We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Look Elsewhere. Over-rated, expensive, no service, pretentious.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge at Canyon River Ranch

Lodge at Canyon River Ranch
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lodge at Canyon River Ranch
Atlanta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Look Elsewhere. Over-rated, expensive, no service, pretentious.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were impressed by all the positive reviews about CRR on the Yakima River. We just spent several days there. We understand and respect guest management, and wilderness development and accommodations, but we do NOT recommend this place. Of course, there are very few "lodge" options in this region, but our *personal experience* was negative, and we’re not going back.

Yes the building is impressive lodge beam construction, and the overall condo was comfortable. But here are the facts. First, the gas grill was filthy beyond disgusting, and no gas in the tank. [We finally located a different grill unit (also filthy beyond science fiction), and used that tank.] Food, grease, and scum was encrusted all over the grill, the burners, and thick layers of grease was plastered inside the hood, across the controls, and beneath into the cabinets below. The burners were so clogged with epoxified grease and food, only part of the burners would light fire. Second, the TV/DVD equipment was a disaster; the right channel speaker was broken; the satellite receiver would not receive, and the DVD player had no audio out to the speakers. We wasted an hour trying to get this mess to function. Third, the toilets backed up, and with no service on site, we did our own "plumbing" services. Fourth, the dishwasher did not rinse cycle; instead we hand rinsed the soap from the dishes (no problem). Fifth, the coffee maker is a joke; small 3 cup cheap junk machine. Sixth, the construction is lame; we could easily hear neighbors next door –and above us- tromping around, and making noise. Seventh, you cannot find any living soul on premise after 5pm. The only staff is there from 9-5, and they left no service phone or contact info for after 5pm to offer minimal guest service. There is NO one there. Hey, it’s just like Camping!!

When we finally did reach someone - she was rude, defensive, and told us that she "does not do customer service". (doh!) Lastly, it's total BS that CRR shoved their lodge development smack up to the river edge, creating a massive ugly infected eyesore in the gorgeous beauty of the Yakima River Canyon. Had we known the developer had made such arrogant choices to build smack into the canyon area – we would never pay or support any such accommodation. Smart development is easy, but this place is obnoxious and pretentious. This Lodge and Red’s Fly shop are just another tired faux “destination lodge” with obvious failings and poor service, catering to mindless urban snobs who need over-rated Cabernet and invasive presence to preen their Land-Rover sensibilities to be "in the wilderness". Barf. We will not return. Please seek out other options, and support those many great lodges who support smart development in wilderness regions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank haydixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
13
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This might be a nice place when all the facilities are open and the kinks are worked out. Yes the rooms are nice. But - the email that would have told us that their full service cafe will open next October and in the interim their restaurant (which has not yet received a liquor license) is only open for lunch and dinner on Thursday to Sunday) was sent to a misspelled email address - so we could not plan to bring food. There is no market or other restaurant anywhere closer than twenty minutes drive away. We will have to checkout early just to get breakfast. We also recommended that they get more than four lounge chairs and two umbrellas for the pool. Guests had "reserved" all the chairs and yet there were only two people in the pool. And when it is hot - many people do not want to sit in full sun. I spent most of my visit in the room as a result. Also note that they shut and lock the lobby and all the public interior lounge space at five! Might be a good idea to find out how to check in if you plan to arrive later.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mukeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Canyon River Ranch is an amazing get away only 1 hour 45 minutes from Seattle. Great rooms, very comfortable beds, and all of the amenities to make an amazing trip-river, pool, hot tub, main loge and idylic location.

Top notch guide service and fly shop onsite. Incredible trout fishing on Yakima River out the door and many other rivers nearby. Sporting Clays, wild bird hunting, and released pheasant available through fly shop.

We have stayed many times and have used all of the amenities.....5 star.

Room Tip: Book a fly fishing trip with Reds Fly Shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

I am not a fly fisher but after staying here I am tempted to return for lessons! I hear they will be offering wine tasting/fly fishing events soon - sounds like a great combination to me - with yoga and spa weekends to follow. The lodge is stunning, located right on the river. And you get to enjoy those brilliant blue skies and crisp clear mornings, while pretending to be "roughing it" in a 5 star room that is bigger than a lot of NYC apartments...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

The lodge is beautiful. Our condo was super clean and spacious. The beds were comfortable and I loved the big picture windows. It made for a nice Sunday morning to get up and watch the river. We had our son and his wife with us and we had plenty of room. The condo was a perfect find while we were wine tasting in the Yakima Valley. It's located a ways away from the wineries but it's worth the drive. They are also in the process of building a restaurant on the property. Another nice treat was looking at the animals in the canyon. Big horn sheep, deer, eagles. Be sure to bring your binoculars! We'll be back again to stay @ the lodge.

Room Tip: All the condos face the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sistersvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We were fortunate enough to spend a wonderful weekend at the Lodge at Canyon River ranch. Amazing! Accommodation were wonderful with a fireplace, large screen TV, a kitchen nicely appointed, one and a half baths and two bedrooms! What more could you ask for? All of this with a wonderful view of the river and a lovely snowfall. Heaven!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terrymarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed here with another couple for a fishing excursion. We checked in on a Friday and checked out on Monday. It rained Friday and Sunday.

The lodge is new. The rooms was very nice with a fireplace, plasma TV, lovely kitchen / dinning area and big sweeping views of the river and cliffs. My friend and I fished while our wives hung out and relaxed. We fished two full days (Saturday and Sunday). My friend and I really enjoyed the fishing and the lodge. Our wives really enjoyed the lodge as well. However, they were going a little stir crazy by Sunday. The lodge is about 20 miles outside a small town. The town pretty much closes up on Sunday. Plus it was also raining so outdoor activities were limited for our wives. So two days of relaxing at the lodge was a bit much for them. They do not fish but they needed a little more activity. For the record, I fished in the rain and had a great day catching trout.

This would be a great place to bring a fishing / hunting group. There is a large dining room and kitchen that is open for anyone to use. There is also a room with a pool table and flat screen TV. I think this place would be a great location for a large group to come to and fish by day and then eat together / play cards and shoot pool while lying about the quantity and quality of fish caught during the day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellensburg
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
#2 of 13 in Ellensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
10.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ellensburg Hotel
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 13 in Ellensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Days Inn and Conference Center Ellensburg
16.2 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
#10 of 24 in Yakima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
9.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Ellensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Canyon River Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Canyon River Ranch

Property: Lodge at Canyon River Ranch
Address: 14700 Canyon Rd, Ellensburg, WA
Location: United States > Washington > Ellensburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Ellensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge at Canyon River Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Lodge at Canyon River Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing