We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but could have been better”

Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co.
Ranked #5 of 6 Restaurants in Elbe
Price range: $10 - $20
Description: Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co. is a family owned and operated restaurant that is part of one of the largest caboose collections in North America. Come enjoy our delicious house smoked dishes
Restaurant details
Description: Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co. is a family owned and operated restaurant that is part of one of the largest caboose collections in North America. Come enjoy our delicious house smoked dishes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We took the Fathers day BBQ train to Mineral. There were a lot of people on the train & a big line for food. The food was pretty basic BBQ type, and probably not enough to satisfy us, hence why we called at the Copper Creek on the way back. OK as part of the train but I'd prefer somewhere else to eat.

Thank NashJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

I'm sorry to hear this, Nash. As you mentioned, that particular train was pretty popular, but we did our best to make sure everyone got enough to eat. I'm surprised to hear that you didn't, but I'll definitely remember this as we plan our next event. Thanks for your honesty, and I hope we'll have another chance to impress you next time you're in Elbe.

Best,
Elisa Fruzzetti - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co.
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 154 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch before boarding the Mt. Rainier train. The restaurant is located in two or three train cars which is a fun novelty. I had the BBQ pulled pork sandwich and my husband had a burger. The portions were large and a good value...under $10 a piece. The restaurant interior is quite dated and shabby...just not what we were expecting based on the other reviews.

Thank SkiSpaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Although it seems that you enjoyed our dishes. Our dining cars are vintage and date back to the 1900 and we have tried to keep them as original. thanks for reviewing us.

Hope to see you next time you're in Elbe,
Elisa Fruzzetti - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Located in two old Railroad dining cars at the Mt Rainier Scenic Railroad station in Elbe, Washington, this restaurant serves up burgers, salads, stew, fish, chicken, ribs and BBQ items. It's simple well prepared, fresh, good tasting American fare served generously with trimmings. There are few restaurants in the Mt Rainer area, and you won't find much for the gourmet here, but if you want a good dinner with plenty to eat, we recommend this establishment. The service is very good and the atmosphere unique. Its enjoyable and worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank capemaytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

We definitely won't let you leave hungry! Thanks for making us a part of your time in the Northwest. We can't wait to see you next time you're in Elbe!

Cheers,
Elisa Fruzzetti - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Coming from Seattle this was a nice quick spot to have lunch before driving all the way to Mt. Rainier. The BBQ combo was plenty to share but what really stole the show was the bloomin onion. The sauce that came with it, DELICIOUS! The server was sweet and we enjoyed walking through the different train cars while waiting for our food. There really isn't much else to do in Elbe but take pictures on the train tracks and see the little chapel. Definitely not a full day activity but stop worthy on the drive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MJBautista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

That Blooming Onion really does love the limelight! So glad you enjoyed it, and that we were able to get you in and out and on your way to Mt. Rainier. Thanks for the great review, and keep us in mind next time you're in the neighborhood!

Warm regards,
Elisa Fruzzetti - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My family and I stopped in after a train ride at the scenic railroad. The service was pleasant and well informed, the food was just as they made it sound- large and delicious! We tried the Hobo Stew, Monti Cristo, Prime Rib, and the BBQ! Loved it all. Was so fun eating an enjoyable meal on board a fascinating train. Can't wait for out next visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Abigailroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

We can't wait to have you back! Thank for giving us a try. See you next time you're in Elbe!

Cheers,
Elisa Fruzzetti - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co. also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing