We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motel 6 Ellensburg
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Ellensburg)
$141
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$98
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Ellensburg)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
12
18
19
17
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
18
19
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmodern furniturethe nicest motelhand towelsdog showwash clothesfree wifia ground floor roomflat screen tva great place to stayshower head
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 81 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Pros: Close to downtown and the University, coffee/cocoa packets in the lobby in the morning, and inexpensive.
Cons: Paper thin walls, rooms are un-inviting and sterile, barely-there blankets.

I was in town for the Alumni Homecoming and we wanted a place close (walking distance) to the University. We searched and found that the old Thunderbird Motel had been bought out and turned into a Motel 6. We saw a few photos on the internet and the reviews here made me feel like it would be a good option. We arrived and had a fairly seamless check-in and they let us in a little early - which was nice because we were able to go right to the football game! The room was only two units from the street though, and seeing as we were one of the first to check in, I would have thought they would have given us a little nicer location. Having too much on our agenda we didn't go and ask to be moved. Big mistake on our part. We ended up getting about 3 hours of sleep because of the combination of the constant traffic and our neighbors *ahem* going at it all night long. The rooms themselves were okay, they felt VERY sterile (which is better than being dirty/gross I guess) the floors were laminate, no carpet; the bed was on a platform and had the thinnest "blanket" I've ever seen in my life - I woke up freezing several times; the sink is outside the bathroom which is nice. They only provide bar soap in the shower, no other amenities. The tv was a nice flat-screen, so that was a plus.

Overall, we paid half of what we would have spent anywhere else, but paid the price. OK staff, coffee in the morning in the lobby, but really nothing else that would even make me think about staying here again. Next time we are in Ellensburg, we will gladly pay more to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the road as possible, and not near any other overnight guests if possible.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We extended our overnight stay here because this newly remodeled local exceeded our expectations. Though it looked older, everything about the lobby and rooms is modern, and the location was very convenient. The helpful front desk staff agreed that we could drop our motorcycle trailer in the large parking lot and use this as base camp for touring the area. Our double room was spotless, and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here Labor Day weekend and is was a great weekend.The staff was great. very polite, attenative and welcoming. My only complaint was a very cold pool. It could have been warmer for a much enjoyable stay especially why i choose it. Another thing is why did the drain it on Labor day? I paid through the holiday departing the Sept. 3, Tuesday. So i thought that was a little disheartening. No microwave or refrigerator in my room and kind of tight spaces if you have three or more in the room. I love Ellensburg and will be back. Next time going for the kitchenette and hopefully the heating system will be working next summer. Overall a very nice place!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inhistimeprayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

After a lengthy drive from Squamish, BC, the Motel 6 in Ellensburg, WA. was exactly what was necessary to recuperate before another lengthy drive the following day. I arrived around 9pm, after being delayed for about an hour when I-90E was closed for blasting. The hotel clerk was professional, if a bit of a stickler, but I would prefer that to the alternative. The room had clearly been recently renovated and was clean, comfortable and quiet. The shower worked well, although the shower head was a bit low for a tall person. Still, there was no issue with hot water and the water pressure was good. The TV worked well and not only was the Wi-Fi free, but it was a strong, consistent, signal. I slept very well on the first night of a 4 night trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chadzo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Until late 2011 this was the site of The Thunderbird Motel, which seems not to have aged well judging from reviews. Let's be clear - although the address and structure of the buildings are the same, this is no longer The Thunderbird Motel.

We rented two rooms for the annual Jazz in the Valley weekend, one with two queens the other a single queen and kitchenette. Being within walking distance was high on our list of requirements - actually having rooms available was obviously pretty important too! Most of the hotels at the South end of town fill up quickly for this last weekend in July, so we felt lucky to find rooms available.

Location : about 0.6 of a mile from central Ellensburg - 15 minutes or so to walk. The parking area is huge and surrounds the fenced pool area. Arriving from Seattle on I-90 take the first exit for town and it's pretty easy just to follow W University Way in. Dining options in the immediate neighborhood are pretty limited - better to plan to walk in to town.

The property : probably dating from the late '40s when cross country driving too off, this is the archetypical motor lodge. A large U shaped arrangement of two story buildings with parking bays directly in front of the doors. Late 2011 the property appears to have been acquired and converted to a Motel 6 franchise. The renovation has included extensive renovation inside and out. Reception is bright, airy and houses several vending machines along with ice and coffee.

Rooms : Decor is consistent with the "bold new look" that is being rolled out to Motel 6 locations nationally, and actually works pretty well. The look is bright, clean and colorful. Everything apart from the bathtub is new; flooring, paint, furniture, sinks, toilets, A/C - all new and all very nice. Tiled/laminate floors may seem a bit cold to the feet, but they're much easier to keep clean and overall more practical than carpet. There's plenty of storage, good reading light and flat panel TVs. The Wi-fi is free and fast enough to stream Amazon Prime without any hiccups at all, though Netflix had a bit more trouble.

Sleep quality : Even though the bed is a simple mattress on platform design it proved very comfortable. Pillows are synthetic (my preference) and quite full/firm - again very much as I prefer. Bed line consists of a sheet and two very light coverlets - in cold weather you'd be relying on the heater to keep the room warm unless they have heavier blankets for winter. Perfectly comfortable for a summer visit. Thanks in part to new A/C units, which are nice and quiet, plus dual pane windows and solid walls the room was quiet. Curtains are heavy lined and do a good job of darkening the room and there was very little plumbing noise from adjoining rooms. We had two nights of good quality sleep.

Motel 6 is no longer the bargain basement it once was, and there are much more comfortable hotels in the area that are only somewhat more expensive - but typically they're not as close to the center of things and booked well in advance. Overall our stay was good value, the location suited us very well and we had a very comfortable stay - would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle part of the "U" tend not to get direct morning or evening sun, and so stay a bit cooler and darker.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews