so I would probably leave my flip flops on. When I saw that we were trapped in our room with my husband holding the knob, I couldn't help but laugh. Good thing he knows something about construction and was able to get out and get to the front desk. They were apologetic and gave him a few pillow cases and sent someone to fix the knob. The next morning we went to the breakfast buffet and there was no protein of any sort so we ate nearby at a restaurant across the street. Overall, the room was inexpensive ($60/nt) and you get what you pay for, but I don't think there are any excuses for hair on the pillows.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    49
    35
    14
    8
See reviews for
38
46
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were also looking for an affordable place to stay after attending a concert at the Gorge Amphitheater. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable enough. Glad I brought my own pillow, however! The room was very outdated and could use a bit of an overhaul. As other reviewers have mentioned, the walls were very thin so we were woken up very early by other guests around us. I would stay here again but only if everywhere else is booked up!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We needed a place close to the Gorge Amphitheatre to get back to after a concert. This was the closest that I could find even 5 months in advance. (The best, and closest, place to the Gorge is probably rented out by the band, as in this circumstance.) It was very cheap but you get what you pay for. A basic, comfortable room that is outdated and smells of old smoke. On the positive, the staff is great. We were able to check in nearly 4 hrs before check-in to store our lugguge before the concert. Also, I slept so well it was hard to wake up the next morning. It served its purpose and if we ever get back to the Gorge we might stay here again if we can't find anything closer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KendyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

When the hotel name popped up following booking on Hotwire, I was dreading my stay. Not saying that this place is a five star luxury or anything, but it was a nice clean rest stop for a night. Checked in very late and was given a second floor corner waterside room which was really quiet. I was completely exhausted when I checked in and didn't notice when neighbours checked in - but I can't speak for them since I was up before they were. And the shower was loud... so my neighbour's review may be very different from mine. Loved the fact that there was a little fridge and micro in the room too. You can tell that there have been updates made to the motel, but the linen is still of an older, tired vintage. I really wasn't there for a long time - just to get off of the hwy - but it served my needs very well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank permanent_vacation42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel because of bush fires in the nearby area. We found the room very outdated and far too much furniture for the size of the room. It was very very noisy as the walls are very thin and we felt like the people in the adjoining room were in our room. Would not stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ellensburg hotels

Vancouver
Level Contributor
127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My family stayed here for one night traveling from Montana to Seattle (August 6, 2012). The rooms were large with comfortable beds, good showers, internet and breakfast. The desk staff person was very friendly and recommended a very good family restaurant, Perkin's, right near by for supper. Our only complaint was no toilet paper or cups in the bathroom on check in.

Room Tip: We got rooms at the back and they faced on to a small lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney Bc
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Can't believe we stayed here, but this was the Hotwire selection chosen by Hotwire. Someone from Hotwire should stay here and see!

Motel needs upgrading and repairs. Rooms are noisy, on highway side especially, but even on the waterside.
Use only if you cannot drive on to points east or south. Better options in area and further west at Cl Elum.
Staff could not describe nearby attractions as close as 50 miles.

Room Tip: Avoid motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellensburg
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
#2 of 13 in Ellensburg
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
3.4 mi away
Days Inn and Conference Center Ellensburg
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Ellensburg
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 13 in Ellensburg
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1390 North Dolarway Rd., Ellensburg, WA 98926-9362 (Formerly Cedars Inn Ellensburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ellensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ellensburg
#5 Business Hotel in Ellensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Inn Ellensburg Hotel Ellensburg
i 90 Hotel Ellensburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing